5,606,530 Members 34,197 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Chromecast can't connect to my router TL-WDR4300

Tip us?
 
rozzerhmq
Old
(Last edited by rozzerhmq; 23rd December 2013 at 04:11 PM.)
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx View Post
Well does the Chromecast Light blink or is it solid?

If it is solid then it is connected to the router and you have some security setting or firewall either on the router or the PC isolating it from other devices.
Typical issue is when you have mis-selected Public for your network type in Windows instead of HOME,

Public isolates the Windows machine where HOME allows Device to Device communication.

Check the firewall settings on your router and try shutting it off and see if that works. If so then turn it back on and look for other settings like Multicast filtering or IGMP and uncheck.

If the light on the CCast is Blinking then it is not connected and you need to re-run the setup.

You say other devices are seeing it so thats probably not the case.
Update: It turns out this is not the root cause of this issue(refer to my post below), i will try dd-wrt next!
Thanks for the suggestions!

By following your advise and checking my security settings again. I was able to solve this issue by turning off VPN firewalls. I don't use any VPN thing so i thought the VPN firewalls wouldn't matter. Anyways, thank you very much and now I can enjoy Chromecast again!

However, there is one annoying thing. When casting from Chrome tabs, it won't go into full screen. There are black bars on top and bottom which isn't there if I cast from Youtube. I tried changing all the Chromecast extension options and Tv aspect ratio setting, but had no success. It would be awesome if you can offer some advice.

Thanks again!
 
Asphyx
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 1,431
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rozzerhmq View Post
Thanks for the suggestions!

By following your advise and checking my security settings again. I was able to solve this issue by turning off VPN firewalls. I don't use any VPN thing so i thought the VPN firewalls wouldn't matter. Anyways, thank you very much and now I can enjoy Chromecast again!

However, there is one annoying thing. When casting from Chrome tabs, it won't go into full screen. There are black bars on top and bottom which isn't there if I cast from Youtube. I tried changing all the Chromecast extension options and Tv aspect ratio setting, but had no success. It would be awesome if you can offer some advice.

Thanks again!
Go into Options of the Googlecast ext on your Browser
Select Full screen zoom and make sure it is enabled.

But there will always be some content that doesn't format the screen properly and will give you black bars...
 
rozzerhmq
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx View Post
Go into Options of the Googlecast ext on your Browser
Select Full screen zoom and make sure it is enabled.

But there will always be some content that doesn't format the screen properly and will give you black bars...
Well, after all, it was too early to call it a success.

So earlier today, I wasn't able to discover Chromecast from my PC(It says something like "device missing" in Chromecast extension). However, my TV shows Chromecast is connected to my network, and the light on Chromecast is stable white. Then, I tried to reboot my router, and that fixed it. This is basically similar to the issues i had in the past where i could just fix Chromecast connection by randomly rebooting router and resetting Chromecast.

I was skeptical and decided to revert my changes on VPN firewalls. After a router reboot, Chromecast still worked!!

At this point, I don't think it's the VPN firewall settings that is causing this issue. This issue looks so random. I would try to go dd-wrt next and hopefully it will fix this issue properly.
 
Asphyx
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 1,431
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rozzerhmq View Post
Well, after all, it was too early to call it a success.

So earlier today, I wasn't able to discover Chromecast from my PC(It says something like "device missing" in Chromecast extension). However, my TV shows Chromecast is connected to my network, and the light on Chromecast is stable white. Then, I tried to reboot my router, and that fixed it. This is basically similar to the issues i had in the past where i could just fix Chromecast connection by randomly rebooting router and resetting Chromecast.

I was skeptical and decided to revert my changes on VPN firewalls. After a router reboot, Chromecast still worked!!

At this point, I don't think it's the VPN firewall settings that is causing this issue. This issue looks so random. I would try to go dd-wrt next and hopefully it will fix this issue properly.
You mention DD-Wrt are you using that?
Cause I notice most people having these issues seem to be using DD-WRT or Tomato and I'm starting to wonder if perhaps there is some issues with those Custom Firmwares being used.

I do know in the past before I Upgraded my router that I had problems with devices getting booted off the WiFi because I had too many devices connecting and it would seem that when a new device would connect, one would stop getting data despite the fact it said it was connected.

Now this shouldn't ever be the case with WiFi if it has an IP it should not have a limit but I am wondering if your experiencing what I was experiencing before I Upgraded....

Not suggesting you need to upgrade mind you just that what your going through sounds similar to what I went through.
When I bought the new router (LinkSys N900) the Box had this chart of Router Groups and which router was best for X number of devices.
Low end for less than 3, High end for 7+ with the last group being for 7+ and HD.

This chart went against what I believed I knew about WiFi limitations which I thought was only IP and DHCP based...
I wrote it off as pure Marketing with the intention of getting you to buy the most expensive router they had...(which I was going to do anyway LOL)
I'm starting to wonder if maybe there is something to that....Sure would explain my problems with the router that made me upgrade in the first place.
 
nervdoc
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jul 2005
I'm having the same issues with my chromecast and a tp-link wdr4300 router on dd-wrt (latest build from 2014-02).
After either chromecast or router (wi-fi) restart I'm able to cast and chromecast is also shown in chromecast app.

But after some idling (without casting) chromecast is still connected to my wi-fi (ping responses) but I'm not able to cast anything (music, allcast etc..) anymore.
I have already tried enabling/disabling UPNP, changing wi-fi channels, etc

Doesn't look like just a wi-fi issue only, as chromecast is still connected to my wi-fi.
but still could this be related to the Atheros chipset used in the wdr4300 maybe?
Any other routers with atheros chipset running without problems?
 
bhiga
Old
#16  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 565
Posts: 1,594
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Try installing Bonjour Browser or another mDNS browser and monitor what happens in local._googlecast._tcp
Also check router security and firewall logs to see if things are being blocked corresponding to when the mDNS broadcasts fall off.

Sent from a device with no keyboard. Please forgive typos, they may not be my own.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
nervdoc
Old
(Last edited by nervdoc; 5th March 2014 at 01:07 PM.)
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jul 2005
Seems to be good now for my setup.

I had installed a bonjour browser but couldn't see anything special.
local._googlecast._tcp was present all the time even though I couldn't cast.

I have changed the router firmware from dd-wrt (02-19-2014-r23598) to a self compiled OpenWrt (Barrier Breaker r39770).
I have been able to cast now stable for 4 days. Never had that before on dd-wrt.
 
bhiga
Old
#18  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 565
Posts: 1,594
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nervdoc View Post
Seems to be good now for my setup.

I had installed a bonjour browser but couldn't see anything special.
local._googlecast._tcp was present all the time even though I couldn't cast.

I have changed the router firmware from dd-wrt (02-19-2014-r23598) to a self compiled OpenWrt (Barrier Breaker r39770).
I have been able to cast now stable for 4 days. Never had that before on dd-wrt.
Thanks for the update. Good to know that OpenWRT is working for you.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
cmonsterf50
Old
#19  
cmonsterf50's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 280
Posts: 597
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
I have the same router. Don't recall having any issues on stock firmware. I'm on ddwrt now.

Did that as I plan on converting to extender when I move to the AC router soon.

I can only imagine the Chromecast didn't like something in your settings.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Current Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S4 - White (Sprint)
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - White (2012)
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 (T217S)
Google ChromeCast

Super Moderator - themikmik.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Retired Devices:
Nexus 7 (2012)
HTC Evo LTE
Kindle Fire HD
HTC Evo 4G
BlackBerry 8330

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more