DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Three UK 4G update on alternative ROM?

OP barrygoddard

7th February 2014, 01:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Hi all,

I am currently running a non H3G ROM on my Note 2 LTE.

As Three UK are pushing out 4G to London users, I wondered if I would need to be on an official Three UK ROM for it to happen?

As I understand it, a message is sent to the phone and a reboot is then required for 4G to be activated.

Does anyone know?

I would call Three, but they are shocking with the easiest of questions - so I think this would blow their mind.

Many thanks!
9th February 2014, 02:16 AM   |  #2  
kieronw3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Hi
I not in london but in cardiff and h3g were testing 4g and no message or reboot was needed.
I am on stock rom 4.1.2

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th February 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Thanks for the info, but I want to know about non standard ROMs.

Out of curiosity, what speeds did you achieve on 4G?
10th February 2014, 11:38 AM   |  #4  
kieronw3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Signal still a bit weak but looks promising

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1392028684018.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	91.9 KB
ID:	2570641  
28th February 2014, 11:23 AM   |  #5  
sunnygilluk's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieronw3

Signal still a bit weak but looks promising

Kieron

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Hi Kieron,

Im running 4.1.2 baseband version N7105NEDMA1 Build number JZ054K.N7105XXDMB2 and have a N7105 LTE on Three UK, and am awaiting 4G to become active

I would just like to confirm this is what you are using as you have confirmed 4G Is working for you - or if anyone else has THREE 4G working on their N7105 what their baseband and build number is so that i can confirm im running the correct one to receive the update? Many thanks
28th February 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
It doesn't matter what ROM you are using I've found out.

There is no software update or any other change to the phone, an update is done on the network side only.

Mine switched on without notification or reboot.

Very strong in Central London and 40MB down and 20MB up.

You just need to wait your turn sadly.
The Following User Says Thank You to barrygoddard For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes