5,597,261 Members 39,624 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is it possible to build ART-only?

Tip us?
 
rmanne
Old
(Last edited by rmanne; 30th December 2013 at 05:37 PM.) Reason: Update
#1  
rmanne's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 16
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Parsippany
Default [Q] Is it possible to build ART-only?

I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.
 
Zaphodspeaks
Old
#2  
Zaphodspeaks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 147
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmanne View Post
I've tried changing build/target/product/core_minimal.xml with
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libdvm_default
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES += runtime_libart
to
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart
but it caused a bootloop

EDIT: I tried the build again this time using
Code:
PRODUCT_RUNTIMES := runtime_libart_default
, and this time, it refused to start up. I pulled the battery, put it back it, and all of a sudden, it started working, buggy yes, but at least it booted up. When I went into dev settings expecting to see no option to change runtime, I saw "libdvm.so", "libart.so", AND "libartd.so". Well that didn't work out as planned....
EDIT2: *sigh* I swear my phone is playing with me. Or maybe 2nd time is the charm. But it worked flawlessly. Trying a 3rd time with gapps this time.
ART is still in its development stages, most apps arent optimized for it yet..
I have a Nexus 7 2013 and Dalvik still runs better.. I wish I could add those Bionic and Dalvik mods to this phone..
====================================
Device: Asus TF101 (Currently rocking Katkiss 4.4.2)
Device: Nexus 7 2012 16gig.. (Broken)
Device: Nexus 7 2013 Flo 32gig, (Currently Rocking PACMAN ROM 4.4.2)
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE T999L T-Mobile (S3Rx 3.0 T-Mobile) The best ROM i've ever used!
====================================
 
ravid1323
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 271
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaphodspeaks View Post
ART is still in its development stages, most apps arent optimized for it yet..
I have a Nexus 7 2013 and Dalvik still runs better.. I wish I could add those Bionic and Dalvik mods to this phone..
im wanna know if ART is possible on android 4.3
 
Zaphodspeaks
Old
#4  
Zaphodspeaks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 147
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravid1323 View Post
im wanna know if ART is possible on android 4.3
That is a definite no...
its not built into the rom....
ART is still experimental, I dont even use it..
====================================
Device: Asus TF101 (Currently rocking Katkiss 4.4.2)
Device: Nexus 7 2012 16gig.. (Broken)
Device: Nexus 7 2013 Flo 32gig, (Currently Rocking PACMAN ROM 4.4.2)
Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE T999L T-Mobile (S3Rx 3.0 T-Mobile) The best ROM i've ever used!
====================================
 
jai794
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2013
If ART is only that one file then couldn't you rename it to libdvm.so from libart.so and then replace it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
 
NickVXD
Old
#6  
NickVXD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 364
Posts: 1,220
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ikebukuro
Quote:
Originally Posted by jai794 View Post
If ART is only that one file then couldn't you rename it to libdvm.so from libart.so and then replace it?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Theoretically you could. But a bootloop is inevitable.
Click if I helped
Galaxy Note 2 International N7100
*Rocking DN3 V4 RC2 ROM + GS5 MOD as a daily driver <-- best ROM EVER!
*Latest MJ9 bootloader
*KNOX tripped
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...