Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,401 Members 38,530 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bootlooping, need stock image

Tip us?
 
syl2us
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Bootlooping, need stock image

My LTE took a dump the other day. Started overheating like crazy, despite no changes.

Was running cynagenmod 10.2 and it was working well. S-Off HBOOT 2.09.4444, Radio 1.12.11.1119

Then these overheats kept going all day until I turned it off. Then started bootlooping, would fully launch one out of 10 times.
So I wiped using TWRP and gave that a try, no luck, still overheating and bootlooping.
So I wiped and restored a TWRP backup, nothing... the stock rom is bootlooping even harder than before and never fully launches now.
It got to the point TWRP wouldn't launch until I had to put a fresh version on the SD card.
Tried to install the newest stable CM10.2 image and as before locking up at boot splash screen of the rom after HTC "quietly brilliant" and looping.

So now I am stuck, downloaded the stock RUU from HTC website, however the devices needs to be recognized to use their exe.
Is there an image I can throw on the SD card and use TWRP to try a flash from that? Any other recommendations?

TIA.
 
lreyes
Old
#2  
lreyes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 496
Posts: 1,407
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by syl2us View Post
My LTE took a dump the other day. Started overheating like crazy, despite no changes.

Was running cynagenmod 10.2 and it was working well. S-Off HBOOT 2.09.4444, Radio 1.12.11.1119

Then these overheats kept going all day until I turned it off. Then started bootlooping, would fully launch one out of 10 times.
So I wiped using TWRP and gave that a try, no luck, still overheating and bootlooping.
So I wiped and restored a TWRP backup, nothing... the stock rom is bootlooping even harder than before and never fully launches now.
It got to the point TWRP wouldn't launch until I had to put a fresh version on the SD card.
Tried to install the newest stable CM10.2 image and as before locking up at boot splash screen of the rom after HTC "quietly brilliant" and looping.

So now I am stuck, downloaded the stock RUU from HTC website, however the devices needs to be recognized to use their exe.
Is there an image I can throw on the SD card and use TWRP to try a flash from that? Any other recommendations?

TIA.
What are you trying to achieve? Do you need an alternative RUU flash or find a new ROM so you won't get bootloops and heating?

I suggest going on CM11 or resort to Meanbean for stock sense 4.

If you're running a RUU I suggest using this method here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50523371

But before that please read the first 4 posts of this thread (especially Q&A) to get you updated on what's going on with the newest RUU.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

More questions? Just ask me.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk

If you need any help,task to be done, contact me via PM.
 
syl2us
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lreyes View Post
What are you trying to achieve? Do you need an alternative RUU flash or find a new ROM so you won't get bootloops and heating?

I suggest going on CM11 or resort to Meanbean for stock sense 4.

If you're running a RUU I suggest using this method here.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=50523371

But before that please read the first 4 posts of this thread (especially Q&A) to get you updated on what's going on with the newest RUU.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

More questions? Just ask me.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
I am trying to get this phone into any working order if I can. I have reason to believe the hardware has been affected by the overheating. I need to get it to fully launch before I can declare that, so anything to stop it from bootlooping is what I am trying to achieve. Occasionally, when it would fully launch, I noticed none of the radios worked, no mobile data, no WiFi and no Bluetooth which were previously functioning fine.

The links are down to the two files needed in the first post you're referencing.
 
syl2us
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2011
I believe my partitions are out of whack and need to be fixed. Everything I am seeing to repair partitions is while the phone can boot, can someone point me to some info that shows how to fix partitions while only recovery is achievable? Maybe I am going about this wrong, search not returning the results needed.

TIA
 
Magnum_Enforcer
Old
#5  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1822
Posts: 3,411
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
You can RUU from the bootloader, without having to be booted to the OS. I can confirm this works on both the 3.17 RUU and the latest 4.13 RUU, which I have both used. Make sure you have HTC Sync involved and use a Windows 7 machine and you shouldn't have any issues.

Sent from my EVO LTE
 
syl2us
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28 View Post
You can RUU from the bootloader, without having to be booted to the OS. I can confirm this works on both the 3.17 RUU and the latest 4.13 RUU, which I have both used. Make sure you have HTC Sync involved and use a Windows 7 machine and you shouldn't have any issues.

Sent from my EVO LTE
You're saying you were able to get it recognized during Bootloader USB? The RUU will not recognize the device for me this way.
 
Magnum_Enforcer
Old
#7  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1822
Posts: 3,411
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Yep, worked just fine connected via Fastboot USB mode.

Sent from my EVO LTE
 
syl2us
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28 View Post
Yep, worked just fine connected via Fastboot USB mode.

Sent from my EVO LTE
Hmm, tried this on Win8, I'll give 7 a shot, thanks for the heads up!
 
syl2us
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2011
How do I ensure my partitions are in proper order? Often when in TWRP and trying to run common commands, I get SD card unmountable and noticed what seems like multiple SD card nomenclature.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more