FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Why do ota updates brick devices

7th March 2014, 06:34 AM |#1  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices
 
 
7th March 2014, 06:39 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices

Its not a matter of ill-will on Lg's part, its incompatability of the roms and the components that they are updating.
7th March 2014, 06:40 AM |#3  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 06:48 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

I i think they know what they are doing. You should never take an ota when rooted.
7th March 2014, 06:52 AM |#5  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 06:54 AM |#6  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 07:31 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Think of it this way: If you put then engine of a Corolla into a Prius, it wont work. Not only is it not the right size, but all the belts, cables, wires, tubes and battery are not compatible with that engine, unless you modify all those components.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes