Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,731 Members 50,353 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Returned to stock, still have Google logo on boot

Tip us?
 
cdnchris
Old
(Last edited by cdnchris; 11th March 2014 at 11:14 PM.) Reason: Tricked by fast boot - this issue stil exists
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default [Q] Returned to stock, still have Google logo on boot

I've got a Rogers M7 that I had transmorgrified into a Google Play Edition HTC One. That was fun for a bit, but I'm putting back to stock to sell. I got through the CID change, stock nandroid restore, stock recovery flash. But I have an interesting issue - when the phone boots I always get the Google logo first, then the HTC logo and then into the OS. Would anyone have some hints as to how I make the phone behave like stock again on boot?
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 1,667
Join Date: Jan 2011
You either need to flash a Rogers firmware file or run a full sense RUU (International/Dev/etc) I am suspecting thats where the boot screen is showing up from. Keep the phone S-OFF to guard yourself from any issues that may arise. Your buyer wont care, or may even be pleased.
The Following User Says Thank You to SaHiLzZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cdnchris
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ View Post
You either need to flash a Rogers firmware file or run a full sense RUU (International/Dev/etc) I am suspecting thats where the boot screen is showing up from. Keep the phone S-OFF to guard yourself from any issues that may arise. Your buyer wont care, or may even be pleased.
Thanks - oddly enough I just did a factory reset and I'm back to stock. I still can't manage to delete Superuser yet, but I'll figure that out.
 
cdnchris
Old
(Last edited by cdnchris; 11th March 2014 at 11:30 PM.) Reason: adding getvar
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ View Post
You either need to flash a Rogers firmware file or run a full sense RUU (International/Dev/etc) I am suspecting thats where the boot screen is showing up from. Keep the phone S-OFF to guard yourself from any issues that may arise. Your buyer wont care, or may even be pleased.
There's no full sense RUU for Rogers - or at least that I've found. I flashed a stock Rogers nandroid, and I can get OTA updates. Turns out recovery is borked - I flashed a recovery file for a HBOOT 1.54. Would that be the issue?

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.23.3263.28
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.19.631.9
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: *redacted
(bootloader) imei: *redacted
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: ROGER001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 3911mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-4dab9d12
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
 
cschmitt
Old
#5  
cschmitt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1717
Posts: 1,431
Join Date: Feb 2012
Since you are s-off make a firmware.zip with splash1.nb0 from an RUU and flash it in fastboot to restore the stock splash screen. Set the mainver in the andriod-info.txt to the same version that's currently on the phone.
<this>
The Following User Says Thank You to cschmitt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cdnchris
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
I followed the guide to return to stock - flipped the CID, flashed an RUU file that got me all the way back to here:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF

I flashed TWRP, restored a nandroid backup and then checked to see the OS was ok - everything seemed cool. I booted back into bootloader and flashed the stock recovery, erased cache and booted back into the OS. I did a factory data reset, booted back into bootloader, booted to cwm and used Guru to lock & untamper. When I rebooted and tried the OTA update, the update failed. Now I can get to stock recovery but when I boot I get a cyan screen, a magenta screen then frozen at an HTC boot screen where the green is wrong and "beats" is blue. Any suggestions from here?
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 1,667
Join Date: Jan 2011
Stay again with ruu. And don't change anything.

sent from my mobile device
 
cdnchris
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
So RUU on Cingular, run all the updates via wifi then change CID back for my carrier and flash recovery?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 1,667
Join Date: Jan 2011
Is there a reason for changing your CID back/flash recovery?

In my opinion, do NOT S-ON, or lock your bootloader, and flash US Dev RUU http://www.androidruu.com/getdownloa....22.1540.1.exe

You can leave the CID as 11111111 or change to BS_US001
 
cdnchris
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2012
Bringing it back to stock to send to HTC RMA

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes