Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,174 Members 35,990 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Three UK 4G update on alternative ROM?

Tip us?
 
barrygoddard
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 44
Join Date: Oct 2013
Question [Q] Three UK 4G update on alternative ROM?

Hi all,

I am currently running a non H3G ROM on my Note 2 LTE.

As Three UK are pushing out 4G to London users, I wondered if I would need to be on an official Three UK ROM for it to happen?

As I understand it, a message is sent to the phone and a reboot is then required for 4G to be activated.

Does anyone know?

I would call Three, but they are shocking with the easiest of questions - so I think this would blow their mind.

Many thanks!
 
kieronw3
Old
#2  
kieronw3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 504
Join Date: Jun 2008
Hi
I not in london but in cardiff and h3g were testing 4g and no message or reboot was needed.
I am on stock rom 4.1.2

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
barrygoddard
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 44
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thanks for the info, but I want to know about non standard ROMs.

Out of curiosity, what speeds did you achieve on 4G?
 
kieronw3
Old
#4  
kieronw3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 504
Join Date: Jun 2008
Signal still a bit weak but looks promising

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1392028684018.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	2570641  
 
sunnygilluk
Old
#5  
sunnygilluk's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 40
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieronw3 View Post
Signal still a bit weak but looks promising

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hi Kieron,

Im running 4.1.2 baseband version N7105NEDMA1 Build number JZ054K.N7105XXDMB2 and have a N7105 LTE on Three UK, and am awaiting 4G to become active

I would just like to confirm this is what you are using as you have confirmed 4G Is working for you - or if anyone else has THREE 4G working on their N7105 what their baseband and build number is so that i can confirm im running the correct one to receive the update? Many thanks
 
barrygoddard
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 44
Join Date: Oct 2013
It doesn't matter what ROM you are using I've found out.

There is no software update or any other change to the phone, an update is done on the network side only.

Mine switched on without notification or reboot.

Very strong in Central London and 40MB down and 20MB up.

You just need to wait your turn sadly.
The Following User Says Thank You to barrygoddard For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more