Verizon Allows Customers to Opt Out of Supercookies

Following the controversy that Verizon’s zombie “supercookies” … more

Note 3 Camera Mod Brings You Multi DPI

This mod for the Note 3 (SM-N9005) camera will give you multi DPI support as well as lift the … more

Titanium Backup 7.0.0 APK

This latest version of Titanium Backup can now store backups on any DocumentsProvider on Lollipop, and can now … more

Xperia AOSP Full Device Encryption Now Possible

Sony just announced that of today, full device encryption is possible to build from open … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Why do ota updates brick devices

OP spinninbsod

7th March 2014, 07:34 AM   |  #1  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 82
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices
7th March 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

I know updates brick this phone is it just me or does it seem wrong for lg to brick devices not even samknox would stoop that low they will just patch root oh and how exactly does it brick devices

Its not a matter of ill-will on Lg's part, its incompatability of the roms and the components that they are updating.
7th March 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #3  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 82
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 07:48 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

So lg pretty much has no idea what they are doing

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

I i think they know what they are doing. You should never take an ota when rooted.
7th March 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #5  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 82
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #6  
spinninbsod's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag new york city
Thanks Meter: 82
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely not a good idea all the threads about took ota rooted and now no recovery no download mode

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
7th March 2014, 08:31 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod

Most definitely proves its a bad idea thanks now I understand a little bit more about why this happens

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Think of it this way: If you put then engine of a Corolla into a Prius, it wont work. Not only is it not the right size, but all the belts, cables, wires, tubes and battery are not compatible with that engine, unless you modify all those components.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes