Unofficial Android 5.1 for Samsung Galaxy Note 4

The Qualcomm edition of the Samsung Galaxy Note 4 is another device that received … more

Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more

Has ART Made a Noticeable Jump in App Performance?

We’ve received mixed reports about switching to ART but it seems that the … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge Drop Test

The Samsung Galaxy S6 and Galaxy S6 Edge are already proving to be amongst the head turners of 2015. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Why do ota updates brick devices

7th March 2014, 06:34 AM   |  #1  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices
7th March 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices

Its not a matter of ill-will on Lg's part, its incompatability of the roms and the components that they are updating.
7th March 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #3  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

I i think they know what they are doing. You should never take an ota when rooted.
7th March 2014, 06:52 AM   |  #5  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 06:54 AM   |  #6  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 07:31 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Think of it this way: If you put then engine of a Corolla into a Prius, it wont work. Not only is it not the right size, but all the belts, cables, wires, tubes and battery are not compatible with that engine, unless you modify all those components.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes