April Fools Round Up: The Year of Nostalgia

April Fools Day is once again upon us and as usual, tech companies everywhere have not … more

Android 5.1 OTA for Nexus Round-Up

The beginning of April is dominated by April Fools. There are jokes and pranks everywhere, which are … more

Official Lollipop for LG G2 Captured

LG is rolling out the Lollipop update for the LG G2. KDZ images for both 16 GB and 32 GB variants … more

Google’s Prank Roundup for April Fools 2015 [Updated]

Once again, we have arrived on the most magical of holidays – … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Three UK 4G update on alternative ROM?

7th February 2014, 12:06 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Hi all,

I am currently running a non H3G ROM on my Note 2 LTE.

As Three UK are pushing out 4G to London users, I wondered if I would need to be on an official Three UK ROM for it to happen?

As I understand it, a message is sent to the phone and a reboot is then required for 4G to be activated.

Does anyone know?

I would call Three, but they are shocking with the easiest of questions - so I think this would blow their mind.

Many thanks!
9th February 2014, 01:16 AM |#2  
kieronw3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Hi
I not in london but in cardiff and h3g were testing 4g and no message or reboot was needed.
I am on stock rom 4.1.2

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th February 2014, 10:47 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Thanks for the info, but I want to know about non standard ROMs.

Out of curiosity, what speeds did you achieve on 4G?
10th February 2014, 10:38 AM |#4  
kieronw3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Signal still a bit weak but looks promising

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1392028684018.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	2570641  
28th February 2014, 10:23 AM |#5  
sunnygilluk's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieronw3

Signal still a bit weak but looks promising

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Hi Kieron,

Im running 4.1.2 baseband version N7105NEDMA1 Build number JZ054K.N7105XXDMB2 and have a N7105 LTE on Three UK, and am awaiting 4G to become active

I would just like to confirm this is what you are using as you have confirmed 4G Is working for you - or if anyone else has THREE 4G working on their N7105 what their baseband and build number is so that i can confirm im running the correct one to receive the update? Many thanks
28th February 2014, 07:44 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
It doesn't matter what ROM you are using I've found out.

There is no software update or any other change to the phone, an update is done on the network side only.

Mine switched on without notification or reboot.

Very strong in Central London and 40MB down and 20MB up.

You just need to wait your turn sadly.
The Following User Says Thank You to barrygoddard For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes