5,598,297 Members 47,812 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Rooted with stock sense and recovery ota

Tip us?
 
Goolum
Old
(Last edited by Goolum; 6th March 2014 at 08:23 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default [Q] Rooted with stock sense and recovery ota

Hello,

I'd like to ask few question about using the factory reset option with a stock 4.3 sense rom (unlocked bootloader, rooted and twrp recovery)


So, i rooted my device to try out viper4android but turns out its completely useless to me as i later learned that stock does not allow read/write to system partition and now i'm wondering how to go back safely.

As i said above, i'm still using the stock 4.3 rom with an unlocked bootloader no other changes made, so my question is to go back stock (using factory reset) do i need to:

1. Flash stock recovery and do a factory reset.
2. Flash stock recovery, relock bootloader and do a factory reset.
3. Guru reset M7
4. Other?

Thanks ~



EDIT:

Quick update, so just flashed stock recovery and used factory reset, now ofc the root did remain, so now my question is, can i
take ota safely with stock rom/recovery but rooted?

Thanks ~
 
Goolum
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
Anyone please, are any of my choices the good one (if so wich one)?
 
Ronnymes
Old
#3  
Ronnymes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 498
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Zuid Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goolum View Post
Anyone please, are any of my choices the good one (if so wich one)?
This is the way to go back to a stock ROM:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2541082

If you’re on hboot which is above 1.44, then first thing is to downgrade that:
so download this: http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/1-29-401-12_hboot_1-44-zip/

in bootloader/FASTBOOT USB, flash it:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip 1.29.401.12_hboot_1.44.zip
fastboot flash zip 1.29.401.12_hboot_1.44.zip <---- just in case the above said “failed flush again”
fastboot reboot-bootloader
--> and confirm hboot is now 1.44
MDA Vario II---> Nokia N95 ---> HTC TyTn II ---> HTC Diamond ( Credits to Duttythroy )
iPhone 3G ( Jailbreaked ) ---> White Google G1 ---> BlackBerry 9700 ---> Samsung Galaxy S1 ---> iphone 4 ---> iPhone 4s --->iPone 5 --> Samsung Galaxy S3 64Gb --> iPhone 5 again and now a HTC One
The Following User Says Thank You to Ronnymes For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Goolum
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
Thank you for your help, the problem is i'm on hboot 1.55 and rumrunner ain't working because of the
secure stock kernel, so i cannot go with the ruu way, wich is why i was wondering if i could simply use
the factory reset option since other than being rooted it is fully stock, or else the htc1 guru reset option.
 
raghav kapur
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 360
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goolum View Post
Anyone please, are any of my choices the good one (if so wich one)?
Post ur getvar all if ur confused as to which RUU to flash
The Following User Says Thank You to raghav kapur For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Goolum
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
As i said above flashing a ruu ain't an option since i'm s-on, what i meant by factory reset is the built in option (either through fastboot
or settings) with stock sense since i did not change anything, just unlocked the bootloader and rooted, and if that's not possible then if
guru reset utility for peoples with s-on is a good idea.
 
Goolum
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2014
So i ended flashing stock recovery and used factory reset, everything did go alright tho ofc the root did remain, so now my question is, can i
take kitkat ota safely with stock rom/recovery but rooted? Or the fact that it's rooted risk messing up stuff? Oh and i dont mind loosing root.

Thanks ~
 
Joearaujo5488
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goolum View Post
So i ended flashing stock recovery and used factory reset, everything did go alright tho ofc the root did remain, so now my question is, can i
take kitkat ota safely with stock rom/recovery but rooted? Or the fact that it's rooted risk messing up stuff? Oh and i dont mind loosing root.

Thanks ~
Your fine...you will lose root tho...

The Following User Says Thank You to Joearaujo5488 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes