Post Reply

OTA failure (SOLVED, thanks to @nkk71)

OP muhammad.uzi1994

5th March 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
hi all, i have a Taiwan HTC One with 4.2.2 and software version 2.24.709.1 , s off, unrooted and stock ROM . I receive 4.3 OTA update when i check for software updates, and it downloads fine too but whenever i try to install it and the phone boots up into stock recovery, the progress bar goes halfway and then the recovery shows a red triangle and i have to hard reset the phone. i'm running stock recovery, everything is stock but i have s off and unlocked bootloader, which shouldnt be what's causing this problem, anybody got any suggestions? thanks
5th March 2014, 12:03 PM   |  #2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 2,997
 
6,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

hi all, i have a Taiwan HTC One with 4.2.2 and software version 2.24.709.1 , s off, unrooted and stock ROM . I receive 4.3 OTA update when i check for software updates, and it downloads fine too but whenever i try to install it and the phone boots up into stock recovery, the progress bar goes halfway and then the recovery shows a red triangle and i have to hard reset the phone. i'm running stock recovery, everything is stock but i have s off and unlocked bootloader, which shouldnt be what's causing this problem, anybody got any suggestions? thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

i get Patch Error (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml) something like that , it fails verifying it , i'll download the OTA from Guru's site and try to install it manually via recovery

"i get Patch Error (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)" -> that means the file "default.xml" is not 100% stock and therefore the OTA cannot continue, nothing to do with recovery or firmware or the OTA

you need to check the MD5 (of that file) inside the Guru ROM and check if it's the same as in the updater script inside the OTA.
5th March 2014, 12:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

"i get Patch Error (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)" -> that means the file "default.xml" is not 100% stock and therefore the OTA cannot continue, nothing to do with recovery or firmware or the OTA

you need to check the MD5 (of that file) inside the Guru ROM and check if it's the same as in the updater script inside the OTA.

how can i check MD5 ? can you guide me through it? i have never checked an MD5 before , help me with this please, i have the GuruRom zip file at hand, what do i need to do next?
EDIT: the error i get is assert_failed: apply_patch_check (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)
Last edited by muhammad.uzi1994; 5th March 2014 at 12:13 PM.
5th March 2014, 12:16 PM   |  #4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 2,997
 
6,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

how can i check MD5 ? can you guide me through it? i have never checked an MD5 before , help me with this please, i have the GuruRom zip file at hand, what do i need to do next?
EDIT: the error i get is assert_failed: apply_patch_check (/system/customize/MNS/default.xml)

Can you extract the following two files, and upload them somewhere (dropbox or similar), preferably compress (zip or rar) them first:

from OTA 3.18.709.2_2.24.709.1: /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

from Guru ROM 2.24.709.1: /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
5th March 2014, 12:21 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Can you extract the following two files, and upload them somewhere (dropbox or similar), preferably compress (zip or rar) them first:

from OTA 3.18.709.2_2.24.709.1: /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

from Guru ROM 2.24.709.1: /system/customize/MNS/default.xml

yes, i'll do it in a bit, thanks a lot for helping out
5th March 2014, 12:28 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Can you extract the following two files, and upload them somewhere (dropbox or similar), preferably compress (zip or rar) them first:

from OTA 3.18.709.2_2.24.709.1: /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

from Guru ROM 2.24.709.1: /system/customize/MNS/default.xml

https://www.dropbox.com/s/740hsmom4q7qwi5/default.rar

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u57lqm3alw...ter-script.rar here are the default and updater-script files
5th March 2014, 01:05 PM   |  #7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 2,997
 
6,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

https://www.dropbox.com/s/740hsmom4q7qwi5/default.rar

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u57lqm3alw...ter-script.rar here are the default and updater-script files

at about 68% of system verification, it's checking /system/customize/MNS/default.xml
Code:
set_progress(0.680276);
assert(apply_patch_check("/system/customize/MNS/default.xml", "b5f7063d64935f736b6db36ca187493f738afea7", "855575a56657715443a0be7dfd1fbff58d429ff9"));
and is expecting an SHA-1 mentioned above, but the file you sent me has SHA-1 = b202589370e749f0604dc853b03848e4ea11a1e5

so the OTA will not go through.


Usually Guru ROMs are accurate, so it's strange. I'll download the Guru ROM later to double check... I'll let you know....
5th March 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

at about 68% of system verification, it's checking /system/customize/MNS/default.xml

Code:
set_progress(0.680276);
assert(apply_patch_check("/system/customize/MNS/default.xml", "b5f7063d64935f736b6db36ca187493f738afea7", "855575a56657715443a0be7dfd1fbff58d429ff9"));
and is expecting an SHA-1 mentioned above, but the file you sent me has SHA-1 = b202589370e749f0604dc853b03848e4ea11a1e5

so the OTA will not go through.


Usually Guru ROMs are accurate, so it's strange. I'll download the Guru ROM later to double check... I'll let you know....

can i just download an Indian Stock Reset Guru Rom by changing my CID to HTC__038 with MID PN0711000, will the OTA's work then? plus, can you confirm if this link will work for Indian CID HTC__038 http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/guru_res...-63-707-4-zip/
5th March 2014, 01:51 PM   |  #9  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 2,997
 
6,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

can i just download an Indian Stock Reset Guru Rom by changing my CID to HTC__038 with MID PN0711000, will the OTA's work then? plus, can you confirm if this link will work for Indian CID HTC__038 http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/guru_res...-63-707-4-zip/

you are seriously confusing me!!

but yes, you can use that if you prefer and the corresponding firmware from the link i gave you earlier.
5th March 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

you are seriously confusing me!!

but yes, you can use that if you prefer and the corresponding firmware from the link i gave you earlier.

thanks a lot for helping out

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes