FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 26 – May 2)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Great Camera Hardware, or Software?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on phone cameras. Come with your opinions and feel … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 25 – May 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Lollipop Xposed Framework Alpha 4 Released

Good news to all Xposed Framework fans. XDA Senior Recognized … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Returned to stock, still have Google logo on boot

6th March 2014, 04:30 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I've got a Rogers M7 that I had transmorgrified into a Google Play Edition HTC One. That was fun for a bit, but I'm putting back to stock to sell. I got through the CID change, stock nandroid restore, stock recovery flash. But I have an interesting issue - when the phone boots I always get the Google logo first, then the HTC logo and then into the OS. Would anyone have some hints as to how I make the phone behave like stock again on boot?
Last edited by cdnchris; 11th March 2014 at 11:14 PM. Reason: Tricked by fast boot - this issue stil exists
 
 
6th March 2014, 04:33 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
You either need to flash a Rogers firmware file or run a full sense RUU (International/Dev/etc) I am suspecting thats where the boot screen is showing up from. Keep the phone S-OFF to guard yourself from any issues that may arise. Your buyer wont care, or may even be pleased.
The Following User Says Thank You to SaHiLzZ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2014, 04:51 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

You either need to flash a Rogers firmware file or run a full sense RUU (International/Dev/etc) I am suspecting thats where the boot screen is showing up from. Keep the phone S-OFF to guard yourself from any issues that may arise. Your buyer wont care, or may even be pleased.

Thanks - oddly enough I just did a factory reset and I'm back to stock. I still can't manage to delete Superuser yet, but I'll figure that out.
11th March 2014, 11:15 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

You either need to flash a Rogers firmware file or run a full sense RUU (International/Dev/etc) I am suspecting thats where the boot screen is showing up from. Keep the phone S-OFF to guard yourself from any issues that may arise. Your buyer wont care, or may even be pleased.

There's no full sense RUU for Rogers - or at least that I've found. I flashed a stock Rogers nandroid, and I can get OTA updates. Turns out recovery is borked - I flashed a recovery file for a HBOOT 1.54. Would that be the issue?

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.23.3263.28
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.19.631.9
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: *redacted
(bootloader) imei: *redacted
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: ROGER001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3911mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
Last edited by cdnchris; 11th March 2014 at 11:30 PM. Reason: adding getvar
11th March 2014, 11:35 PM |#5  
cschmitt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,927
 
More
Since you are s-off make a firmware.zip with splash1.nb0 from an RUU and flash it in fastboot to restore the stock splash screen. Set the mainver in the andriod-info.txt to the same version that's currently on the phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to cschmitt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th March 2014, 02:19 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I followed the guide to return to stock - flipped the CID, flashed an RUU file that got me all the way back to here:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF

I flashed TWRP, restored a nandroid backup and then checked to see the OS was ok - everything seemed cool. I booted back into bootloader and flashed the stock recovery, erased cache and booted back into the OS. I did a factory data reset, booted back into bootloader, booted to cwm and used Guru to lock & untamper. When I rebooted and tried the OTA update, the update failed. Now I can get to stock recovery but when I boot I get a cyan screen, a magenta screen then frozen at an HTC boot screen where the green is wrong and "beats" is blue. Any suggestions from here?
12th March 2014, 04:01 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Stay again with ruu. And don't change anything.

sent from my mobile device
12th March 2014, 08:51 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
So RUU on Cingular, run all the updates via wifi then change CID back for my carrier and flash recovery?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk
12th March 2014, 09:48 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Is there a reason for changing your CID back/flash recovery?

In my opinion, do NOT S-ON, or lock your bootloader, and flash US Dev RUU http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa....22.1540.1.exe

You can leave the CID as 11111111 or change to BS_US001
12th March 2014, 10:58 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Bringing it back to stock to send to HTC RMA

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes