Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,836 Members 41,332 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Change dictionary default

Tip us?
 
jluis81
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2013
Default [Q] Change dictionary default

hi. I'm trying to change the default dictionary in kindle fire, as it has no options for you to add or change any dictionary, im trying modificate system file
/ system / etc / labdictionary

substituting B003ODIZL6.prc


when I finish it works perfectly but if i reboot my kindle return with old dictionary o appers anything

someone could make the change dictionary?

i follows this instructions replace dictionary kindle fire, but the last part say:
"Tap the Clipboard icon and choose "Paste". Long tap the new "B003ODIZL6.prc" file and choose "More" "Properties" "Permissions: Change". Set the permissions like this and click "OK" to confirm."

but i cant see the image, there is no photo explaining

thanks for help, and im sorry for my bad english
 
Ixthusdan
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 414
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mishawaka, IN
I suggest looking at the properties of the old file, the one that gets renamed to *.bak, and make the new file match those permissions. The instructions at that part are not clear, but what I posted should work.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ixthusdan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jluis81
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2013
I already tried and does not work
that part es confused, and i dont know its really work, i mean it work but not permanently
 
Ixthusdan
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 414
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mishawaka, IN
When you are finished, you should change the paths back to their original settings. He does not say this, but that area should not be left R/W. I think it should be mounted read only.
 
jluis81
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2013
yes, i tried too, leave everything like original, and its the same, root explorer and properties

if i change for the original oxford dictionary and reboot, appears agains in english
 
Ixthusdan
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 414
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Is the file changed in the directory when you reboot?
 
jluis81
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2013
when put spanish dictionary, works. but and reboot and the dictionary doesnt work, the archive is there but when used dont see anything
when put original archive and reboot appears again english dictionary
 
Ixthusdan
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 414
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Well, the guide is missing something. Native Kindle Fire users are all complaining that it cannot change dictionaries. It seems to me a rooted device should handle it. Need more file info.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more