Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,235 Members 50,952 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[solution] "There was a problem communicating with google servers."

Tip us?
 
enjid
Old
#1  
enjid's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 20
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Info 2 [solution] "There was a problem communicating with google servers."

I recently removed knox and rooted my phone following the guide. Worked great... I got into my phone with CM10, except for a constant "There was a problem communicating with google servers. Try again later." error message. I thought it was a bad wipe, so I rewiped and reflashed the ROM. No joy. I did a full factory reset from the menu. No joy.

Searching on Google and XDA yielded a lot of messages about the Google servers going down a few years ago. Obviously this wasn't the case. Finally, I found something that worked:
  • Disabled 2-step Authentication (mostly to make it easier on myself)
  • Removed the account
  • Cleared the data on the "Google Account Manager"
  • Readded said account

This worked for me. I'm on CM10.2.1-dspr (stable).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to enjid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
CodenameCyborg
Old
#2  
CodenameCyborg's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dhaka
It worked! I reflashed rom and did a lot of things but removing the 2-step verification worked! I love you man! Thx.
 
ramf_od
Old
(Last edited by ramf_od; 18th April 2014 at 02:03 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default don't have 2-step Authentication enabled on my google account...

Quote:
Originally Posted by enjid View Post
I recently removed knox and rooted my phone following the guide. Worked great... I got into my phone with CM10, except for a constant "There was a problem communicating with google servers. Try again later." error message. I thought it was a bad wipe, so I rewiped and reflashed the ROM. No joy. I did a full factory reset from the menu. No joy.

Searching on Google and XDA yielded a lot of messages about the Google servers going down a few years ago. Obviously this wasn't the case. Finally, I found something that worked:
  • Disabled 2-step Authentication (mostly to make it easier on myself)
  • Removed the account
  • Cleared the data on the "Google Account Manager"
  • Readded said account

This worked for me. I'm on CM10.2.1-dspr (stable).
Hi, I don't have 2-step Authentication enabled on my google account...
this is a newly flashed rom on this phone (from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589303) - every thing is o.k. but I cant connect to the google play / add new account to the phone etc...
i get error:
"there was a problem communicating with google servers/ try again later"

installing the Google Play Store 4.6.16 did not help - still the same error.
can you help??
 
Lange-199
Old
#4  
Lange-199's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 17
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramf_od View Post
Hi, I don't have 2-step Authentication enabled on my google account...
this is a newly flashed rom on this phone (from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589303) - every thing is o.k. but I cant connect to the google play / add new account to the phone etc...
i get error:
"there was a problem communicating with google servers/ try again later"

installing the Google Play Store 4.6.16 did not help - still the same error.
can you help??
I don't know if you've fixed this already, but I deleted the data and cache of every Google app and I'd worked.
Thank me if it helped, reply if it didn't or if I'm wrong.

Devices:
Samsung galaxy s4 stock 4.4.2
Samsung galaxy note 10.1 2012 4.4.2 stock (rooted)
Samsung galaxy ace s5830i (rooted)
The Following User Says Thank You to Lange-199 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ramf_od
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Thanks for the info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lange-199 View Post
I don't know if you've fixed this already, but I deleted the data and cache of every Google app and I'd worked.
Thanks for the info.
I solved it by installing PrebuiltGmsCore.apk from here * can't post the link...
Thanks again,
Ram
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ramf_od For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ksbhat
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default thanks a ton mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramf_od View Post
Thanks for the info.
I solved it by installing PrebuiltGmsCore.apk from here * can't post the link...
Thanks again,
Ram
you are awesome mate!
thanks a ton!
Tags
account and sync, server error, sync error
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more