Post Reply

Hard Reset and Format?

2nd March 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I was just wondering what is the difference between a hard reset from the recovery mode (volume up, power, and home) and a format (from wipe in ss)?
2nd March 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #2  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,383
 
4,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
A hard reset is just that. A reset.

A wipe is a wipe.

Guess what one you will not get to boot.

Sent from my SM-N9005A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
2nd March 2014, 10:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Ok maybe my question is too general. See i'm very new to this whole root, rom, ss scene. I'm trying to understand something here. As I know that when you do a hard reset it will put your phone back to the factory state as when you first got the phone. Thus all the apps and everything you install on your phone will be gone. But what happens to the files from root, safestrap, busybox and such that was installed to the phone? Will those files be deleted too?
2nd March 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #4  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Houma, LA
Thanks Meter: 2,383
 
4,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Normally... Yes they will be deleted.

But it isn't hard to re-root.

Sent from my SM-N9005A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th March 2014, 07:16 AM   |  #5  
Agent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 356
 
10
1,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuc28878

I was just wondering what is the difference between a hard reset from the recovery mode (volume up, power, and home) and a format (from wipe in ss)?

If you do a factory reset from the GUI it will do everything recovery does plus format any secure stuff off your SD card that you won't be able to use anymore after you do a reset (such as app data). Of course it can be restored with TB. If you do a wipe from the recovery menu it's faster, but you should probably manually delete that secure folder off your SD card on boot. If you start having problems or conflicts that might be why.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes