Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,151 Members 49,599 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[solution] "There was a problem communicating with google servers."

Tip us?
 
enjid
Old
#1  
enjid's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 20
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Info 2 [solution] "There was a problem communicating with google servers."

I recently removed knox and rooted my phone following the guide. Worked great... I got into my phone with CM10, except for a constant "There was a problem communicating with google servers. Try again later." error message. I thought it was a bad wipe, so I rewiped and reflashed the ROM. No joy. I did a full factory reset from the menu. No joy.

Searching on Google and XDA yielded a lot of messages about the Google servers going down a few years ago. Obviously this wasn't the case. Finally, I found something that worked:
  • Disabled 2-step Authentication (mostly to make it easier on myself)
  • Removed the account
  • Cleared the data on the "Google Account Manager"
  • Readded said account

This worked for me. I'm on CM10.2.1-dspr (stable).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to enjid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CodenameCyborg
Old
#2  
CodenameCyborg's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dhaka
It worked! I reflashed rom and did a lot of things but removing the 2-step verification worked! I love you man! Thx.
 
ramf_od
Old
(Last edited by ramf_od; 18th April 2014 at 02:03 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default don't have 2-step Authentication enabled on my google account...

Quote:
Originally Posted by enjid View Post
I recently removed knox and rooted my phone following the guide. Worked great... I got into my phone with CM10, except for a constant "There was a problem communicating with google servers. Try again later." error message. I thought it was a bad wipe, so I rewiped and reflashed the ROM. No joy. I did a full factory reset from the menu. No joy.

Searching on Google and XDA yielded a lot of messages about the Google servers going down a few years ago. Obviously this wasn't the case. Finally, I found something that worked:
  • Disabled 2-step Authentication (mostly to make it easier on myself)
  • Removed the account
  • Cleared the data on the "Google Account Manager"
  • Readded said account

This worked for me. I'm on CM10.2.1-dspr (stable).
Hi, I don't have 2-step Authentication enabled on my google account...
this is a newly flashed rom on this phone (from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589303) - every thing is o.k. but I cant connect to the google play / add new account to the phone etc...
i get error:
"there was a problem communicating with google servers/ try again later"

installing the Google Play Store 4.6.16 did not help - still the same error.
can you help??
 
Lange-199
Old
#4  
Lange-199's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramf_od View Post
Hi, I don't have 2-step Authentication enabled on my google account...
this is a newly flashed rom on this phone (from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589303) - every thing is o.k. but I cant connect to the google play / add new account to the phone etc...
i get error:
"there was a problem communicating with google servers/ try again later"

installing the Google Play Store 4.6.16 did not help - still the same error.
can you help??
I don't know if you've fixed this already, but I deleted the data and cache of every Google app and I'd worked.
Thank me if it helped, reply if it didn't or if I'm wrong.

Devices:
Samsung galaxy s4 stock 4.4.2
Samsung galaxy note 10.1 2012 4.4.2 stock (rooted)
Samsung galaxy ace s5830i (rooted)
The Following User Says Thank You to Lange-199 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ramf_od
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Thanks for the info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lange-199 View Post
I don't know if you've fixed this already, but I deleted the data and cache of every Google app and I'd worked.
Thanks for the info.
I solved it by installing PrebuiltGmsCore.apk from here * can't post the link...
Thanks again,
Ram
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ramf_od For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ksbhat
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default thanks a ton mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramf_od View Post
Thanks for the info.
I solved it by installing PrebuiltGmsCore.apk from here * can't post the link...
Thanks again,
Ram
you are awesome mate!
thanks a ton!
Tags
account and sync, server error, sync error
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more