Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,782 Members 45,969 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] S4 Won't Turn On?

Tip us?
 
bboysamm
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default [Q] S4 Won't Turn On?

Hey guys, so I recently failed flashing a rom onto my phone, and now it won't turn on at all. I'm pretty sure the battery still has something left in it, and I've been trying to turn it on to the odin download mode, but the phone isn't giving a response nor is my computer recognizing it. Is there any fix?
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3053
Posts: 9,075
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
What did you try to flash? Pretty sure you hard bricked it.
 
bboysamm
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
What did you try to flash? Pretty sure you hard bricked it.
I tried flashing the BlackBox rom. (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2429072)
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3053
Posts: 9,075
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysamm View Post
I tried flashing the BlackBox rom. (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2429072)
Dude, it's for the i9505 not the i337

Look into JTAG, see mobiletechvideos.com
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bboysamm
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Dude, it's for the i9505 not the i337

Look into JTAG, see mobiletechvideos.com
Is that the only way to fix it?
 
jd1639
Old
#6  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3053
Posts: 9,075
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysamm View Post
Is that the only way to fix it?
Yes, you hard bricked your phone.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727
 
bboysamm
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Yes, you hard bricked your phone.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727
Well, this isn't going to be pretty for either my parents or my wallet. Thanks though. Should have expected this coming..
 
jd1639
Old
#8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3053
Posts: 9,075
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysamm View Post
Well, this isn't going to be pretty for either my parents or my wallet. Thanks though. Should have expected this coming..
Live and learn. Always check what you're flashing and only flash what is for your specific device. All s4's aren't the same.
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bboysamm
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Live and learn. Always check what you're flashing and only flash what is for your specific device. All s4's aren't the same.
Yup. Just questioning now, I looked at the website and they offer to allow me to chose a rom for them to install. Can they install CM11 or CM10 even if I have the MK2 S4, which only allows TW roms to be flashed?
 
jd1639
Old
#10  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3053
Posts: 9,075
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by bboysamm View Post
Yup. Just questioning now, I looked at the website and they offer to allow me to chose a rom for them to install. Can they install CM11 or CM10 even if I have the MK2 S4, which only allows TW roms to be flashed?
If you're on mk2, no. I don't think they can, but can they flash mdl on your phone? That would be cool.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...