Bring Back LTE on the Google Nexus 4 Running Lollipop

One of the predecessors of the latest, largest, and greatest Gooogle Nexus 6(theGoogle … more

Google Maps, My Maps, YouTube, Androidify, Slides, Music Updated–Here’s What’s New

In the last few weeks, Google has been … more

SuperSU BETA: Root Android Lollipop on Stock Kernel

Up until now, if you wanted to get root on Android 5.0, you needed to flash a modified … more

Android App Review: Get Amaze with Material Design – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. Android 5.0 … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tablet not detected when connected via usb at all

OP edgex

3rd March 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 127
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I connect my tablet to my two laptops, one is win 8.1 and the other osx, neither shows any sign of knowing the tablet is connected at all.

it does not prompt me to instal any drivers, i dont see it in device manager though i could be missing it. definitely doesnt show up in file explorer as a drive. have tried switching from mtp to ptp and back again. I have no dea. The same cable when connected to the charger works fine, but no sign of life on a computer.

I'm trying to root it and get CM10 on there but this is stopping me in my tracks.

edit: i also just tried an older windows xp computer, no luck their either.
Last edited by edgex; 3rd March 2014 at 01:52 AM.
3rd March 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #2  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,186
 
11,649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Bad cable?

Turn in USB debugging in developer options?
4th March 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 127
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

Bad cable?

Turn in USB debugging in developer options?

Tried both that I own. And it charges fine. Also tried connection the keyboard dock and then the cable to that. Out of ideas.

USB debugging has been enabled and disabled multiple times. Multiple reboots. I'm going to try rolling back the firmware from .10 to .8
Last edited by edgex; 4th March 2014 at 06:35 AM.
4th March 2014, 07:47 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,498
 
3,527 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgex

I'm trying to root it and get CM10 on there but this is stopping me in my tracks.

You don't need to root it to install a custom ROM, you need to unlock the bootloader.
4th March 2014, 07:48 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 127
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

You don't need to root it to install a custom ROM, you need to unlock the bootloader.

Well its successfully unlocked. But I'm like 99% sure I need root for goo manager to install twrp. Or USB to work to install twrp via fastboot.... No?
4th March 2014, 08:17 AM   |  #6  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,498
 
3,527 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgex

Well its successfully unlocked. But I'm like 99% sure I need root for goo manager to install twrp. Or USB to work to install twrp via fastboot.... No?

I wouldn't start installing custom anything without working fastboot and adb access.

- Make sure the contacts of the connector and cable are clean.
- Do the equivalent of "lsusb" under OSX to check if the tablet is detected.
- Try different USB ports.
4th March 2014, 08:23 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 127
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

I wouldn't start installing custom anything without working fastboot and adb access.

- Make sure the contacts of the connector and cable are clean.
- Do the equivalent of "lsusb" under OSX to check if the tablet is detected.
- Try different USB ports.

Have tried five ports accross three computers on three operating systems. Two usb cables, and the use of the dock should have bypassed any dirty connections. I can try Ubuntu live boot tomorrow if it comes to that.
26th April 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 127
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Sent it off to get fixed, they verified they had the same problem, waited weeks for a replacement part, they replaced it and sent it back. And its doing the samn damn thing. So done with this tablet.
27th April 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 605
 
1,501 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgex

Sent it off to get fixed, they verified they had the same problem, waited weeks for a replacement part, they replaced it and sent it back. And its doing the samn damn thing. So done with this tablet.

Did you freeze or disable your system apps by any chance?
27th April 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 127
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetMeKnow

Did you freeze or disable your system apps by any chance?

No, and I would think a factory reset which I've done multiple times would have undone that even if I had on accident some way.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes