Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Unlocking unactivated HTC First

OP FXGIO

24th February 2014, 02:00 PM   |  #1  
FXGIO's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
So I found mint HTC First on eBay, the description says it's not activated and not unlocked.
My question is, can I buy it, export to Europe and unlock it using the hack posted here?
I don't have access to AT&T SIM card and never had AT&T account.

Can an unactivated HTC First be unlocked? Is there a way to bypass activation screen?
24th February 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #2  
russian392's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simpsonville, SC
Thanks Meter: 108
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FXGIO

So I found mint HTC First on eBay, the description says it's not activated and not unlocked.
My question is, can I buy it, export to Europe and unlock it using the hack posted here?
I don't have access to AT&T SIM card and never had AT&T account.

Can an unactivated HTC First be unlocked? Is there a way to bypass activation screen?

thing is...you can but the phone and unlock it im sure. but you will need a sim to tell if its unlocked and be sure about it.
things you should know...
1. the htc first uses a micro sim
2. the htc first has almost zero support from developers and is no longer supported by htc or att
3. the htc first is known to be prone to problems during root and flashing of any kind of kernel or rom
4. it does not have removable storage wich makes our jobs a bit harder.

so if you could, go for another device if you simply dont want to have to constantly mess with it (i personally like to do all the flashing and hacking) so if you want to get a good device cheap...dont use ebay...use this: http://www.cellularcountry.com/
24th February 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #3  
FXGIO's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by russian392

2. the htc first has almost zero support from developers and is no longer supported by htc or att
3. the htc first is known to be prone to problems during root and flashing of any kind of kernel or rom


I already have nexus 5 for those purposes
This one is for my relative, she wanted a very small device, with ok specs and under $170. I couldn't find anything better.

Thank you for your reply
24th February 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #4  
russian392's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Simpsonville, SC
Thanks Meter: 108
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FXGIO

I already have nexus 5 for those purposes
This one is for my relative, she wanted a very small device, with ok specs and under $170. I couldn't find anything better.

Thank you for your reply

Alrighty then. Um the first would be a nice device then!
but keep in mind...i dont promise anything. your idea of unlocking it SHOULD work. But if it doesn't idk. If you get it in good condition you could re-sell it.
bam: brand new htc first (mint condition) for 165. I bought mine in "in box" condtion. but it had a bad scratch on it and didnt come with the original stuff. This should be good though and i trust this site better than ebay.
http://www.cellularcountry.com/used-...ne-att-p-33918
or if you want to save some money. you can buy the first in excelent condition but probably without the box for 140
http://www.cellularcountry.com/used-...hite-phone-att

---------- Post added at 06:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

or if "she" doesnt mind a windows phone
here is a great one for even less
http://www.cellularcountry.com/used-...-8-att-p-17798

---------- Post added at 06:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:07 PM ----------

but basically...im on att and i have a htc first so i could call att for you and try to get an unlock code or ask them if its possible. idk
1st March 2014, 12:11 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by FXGIO

My question is, can I buy it, export to Europe and unlock it using the hack posted here?

Yes. Proof is my own phone.

Concerning your second question, I am not sure. I bought mine in mint condition, so it had been unlocked beforehand. But I guess it should work if yiu just put your sim card in the slot abd do the unlock procedure.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes