Samsung Galaxy S4 also Receives Android Lollipop Port

Once upon a time, when the original Samsung Galaxy S was just a dream for most XDA … more

How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Troubleshoot] High Gamma after kernel flash 4.3 (Xperia V owners please post!)

OP Brewski606

2nd March 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
UPDATE:
I believe I have narrowed down the problem. It seems the NVM byte data has been wiped and zeroed from the crossflashing.
reading from any NVM byte results in response silimilar to this:
Code:
 e7 03 00 0f 34 de 00 00 11 0b 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00GEN_READ
reg=0xB0
len=10
data[0]=0x03
data[1]=0x00
data[2]=0x00
data[3]=0x00
data[4]=0x00
data[5]=0x00
data[6]=0x00
data[7]=0x00
data[8]=0x5C
data[9]=0xF6
GEN_READ
reg=0xC4
len=10
data[0]=0x00
data[1]=0x00
data[2]=0x00
data[3]=0x00
data[4]=0x00
data[5]=0x00
data[6]=0x00
data[7]=0x00
data[8]=0x8C
data[9]=0x7C
GEN_READ
as you can see the data is basically all zero except for the last 2 checksums.

There is a procedure in the driver to recover from display errors that looks like this:
Code:
#ifdef CONFIG_FB_MSM_RECOVER_PANEL
static char mcap_unlock_reg[] = {
	0xB0, 0x00
};
#endif

static char ltps_if_ctrl[] = {
	0xC4, 0xC3, 0x29
};
static char gamma_ctrl[] = {
	0xC8, 0x10, 0x00, 0x1F, 0x00
};
static char gamma_ctrl_set_r_pos[] = {
	0xC9, 0x08, 0x03, 0x01, 0x01, 0x02, 0x05, 0x11,
	0x18, 0x10, 0x0C, 0x1F, 0x10, 0x20
};
...
...
...
but even after manually breaking and recovering the NVM the problem still persists.

If anyone has any experience editing NVM values please PM me!

Original post:
Ok so here's what happened: I updated to 4.3 on my Xperia V (Lt25i) and I flash a kernel from the forum (see link below) and tried to flash SuperSU package in attempt to root. I started to boot but missed the button press to load recovery, now softbricked. Booted to flashmode and reflashed sony kernel using flashtool. Its working fine now but now there is something wrong with the screen. I'm not sure what's wrong but it looks like the gamma is too high (see pics).
I did get the root working the second time I tried but the damage is done.

Any advice would be awesome. Im pretty stumped. Ive tried reverting to stock but nothing changed.
Could I ask other Xperia V owners to give me dmesg or 'dmesg|grep -i panel' logs?

Kernel from this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50304002

Dmesg log from 'dmesg|grep panel'
Code:
<6>[    1.006409] default panel: mipi_sharp_panel
<6>[    1.006775] setting pdata->panel_info.fb_num to 3. type: 8
<6>[    1.012208] mdp_probe: panel_detect function
<6>[    1.061651] mipi_renesas_r63306 mipi_renesas_r63306.0: found panel vendor: mipi_sharp_panel
<6>[    1.062078] mipi_renesas_r63306 mipi_renesas_r63306.0: found panel: mipi_video_sharp_wxga_ls043k3sx04
<3>[    1.397588] msm_fb_detect_panel: comparing name=hdmi_msm with mipi_video_renesas_fwvga
<6>[    1.398718] setting pdata->panel_info.fb_num to 1. type: 7
<6>[    1.399450] mdp_probe: panel_detect function
<6>[    1.399603] mdp_probe: no panel_detect function
<6>[    1.402685] setting pdata->panel_info.fb_num to 1. type: 10
<6>[    1.403906] mdp_probe: panel_detect function
<6>[    1.403998] mdp_probe: no panel_detect function
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_storage_sdcard0_tencent_MicroMsg_f05db91d991b005c16863cbf1851a7f2_image2_04_03_0403f97fda9f0a35.jpg
Views:	6681
Size:	116.2 KB
ID:	2609478   Click image for larger version

Name:	_storage_sdcard0_tencent_MicroMsg_f05db91d991b005c16863cbf1851a7f2_image2_39_a8_39a81bc475456776.jpg
Views:	6874
Size:	115.7 KB
ID:	2609479  
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvm_sharp.txt - [Click for QR Code] (2.5 KB, 5 views)
Last edited by Brewski606; 11th June 2014 at 10:11 AM.
2nd March 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewski606

Ok so here's what happened: I updated to 4.3 on my Xperia V (Lt25i) and I flash a kernel from the forum (see link below) and tried to flash SuperSU package in attempt to root. I started to boot but missed the button press to load recovery, now softbricked. Booted to flashmode and reflashed sony kernel using flashtool. Its working fine now but now there is something wrong with the screen. I'm not sure what's wrong but it looks like the gamma is too high (see pics).
I did get the root working the second time I tried but the damage is done.

Any advice would be awesome. Im pretty stumped. Ive tried reverting to stock but nothing changed.
Could I ask other Xperia V owners to give me dmesg or 'dmesg|grep -i panel' logs?

Kernel from this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50304002

Dmesg log from 'dmesg >/mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt': Notice absence of "panel"
http://pastebin.com/XfMNQcqX

Same thing happened to me, I also tried downgrading and juggling kernels... Now I got the weird display problem. I notice that when I use the phone with the Pioneer Appradio headunit in my car (which connects through the MHL) the screen looks right. That leads me to think that the problem is in the phone screen, not in the video processing.

I dont know about the dmesg logs. I didn't find them in astro. How do I find them?


regards,

Therapy
3rd March 2014, 10:09 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by therapyJWCAD

Same thing happened to me, I also tried downgrading and juggling kernels... Now I got the weird display problem. I notice that when I use the phone with the Pioneer Appradio headunit in my car (which connects through the MHL) the screen looks right. That leads me to think that the problem is in the phone screen, not in the video processing.

I dont know about the dmesg logs. I didn't find them in astro. How do I find them?


regards,

Therapy

You need ROOT and a terminal emulator like this:
HTML Code:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=jackpal.androidterm
RESTART THE PHONE
open terminal and run the following commands:
Code:
su
dmesg|grep panel >/mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt
dmesg|grep panel
copy and paste the screen text here or attach or PM me the dmesg.txt file.
Thx
Last edited by Brewski606; 3rd March 2014 at 10:52 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Brewski606 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 09:50 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewski606

You need ROOT and a terminal emulator like this:

HTML Code:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=jackpal.androidterm
RESTART THE PHONE
open terminal and run the following commands:
Code:
su
dmesg|grep panel >/mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt
dmesg|grep panel
copy and paste the screen text here or attach or PM me the dmesg.txt file.
Thx

Is this ok? Thanks for your effort!

Therapy
Attached Files
File Type: txt dmesg.txt - [Click for QR Code] (806 Bytes, 13 views)
23rd March 2014, 10:16 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by therapyJWCAD

Is this ok? Thanks for your effort!

Therapy

Thanks for that. Im still working on this issue. I have made a lot of progress.
Ill keep in touch.

This post has been really helpful but there is some modifications needed for our screen model.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50827115


DMESG might not be accurate.
Can you try to figure out your REAL screen model from these pictures?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2499108&page=3

When the screen is off, the SHARP model has a slight blue tint and the SONY has slight green tint. There is also a TOSHIBA but I cant find any pictures.
Last edited by Brewski606; 23rd March 2014 at 10:23 AM.
4th April 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewski606

Thanks for that. Im still working on this issue. I have made a lot of progress.
Ill keep in touch.

This post has been really helpful but there is some modifications needed for our screen model.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50827115


DMESG might not be accurate.
Can you try to figure out your REAL screen model from these pictures?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2499108&page=3

When the screen is off, the SHARP model has a slight blue tint and the SONY has slight green tint. There is also a TOSHIBA but I cant find any pictures.

Thanks again!

I'd say that my screen is a Sharp model, although I can't be sure.

Have you had any success with the procedure described in the first link you mentioned?

T
23rd April 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
There are more of us, I think...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=52136244
24th April 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I have the same problem after trying to get root with 4.3. If you can find a solution - x 1000!
Attached Files
File Type: txt dmesg.txt - [Click for QR Code] (873 Bytes, 9 views)
18th May 2014, 10:33 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 3
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I am still looking into this, but my work hasnt given me a lot of time recently.
I should have more time to work on it during the coming month.
The Following User Says Thank You to Brewski606 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2014, 07:36 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewski606

I am still looking into this, but my work hasnt given me a lot of time recently.
I should have more time to work on it during the coming month.

bro please help us with this.. i have sharp panel detected.. and i guess i have the chinese panel too

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes