Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,799 Members 48,211 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root is Gone?

Tip us?
 
magic132131
Old
(Last edited by magic132131; 26th February 2014 at 12:01 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2013
Question Root is Gone?

So all of sudden, my rooted S3 is not rooted anymore.

I wanted to use Titanium Backup and it says

"Sorry, I could not acquire root privileges. This application will *not* work! Pleasre verify that your ROM is rooted, and try again.

This attempt was made using the "/system/xbin/su" command."

and then I tried my other root applications such as Greenify, App Ops and they are all saying my phone isn't rooted anymore.


I don't understand, I never upgraded my phone after I rooted and I never flashed a different rom and kept the Touchwiz Rom.

I used this guide to root my phone originally:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

My phone is running 4.3 Android (Same Version I used when Rooted in the first place)
Baseband Version: T999UVUEMJC


Please let me know what to do
 
Cronoss
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jul 2013
check if supersu is working properly.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cronoss For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
magic132131
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cronoss View Post
check if supersu is working properly.
It isn't.

The following message pops up:

"There is no SU binary installed, and SuperSU cannot install it. This is a problem!

If you just upgraded to Android 4.3, you need to manually re-root - consult the relevant forums for your device!"
 
Cronoss
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic132131 View Post
It isn't.

The following message pops up:

"There is no SU binary installed, and SuperSU cannot install it. This is a problem!

If you just upgraded to Android 4.3, you need to manually re-root - consult the relevant forums for your device!"
My suggestion would be to back everything up and re flash root66.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cronoss For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
magic132131
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cronoss View Post
My suggestion would be to back everything up and re flash root66.
Would I lose all my data?


In terms of re flash root66, that means simply using Odin and re-rooting my phone like I do the first time right? Would it be the same instructions too?
 
Cronoss
Old
(Last edited by Cronoss; 26th February 2014 at 01:40 AM.)
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic132131 View Post
Would I lose all my data?


In terms of re flash root66, that means simply using Odin and re-rooting my phone like I do the first time right? Would it be the same instructions too?
I'm not sure if you are going to lose your data.. so that's why I said to back everything up, just in case.

And yes.. same method as before from that post.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cronoss For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SoulEater-
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2012
Befoe you flash again. Try uninstalling then installing supersu again
 
magic132131
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulEater- View Post
Befoe you flash again. Try uninstalling then installing supersu again
I can't uninstall supersu as it gives me no option to do so. I can only uninstall all updates that were applied but not complete remove and then install it.
 
0m3ga
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2010
I had this happen on my Tmobile Galaxy S3.

I read somewhere else on XDA that you just had to install the latest SuperSU, in zip form, from recovery mode.

I havent posted enough here to be able to post a link, but you can find it on chainfires website.

Then reboot and it should work.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes