Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,077 Members 37,934 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC amaze rom flashing

Tip us?
 
tamasicsadam
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
Prompt [Q] HTC amaze rom flashing

Hi guys,I have a problem romming my HTC Amaze 4g.
I have already unlocked bootloader and installed TWRP recovery but when i flashed official cyanogenmod the phone got bootloop.
No error messages or sg like that.
Dont know what to do please help.
Adam.
 
Odysseus1962
Old
#2  
Odysseus1962's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 446
Posts: 546
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasicsadam View Post
Hi guys,I have a problem romming my HTC Amaze 4g.
I have already unlocked bootloader and installed TWRP recovery but when i flashed official cyanogenmod the phone got bootloop.
No error messages or sg like that.
Dont know what to do please help.
Adam.
Off hand the most likely scenario is the kernel didn't get flashed with the rest of the ROM. This is a known issue with TWRP and CWM on devices that are s-on. Try again with ext4 recovery and enable smart flash. It seems to be the recovery with the least amount of problems with this device, especially those that are s-on, and is the solution recommended by most devs here.
Current device: LG G2 (D801)
ROM: Stock KK-4.4.2 - rooted and debloated by me.
An incredible handset. The first smartphone I've owned where I didn't immediately replace the stock ROM.

Previous device: HTC Amaze 4G
Final ROM: CM-10 - Compiled and customized by me
To whoever stole it: What goes around comes around!

Previous device: HTC HD2 (TMOUS - LEO1024)
Final ROM: NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.1.3 v2.7 - Tytung
Had more lives than a cat
Lesson: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
RIP
 
tamasicsadam
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
Thanks, i will try this and tell you if it is solved.

Sent from my LG-P700 using xda app-developers app
 
tamasicsadam
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2013
Here again. I have tried what u mentioned .flashed ex4 recovery and tried to flash the rom via that smart thing enabled and when the phone booted up it rebooted when PIN was entered. After that tried to wipe dalvik but it got worse cuz phone got bootloop now. Any ideas?
 
Muneeb Saeed
Old
#5  
Muneeb Saeed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 215
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hafizabad
When flashing by smart flash on you have to flash the kernel seprately

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk
 
Muneeb Saeed
Old
#6  
Muneeb Saeed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 215
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hafizabad
Or the link might have gone bad one another user is also saying the same about cm but there is one more possibility the cm roms are usually quite a lot undervolted i think sports device supports it i had this problem on cm 11 and overvolting did the job but you guys cant even get to the main screen how are you going to overvolt you might just have to edit the kernel which i have no experience of.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk
 
Odysseus1962
Old
#7  
Odysseus1962's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 446
Posts: 546
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Miami
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muneeb Saeed View Post
When flashing by smart flash on you have to flash the kernel seprately

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk
If smart-flash is properly enabled the kernel will flash with the ROM. That's one of the main purposes of smart-flash.

To the OP: obviously you were able to successfully install the ROM this time since you didn't bootloop and were OK until you entered a PIN for the lockscreen. So this issue is different than the first, where you weren't even getting to the lockscreen. The first thing I would try is wiping then reinstalling CM from recovery. This time just try using it without a PIN for an hour and see if you have other issues. Only then set a PIN. If it crashes after setting a PIN, but was working fine before, you know there is a bug in that part of the ROM. If it begins crashing sooner then something else is the problem.
Current device: LG G2 (D801)
ROM: Stock KK-4.4.2 - rooted and debloated by me.
An incredible handset. The first smartphone I've owned where I didn't immediately replace the stock ROM.

Previous device: HTC Amaze 4G
Final ROM: CM-10 - Compiled and customized by me
To whoever stole it: What goes around comes around!

Previous device: HTC HD2 (TMOUS - LEO1024)
Final ROM: NexusHD2-JellyBean-CM10.1.3 v2.7 - Tytung
Had more lives than a cat
Lesson: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
RIP

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more