Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,908 Members 53,240 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Details of a rom from Nandriod Backup

Tip us?
 
mayur.3.92
Old
#1  
mayur.3.92's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 483
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hyderabad
Exclamation Details of a rom from Nandriod Backup

Hello

All XDA members

I have a problem that made me raise a question an that is an we know the name of a rom from a nanriod backup either on PC or on Andriod.??

Ideally PC would be good !!

Thanks
 
stevens243
Old
#2  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2014
Most ( not all) recovery apps let you name the file. Are you asking how to find the file? If so, it likely is in a folder named backups. You can move the file to your pc and keep it there if you are out of storage space.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to stevens243 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mayur.3.92
Old
#3  
mayur.3.92's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 483
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hyderabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevens243 View Post
Most ( not all) recovery apps let you name the file. Are you asking how to find the file? If so, it likely is in a folder named backups. You can move the file to your pc and keep it there if you are out of storage space.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
Sorry if I wasn't clear please consider the following situation :

I have around 12 backups of different roms and I dont want to restore each n every backup for sake of simple file or simple thing. So any tool which can read the name of Rom? Probably the buildprop or about phone info will help

Sent from my A110 using Tapatalk
 
stevens243
Old
#4  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2014
Well, if you gave a single boot system, your recovery should "see" all of those files. If so, you can usb them or copy to a sd card and move them. Just move them back when you need to.

Sent from my CROM-i X powered TF700T using tapatalk
 
TPS_Reports
Old
#5  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 84
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Williamsburg

 
DONATE TO ME
Can someone explain nandroid backup to me? Does it mean I can make a backup my current rom and save it? Sorry for the dumb question.
 
stevens243
Old
#6  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Yep

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports View Post
Can someone explain nandroid backup to me? Does it mean I can make a backup my current rom and save it? Sorry for the dumb question.
Simply,it is a backup of your OS and settings. It is extremely valuable if you flash a new ROM that doesn't/won't function. Then, you can use your recovery to, well, recover your previous WORKING OS.

When/if you begin to flash new ROMs (and other tools that may corrupt your OS) you should always.first.backup.your.files.
 
TPS_Reports
Old
#7  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 84
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Williamsburg

 
DONATE TO ME
Can I assume I would need to wipe data/factory reset, etc. before I restore the backup?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy Nexus(retired) -->LG VS980 G2 --> CloudyFlex 2.5
 
stevens243
Old
#8  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default No assumptions

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports View Post
Can I assume I would need to wipe data/factory reset, etc. before I restore the backup?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
So, that depends on what your starting config is, what you upgraded to.

For instance, if you are stock and flash a ROM using the stock recovery, then likely yes. You should and you would use the stock bootloader to wipe with.

If you have loaded a new recovery (TWRP, CWM) then read(!) the instructions on the developers page. My example is that on my tablet, once I upgraded to TWRP, I SHOULD NOT use the factory wipe option as that would wipe both TWRP and the backup files. That would cause lots of problems so, don't assume.

Typically, you do need to data/reset/wipe prior to flashing a new or recovering to an old ROM, just be careful what/how you do it.
 
TPS_Reports
Old
#9  
TPS_Reports's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 84
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Williamsburg

 
DONATE TO ME
I have a CWM recovery installed and installed custom Rome before. I have always redid everything again. So a backup would save me a lot of time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy Nexus(retired) -->LG VS980 G2 --> CloudyFlex 2.5
 
stevens243
Old
#10  
stevens243's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPS_Reports View Post
I have a CWM recovery installed and installed custom Rome before. I have always redid everything again. So a backup would save me a lot of time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
Then, unless the ROM developer states otherwise, you should make backups, wipe data, install ROMs and recover your device using the Nandroid backup.

You likely shouldn't use the "factory" wipe data as that would cause issues.

Larry

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more