Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] M7 only boot to recovery or fast boot. Bricked?

OP mucka1916

5th March 2014, 12:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hey guys,


When I boot my phone it'll only give me the HTC splash screen. I can manage to get my phone to boot into clockwork or the bootloader but nothing else.

My phone is S-ON with USB debugging disabled. Hboot is 1.56.

Is it a lost cause?
5th March 2014, 02:57 PM   |  #2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,071
 
6,193 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucka1916

Hey guys,


When I boot my phone it'll only give me the HTC splash screen. I can manage to get my phone to boot into clockwork or the bootloader but nothing else.

My phone is S-ON with USB debugging disabled. Hboot is 1.56.

Is it a lost cause?

USB debugging doesnt matter in custom recovery (CWM or TWRP), you can use one of these methods to get a ROM onto your phone, while in custom recovery:
1- OTG Cable
2- adb push <name of rom>.zip /sdcard/
3- adb sideload <name of rom>.zip

if you're going to flash a 4.4 ROM then you best use TWRP (the correct one for your phone model), and if you're going to flash a GPe ROM you need to be S-Off.
5th March 2014, 04:37 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

USB debugging doesnt matter in custom recovery (CWM or TWRP), you can use one of these methods to get a ROM onto your phone, while in custom recovery:
1- OTG Cable
2- adb push <name of rom>.zip /sdcard/
3- adb sideload <name of rom>.zip

if you're going to flash a 4.4 ROM then you best use TWRP (the correct one for your phone model), and if you're going to flash a GPe ROM you need to be S-Off.

Ok so I'm using TWRP and managed to get Maximus Rom installed but now the touch screen won't respond on lock screen.

Driver compatibility maybe? The ROM seemed to install fine and I ran fastboot flash boot boot.img.

Does it have to be a OTG cable? Standard USB seems to be working fine for the most part.

Thanks
5th March 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,071
 
6,193 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucka1916

Ok so I'm using TWRP and managed to get Maximus Rom installed but now the touch screen won't respond on lock screen.

Driver compatibility maybe? The ROM seemed to install fine and I ran fastboot flash boot boot.img.

Does it have to be a OTG cable? Standard USB seems to be working fine for the most part.

Thanks

1- post a "fastboot getvar all" (excluding IMEI and s/n)

2- what version of TWRP are you using (don't say "latest" please)

3- which ROM (link please) and version number

4- did you really need to "fastboot flash boot boot.img." ? was it indicated in the thread?
5th March 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

1- post a "fastboot getvar all" (excluding IMEI and s/n)

2- what version of TWRP are you using (don't say "latest" please)

3- which ROM (link please) and version number

4- did you really need to "fastboot flash boot boot.img." ? was it indicated in the thread?


Excuse me. Its little bit OT but can you help me with this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2670857
? Thank you.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes