Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Has anyone got the TWRP Recovery to work??

OP fibroman

4th March 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Has anyone successfully gotten to TWRP Recovery to install for their Omate?
I have tried to do it using GooManager, but it says it cant find it.

I have also attempted to do the alternate methods but cant find a scatter file for it ?
Is there any tutorial on this that has worked for anyone?
4th March 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #2  
Dees_Troy's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag KC MO
Thanks Meter: 9,875
 
1,613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fibroman

Has anyone successfully gotten to TWRP Recovery to install for their Omate?
I have tried to do it using GooManager, but it says it cant find it.

I have also attempted to do the alternate methods but cant find a scatter file for it ?
Is there any tutorial on this that has worked for anyone?

I installed TWRP on my TrueSmart this morning via adb while booted to Android. Rename the file that you download to twrp.img and then do the following:
adb push twrp.img /sdcard/twrp.img
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/twrp.img of=/dev/recovery

Done.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Dees_Troy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dees_Troy

I installed TWRP on my TrueSmart this morning via adb while booted to Android. Rename the file that you download to twrp.img and then do the following:
adb push twrp.img /sdcard/twrp.img
adb shell dd if=/sdcard/twrp.img of=/dev/recovery

Done.

Thanks for the info. I now have it installed.
But when trying to do a backup it says( Failed )
Updating Partition details...
Kernel does not have support for running this application.
4th March 2014, 11:54 PM   |  #4  
mortis2600's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
I was having the same issue. Did exactly what Dees_Troy suggested and it worked like a charm.

Thanks!

Now to wait for roms, because the stock one blows so far.
5th March 2014, 12:29 AM   |  #5  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,284
 
2,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mortis2600

I was having the same issue. Did exactly what Dees_Troy suggested and it worked like a charm.

Thanks!

Now to wait for roms, because the stock one blows so far.

Ouch!!! I can always take Operative and instead of a 100MB file make it +600MB file and call it a "ROM" if it will help.
5th March 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #6  
Dees_Troy's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag KC MO
Thanks Meter: 9,875
 
1,613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fibroman

Thanks for the info. I now have it installed.
But when trying to do a backup it says( Failed )
Updating Partition details...
Kernel does not have support for running this application.

Try running the backup again. If you get an error, adb pull /tmp/recovery.log without rebooting and attach or paste the log to a paste site.
5th March 2014, 01:52 AM   |  #7  
mortis2600's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokifish Marz

Ouch!!! I can always take Operative and instead of a 100MB file make it +600MB file and call it a "ROM" if it will help.

Sorry, I have a fairly high standard of roms at this point.

Dont want to go too far off topic, but I've had some issues with bluetooth (pairs, doesn't stay connected, thus making the companion app useless), battery life, etc.

I may have to run tasker scripts to emulate some of the things I want it to do with notifications and turning the screen on. Finally, if I install a new launcher, it'd be wonderful if it didn't cover up the notifications bar.
5th March 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #8  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Olympus Mons, Mars
Thanks Meter: 3,284
 
2,893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mortis2600

Sorry, I have a fairly high standard of roms at this point.

Dont want to go too far off topic, but I've had some issues with bluetooth (pairs, doesn't stay connected, thus making the companion app useless), battery life, etc.

I may have to run tasker scripts to emulate some of the things I want it to do with notifications and turning the screen on. Finally, if I install a new launcher, it'd be wonderful if it didn't cover up the notifications bar.

I quit anyways so no biggie
5th March 2014, 02:26 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 546
 
1,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mortis2600

Sorry, I have a fairly high standard of roms at this point.

Then.... build.... your.... own?

Be a part of the solution.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
5th March 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #10  
mortis2600's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokifish Marz

I quit anyways so no biggie

Did you build the stock rom? If so, I meant no offense.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes