Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,443 Members 38,764 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Failed Flash?

Tip us?
 
zomgitsanoob
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 103
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Failed Flash?

I was trying to go back to stock before testing out eduardog131's deodexed rom. I tried my backup boot.img and it failed, so I grabbed the default from here, ADB console says the write is successfulm but it hangs at the splash screen when I try to boot I can get into the bootloader and recovery, and have the PLlIMG.zip I saved long ago (from which I extracted the same boot.img I've used before), but can't copy it over without booting. What on Earth could I have done?
HTC ONE SV
Unlocked, Rooted, and Moonshined, thanks to Ubuntu and the fine folks at XDA
Thanks to russellvone for his hboot mod

People I owe beer:
modding.my.mind
Old Splatterhand
russellvone
 
russellvone
Old
#2  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 800
Posts: 1,611
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Longview

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zomgitsanoob View Post
I was trying to go back to stock before testing out eduardog131's deodexed rom. I tried my backup boot.img and it failed, so I grabbed the default from here, ADB console says the write is successfulm but it hangs at the splash screen when I try to boot I can get into the bootloader and recovery, and have the PLlIMG.zip I saved long ago (from which I extracted the same boot.img I've used before), but can't copy it over without booting. What on Earth could I have done?
I bet the 'PL80IMG.zip' that you have is for 4.1.2

And you updated to 4.2.2
 
zomgitsanoob
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 103
Join Date: Feb 2013
It's 4.2.2

I made it after upgrading so I'd be able to restore system.img , boot.img , and android-info.txt easily
HTC ONE SV
Unlocked, Rooted, and Moonshined, thanks to Ubuntu and the fine folks at XDA
Thanks to russellvone for his hboot mod

People I owe beer:
modding.my.mind
Old Splatterhand
russellvone
 
Modding.MyMind
Old
#4  
Modding.MyMind's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1352
Posts: 1,527
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zomgitsanoob View Post
It's 4.2.2

I made it after upgrading so I'd be able to restore system.img , boot.img , and android-info.txt easily
You are aware that when you go to restore your device with your backup that you don't have to restore everything, right? You can uncheck everything and just leave the boot.img checked. Then swipe to restore in your custom recovery. The boot.img will be put back.

Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk
 
russellvone
Old
#5  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 800
Posts: 1,611
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Longview

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zomgitsanoob View Post
It's 4.2.2

I made it after upgrading so I'd be able to restore system.img , boot.img , and android-info.txt easily
So the system.img that you have in the PL80IMG.zip is from a TWRP/CWM backup....it won't flash through bootloader unless you used dd to pull the system.img.....

Other words, you will not be able to flash PL80IMG.zip with a TWRP and or CWM backup of the system.img.....it's not the correct format

Only recovery.img and boot.img from TWRP/CWM backup will flash through bootloader PL80IMG.zip style......

Why not just click 'restore'? While in recovery...
 
Modding.MyMind
Old
#6  
Modding.MyMind's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1352
Posts: 1,527
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zomgitsanoob View Post
I was trying to go back to stock before testing out eduardog131's deodexed rom. I tried my backup boot.img and it failed, so I grabbed the default from here, ADB console says the write is successfulm but it hangs at the splash screen when I try to boot I can get into the bootloader and recovery, and have the PLlIMG.zip I saved long ago (from which I extracted the same boot.img I've used before), but can't copy it over without booting. What on Earth could I have done?
You didn't have to go stock to flash his Rom. Its a Rom lol. Its not like an OTA where it does checks on the system files and then patches them.

Take note of that for any future roms down the road.

Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more