Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,657 Members 44,072 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus indash (vw polo)

Tip us?
 
N!KE26
Old
(Last edited by N!KE26; 4th March 2014 at 07:35 AM.) Reason: Added pics
#1  
N!KE26's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 243
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Nexus indash (vw polo)

Hi,
I have installed nexus gen 1 in my Polo R6 and its working pretty well right now. When I put the key in the tablet starts and turns airplain mod off and wifi on. And when I take the key out and its not putted in again in 15secs the airplain mode goes on, wifi off and force shutdown spotify and Google maps.

There is no acc in vw so to get the tablet on when key is in I have the positiv cabel it via the fusebox. There was one fuse wich has power when I put the key in the lock.

The audio is via a aux connected to Pioneer MVH-X560BT with a rear aux input so I get a clean look.

I have just one problem and would need some ideas, the nexus gps has some problem to the get singnal. So how would you recommend to get better gps singnal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140301-WA0001.jpg
Views:	615
Size:	260.5 KB
ID:	2612328   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140301-WA0003.jpg
Views:	542
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	2612329   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140303_080303.jpg
Views:	482
Size:	243.2 KB
ID:	2612330   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140303-WA0000.jpg
Views:	537
Size:	237.2 KB
ID:	2612331   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140303-WA0003.jpg
Views:	493
Size:	232.4 KB
ID:	2612334  

Phone: S4 I9505
 
b3ltazar
Old
#2  
b3ltazar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 121
Posts: 426
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: syracuse ny

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by N!KE26 View Post
Hi,
I have installed nexus gen 1 in my Polo R6 and its working pretty well right now. When I put the key in the tablet starts and turns airplain mod off and wifi on. And when I take the key out and its not putted in again in 15secs the airplain mode goes on, wifi off and force shutdown spotify and Google maps.

There is no acc in vw so to get the tablet on when key is in I have the positiv cabel it via the fusebox. There was one fuse wich has power when I put the key in the lock.

The audio is via a aux connected to Pioneer MVH-X560BT with a rear aux input so I get a clean look.

I have just one problem and would need some ideas, the nexus gps has some problem to the get singnal. So how would you recommend to get better gps singnal?
i have mine in the dash and have no gps issues at all. try gps fix or similar app first if it doesnt fix you could pull the antenna off the back of the case run it behind the rear view mirror then solder wires from the pins on the mother board to the pins of the antenna.it is pretty simple to do. or buy a bluetooth gps unit like 10-20 usd and pair it to the device via a app..
The Following User Says Thank You to b3ltazar For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Captain Sweatpants
Old
#3  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 329
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Edinburgh
Pretty much the same as b3ltazar if you do move the GPS antenna though make sure you use quality shielded cable to avoid interference.

Sent from one of my 47 iPads running android C3P0
Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain Sweatpants For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
N!KE26
Old
#4  
N!KE26's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 243
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by b3ltazar View Post
i have mine in the dash and have no gps issues at all. try gps fix or similar app first if it doesnt fix you could pull the antenna off the back of the case run it behind the rear view mirror then solder wires from the pins on the mother board to the pins of the antenna.it is pretty simple to do. or buy a bluetooth gps unit like 10-20 usd and pair it to the device via a app..
Do you think it is possible to buy one gps antenna and solder the wires of that to the mother board pins of the nexus? If not were is the nexus antenna in the backcover and will the antenna still work if I put cabel like 1m between it and the nexus?(sorry for asking but my is in the car and the car is not at home) Thnax for answers!
Phone: S4 I9505
 
Captain Sweatpants
Old
#5  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 329
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Edinburgh
I guess the only way to find out is to try it might work then again what's on the case may only be a small part of the GPS unit the circuitry being on the motherboard I know external WiFi antennas have been fitted with some quite spectacular results search for nexus 7 Magic mile to see what I mean.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
Programming is a race between engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain Sweatpants For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
N!KE26
Old
#6  
N!KE26's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 243
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants View Post
I guess the only way to find out is to try it might work then again what's on the case may only be a small part of the GPS unit the circuitry being on the motherboard I know external WiFi antennas have been fitted with some quite spectacular results search for nexus 7 Magic mile to see what I mean.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
I got the gps working now by soldering wires between the nexus motherboard and the gps antenna. The antenna is now next to nexus but still behind the dash. Works like a dream!
Phone: S4 I9505
 
Wicked50
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2014
I'm guessing your back cover was not on all the way, and the pins were not making contact to the antenna on the cover. But you fixed it. Great job, happy it worked out for you.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Wicked50 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
egren58
Old
#8  
egren58's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 1,661
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked50 View Post
I'm guessing your back cover was not on all the way, and the pins were not making contact to the antenna on the cover. But you fixed it. Great job, happy it worked out for you.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
im having the same issues guys but i cant locate the gps antena any help please have no gps at all

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes