How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Unbrick F240 by turning it to E980

OP Glops4

5th March 2014, 10:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
My Optimus G Pro F240L was somehow soft bricked for a month after trying to install a version of CM11. I have tried to download many dfferent F240L .TOT files to get it back to life on Baidu, all files were corrupted, at least for me, and i had the low battery warning when trying to flash official .KDZ .

Then I have tried the tutorial on this thread with AT&T .TOT file for E980, thanks to madmack :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2302660

Don't use the DLL which is there, instead if you have F240L use the one on this thread, thanks to chimmot307:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2368900&page=2

The phone is back to life, but no signal and no SD-card

At this point, you need to root the phone and install CWM using the files in this thread thanks to XQ55 :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2342695

Then Install the F240 baseband or the one compatible with your phone by flashing it in cwm using the files in this thread thanks to anirudhks:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2462453

Ok now the signal an SD-card is back and you have a brand new E980 AT&T phone !!!

Freeze unwanted bloatware with Bloatware freezer free in Google Play Store

You can now also flash official .KDZ for your F240 or keep this version as I did.

GOOD LUCK
Last edited by Glops4; 5th March 2014 at 01:38 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Glops4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
same issue
I have LG Optimus GPro F240L too, I tried to flash CM11 ROM but it was brick, the same like you. But I flash TOT file back OK. Now i can root and install CWM through FreeGee, but when flash CM base ROM it doesn't boot, only stock base ROM work. Someone tell my why please !
6th March 2014, 08:09 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Well in fact I have tried AICP here, and it works pretty well and very fast.
Install it through Freegee and TWRP. However, I get signal, but whenever I try to make a call, the phone reboots. If I try to install the baseband, the phone gets bricked.

Otherwise a search on google for F240L CM11 gives many results, even on XDA. I didn't have time to try yet. But on E980 official ROM, Antutu has a score of 22500 which is far better than my 19600 with official F240.
Last edited by Glops4; 6th March 2014 at 09:27 AM.
9th March 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glops4

Well in fact I have tried AICP here, and it works pretty well and very fast.
Install it through Freegee and TWRP. However, I get signal, but whenever I try to make a call, the phone reboots. If I try to install the baseband, the phone gets bricked.

Otherwise a search on google for F240L CM11 gives many results, even on XDA. I didn't have time to try yet. But on E980 official ROM, Antutu has a score of 22500 which is far better than my 19600 with official F240.

I have a F240L works with CM11 perfectly.

Only issue i noticed whichever ROM i use i never get SimToolKit(STK) to work even in stock korean ROMs.

I moved to RadeonMAYA ROM as it has the best battery life as compared to the G2 V5 ROM and CM11.

As for the rebooting during phone calls just install ALSA drivers using the guide here on this general section and it will work.
Though you'll have reenable it evertime on Reboots which is a PITA.
The Following User Says Thank You to mudu8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 10:47 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Did you have weather effect at lockscreen my friend?
11th March 2014, 04:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Thanks, I will try alsa drivers. Yesterday I have tried a PACMAN rom downloaded here, and it works wonderful without doing anything. Calls, data network, wifi have no problem at all.
Slimkat 4.4.2 is also there. Not tried yet.
21st March 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glops4

My Optimus G Pro F240L was somehow soft bricked for a month after trying to install a version of CM11. I have tried to download many dfferent F240L .TOT files to get it back to life on Baidu, all files were corrupted, at least for me, and i had the low battery warning when trying to flash official .KDZ .

Then I have tried the tutorial on this thread with AT&T .TOT file for E980, thanks to madmack :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2302660

Don't use the DLL which is there, instead if you have F240L use the one on this thread, thanks to chimmot307:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2368900&page=2

The phone is back to life, but no signal and no SD-card

At this point, you need to root the phone and install CWM using the files in this thread thanks to XQ55 :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2342695

Then Install the F240 baseband or the one compatible with your phone by flashing it in cwm using the files in this thread thanks to anirudhks:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2462453

Ok now the signal an SD-card is back and you have a brand new E980 AT&T phone !!!

Freeze unwanted bloatware with Bloatware freezer free in Google Play Store

You can now also flash official .KDZ for your F240 or keep this version as I did.

GOOD LUCK

how about the internal storage? 16gb or 32gb?
21st March 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Ive got the same problem with the battery warning, but ive got a e986. But i think it should work too?
21st March 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
You get 32gb using this method
21st March 2014, 12:00 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glops4

You get 32gb using this method

do you know if its a problem when i flash this on 16gb model an flash another rom after the phone is unbricked?
Last edited by basicone1; 21st March 2014 at 12:07 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes