Post Reply

[Q] Performed factory reset, now won't boot

OP kram12085

27th February 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I'm selling my HTC One (stock ROM, unlocked) so I wanted to wipe my data, apps and settings. I performed a factory reset/data wipe in CWM and rebooted and it would get stuck at the Verizon logo. I cleared cache, tried again, and got stuck at "Android is updating, Starting apps" for a good 20 minutes. Now it goes back to the Verizon logo.

Does the factory reset not leave the ROM intact? What can I do now just so it'll boot to a clean slate?
27th February 2014, 04:02 PM   |  #2  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee
Flag Eastern Seaboard
Thanks Meter: 4,716
 
14,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram12085

I'm selling my HTC One (stock ROM, unlocked) so I wanted to wipe my data, apps and settings. I performed a factory reset/data wipe in CWM and rebooted and it would get stuck at the Verizon logo. I cleared cache, tried again, and got stuck at "Android is updating, Starting apps" for a good 20 minutes. Now it goes back to the Verizon logo.

Does the factory reset not leave the ROM intact? What can I do now just so it'll boot to a clean slate?

Download the stock rooted odexed ROM from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2485319
After you flash it, wipe data and boot up.
Then flash the latest firmware and stock recovery through Fastboot (also that thread), and do another factory wipe using stock recovery.
Your S-Off / Unlocked status will not be affected by this.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NotATreoFan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 08:46 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotATreoFan

Download the stock rooted odexed ROM from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2485319
After you flash it, wipe data and boot up.
Then flash the latest firmware and stock recovery through Fastboot (also that thread), and do another factory wipe using stock recovery.
Your S-Off / Unlocked status will not be affected by this.

Thanks for your help. Unfortunately, I've been at it for a good 5 hours now and I can't get past the first step.

Using TWRP, I've tried adb push <rom.zip> to /sdcard/, /mnt/sdcard/ and /data/media/ and every time it says it's successful, but the directories show up empty in TWRP. Without a removable SD card, I'm not sure how else I can get the ROM on the phone for flashing. I'm not sure if it's related or not, but everytime I reboot from TWRP, it says my phone isn't rooted. I select "Install" but it occurs again, even though supersu.apk is on the internal storage.

I also tried CWM but couldn't get past "format () expected 5 args, got 4. Installation aborted (Status 7)".

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get TWRP to flash the ROM? Thanks.
28th February 2014, 09:05 AM   |  #4  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 923
 
3,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Try this cmd instead.
Code:
adb push nameofrom.zip /data/media/0/nameofrom.zip
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 02:02 PM   |  #5  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee
Flag Eastern Seaboard
Thanks Meter: 4,716
 
14,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram12085

Thanks for your help. Unfortunately, I've been at it for a good 5 hours now and I can't get past the first step.

Using TWRP, I've tried adb push <rom.zip> to /sdcard/, /mnt/sdcard/ and /data/media/ and every time it says it's successful, but the directories show up empty in TWRP. Without a removable SD card, I'm not sure how else I can get the ROM on the phone for flashing. I'm not sure if it's related or not, but everytime I reboot from TWRP, it says my phone isn't rooted. I select "Install" but it occurs again, even though supersu.apk is on the internal storage.

I also tried CWM but couldn't get past "format () expected 5 args, got 4. Installation aborted (Status 7)".

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get TWRP to flash the ROM? Thanks.

I recently returned my phone to stock in order to reset all the firmware and RIL data. Here is how I did it:
  • Enter recovery TWRP 2.6.3.4 (if you have 2.6.3.3 you may experience issues)
  • Boot into recovery, then format Data, System, Cache, and Internal Storage (this will leave the phone with NO ROM installed)
  • Reboot back into recovery. Answer No to the prompt to root your device.
  • Once back in recovery, Internal Memory will be available again (if you push the ROM before rebooting, it will not be there afterward)
  • Push the ROM using adb push ROM.zip /sdcard/ROM.zip (this will take 5-7 minutes for a 1.4GB file)
  • Flash the ROM in TWRP
  • Reboot when done, phone should boot up corrrectly
  • Reboot into Fastboot, push firmware.zip package
  • Reboot into ROM verify connectivity
  • Reboot into Fastboot, push stock recovery
  • Reboot into stock recovery, perform a Factory Reset
  • Boot into ROM

Once you are up and running on the latest 4.4.2 ROM with stock recovery, boot into Fastboot one last time and push TWRP 2.6.3.4. Your S-Off will not be affected and the new owner will be able to flash any ROMs they like.

If all of the above fails, then try using ADB Sideload from the Advanced menu in TWRP.
The Following User Says Thank You to NotATreoFan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2014, 12:38 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
You guys are a life saver. TWRP 2.6.3.4 did the trick, it just wasn't available on the TWRP site so I didn't install it in the first place. Flashed the ROM and everything back to normal! Thanks for the help!

FWIW, none of the m7 versions of TWRP would load (stuck at "Entering Bootloader" screen). The Sprint version would load, but wouldn't mount the filesystem properly.
1st March 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #7  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee
Flag Eastern Seaboard
Thanks Meter: 4,716
 
14,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram12085

You guys are a life saver. TWRP 2.6.3.4 did the trick, it just wasn't available on the TWRP site so I didn't install it in the first place. Flashed the ROM and everything back to normal! Thanks for the help!

FWIW, none of the m7 versions of TWRP would load (stuck at "Entering Bootloader" screen). The Sprint version would load, but wouldn't mount the filesystem properly.

So what state is the phone in now? Stock w/ HTC recovery, or the Sprint TWRP?
1st March 2014, 03:13 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotATreoFan

So what state is the phone in now? Stock w/ HTC recovery, or the Sprint TWRP?

The former, stock. The Sprint TWRP loaded but didn't work right. I ended up finding 2.6.3.4 for VZW m7 on an xda thread, it's not on the TWRP site for some reason. That worked great.
1st March 2014, 03:18 AM   |  #9  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee
Flag Eastern Seaboard
Thanks Meter: 4,716
 
14,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram12085

The former, stock. The Sprint TWRP loaded but didn't work right. I ended up finding 2.6.3.4 for VZW m7 on an xda thread, it's not on the TWRP site for some reason. That worked great.

Excellent. Glad to see it all worked out.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes