Google Announces Plans for Projects Titan, Loon and Link

The post Google Announces Plans for Projects Titan, Loon and Link appeared first on … more

Here’s What the HTC One M9 Camera Can Do

more

Get S6 Edge’s Notifications with Edge Color Notification

The post Get S6 Edge’s Notifications with Edge Color Notification … more

Intel at MWC 2015: New Chip Branding and Details

more
Post Reply

Why do ota updates brick devices

OP spinninbsod

7th March 2014, 07:34 AM   |  #1  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices
7th March 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices

Its not a matter of ill-will on Lg's part, its incompatability of the roms and the components that they are updating.
7th March 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #3  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 07:48 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

I i think they know what they are doing. You should never take an ota when rooted.
7th March 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #5  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #6  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 85
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 08:31 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Think of it this way: If you put then engine of a Corolla into a Prius, it wont work. Not only is it not the right size, but all the belts, cables, wires, tubes and battery are not compatible with that engine, unless you modify all those components.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes