Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Will restoring stock firmware alo restore ESN?

4th March 2014, 12:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Phone is not rooted, and ESN is zeroed out. Would flashing stock firmware restore the ESN to factory? (Sprint)
Last edited by juryrigger; 4th March 2014 at 12:41 AM.
4th March 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
anyone? please? note that im not talking about IMEI or MEID, those seem to be fine. its just the ESN thats zeroed out.
4th March 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #3  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,676
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Nope. You're stuck
4th March 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Nope. You're stuck

damn, are you 100% positive?
4th March 2014, 12:15 PM   |  #5  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,676
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

damn, are you 100% positive?

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?
4th March 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?

its not activated yet
4th March 2014, 02:31 PM   |  #7  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,676
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

its not activated yet

So when you used Freegee you didn't back up your efs?
4th March 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

So when you used Freegee you didn't back up your efs?

someone else did the rooting, it got botched.
4th March 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Yes. The only way to repair that I know of is to restore your backed up ESN.

Since you have imei does the phone work? Or does it need ESN for data and phone calls?


a bit confused as to why you say you are 100% sure. its my understanding that ESN can be calculated from MEID/IMEI. If thats the case, wouldnt it just be a matter of figuring out what it is, and gettng it onto the phone?
4th March 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #10  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,676
 
7,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryrigger

a bit confused as to why you say you are 100% sure. its my understanding that ESN can be calculated from MEID/IMEI. If thats the case, wouldnt it just be a matter of figuring out what it is, and gettng it onto the phone?

which can't be done as far as I know. Happy to admit it if I am wrong.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes