Post Reply

Can I do a basic phone reset?

5th March 2014, 05:34 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...91895&page=286

That is the root the phone has. I bought this phone used, but I want to sell it and rebuy the t-mobile version so I can get wifi calling again.

So I want to know if I can do the standard phone reset in the settings option without having to worry about anything. Can I just do it without having to reroot the phone or do anything? I really don't know much when it comes to rooting, so I want to make sure doing a reset via settings wouldn't deroot the phone or brick it.

Thanks.
5th March 2014, 06:03 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pL1234

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...91895&page=286

That is the root the phone has. I bought this phone used, but I want to sell it and rebuy the t-mobile version so I can get wifi calling again.

So I want to know if I can do the standard phone reset in the settings option without having to worry about anything. Can I just do it without having to reroot the phone or do anything? I really don't know much when it comes to rooting, so I want to make sure doing a reset via settings wouldn't deroot the phone or brick it.

Thanks.

Ive had a rooted phone for quite some time and i have never used the option to reset my phone in the settings menu.

But if you want the phone back to stock and unrooted you should use SuperSU to fully unroot your phone then do a factory reset/data/and calvic wipe on the phone.
5th March 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unforgivenlife1986

Ive had a rooted phone for quite some time and i have never used the option to reset my phone in the settings menu.

But if you want the phone back to stock and unrooted you should use SuperSU to fully unroot your phone then do a factory reset/data/and calvic wipe on the phone.

I just want to do a basic reset so someone new can use it. I basically just want to know if it's fine to do the reset in the settings and if it'll leave it rooted.
6th March 2014, 02:07 AM   |  #4  
dpeeps74's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 174
 
871 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
You can just boot to recovery and do a factory reset and I would also wipe the internal SD card.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:06 PM ----------

The factory reset in settings should work too but you would still want to delete everything on the internal SD too.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank