Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stuck at Samsung Logo -- SDHC Card Problem

OP les_garten

6th March 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #1  
les_garten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 181
 
940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
The day I got my 2014 Note, I put a "Team" MicroHD card in it. The device worked fine, but a reboot got it stuck at the Samsung Logo. I played around with it and somehow it booted and I didn't think about it again till yesterday, now some months later. I just figured it was new and "glitched".

Yesterday, I did a reboot and once again stuck at the Samsung logo. I could get into recovery and Download easily. I am not rooted, all stock.

I finally saw something about SD cards, pulled my card and it rebooted. Then I restarted again, no problems.

Put he card back in and stuck at boot Logo, regular as clockwork.

so some questions:

1) Can I just pull the data off and put on a new card and everything will work fine on it? I had moved a lot of programs to the SD card.

2) Should I move the data to the device and onto the new card? I'm worried about symbolic links and such. I don't know if pulling off to a windows machine would screw up permissions and what not. Maybe that doen't matter on the card since it is FAT32 anyhow?

3) This card "works" fine once the system is up and it is inserted, anyway to fix that do you think?
Last edited by les_garten; 6th March 2014 at 05:00 PM.
6th March 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 130
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by les_garten

The day I got my 2014 Note, I put a "Team" MicroHD card in it. The device worked fine, but a reboot got it stuck at the Samsung Logo. I played around with it and somehow it booted and I didn't think about it again till yesterday, now some months later. I just figured it was new and "glitched".

Yesterday, I did a reboot and once again stuck at the Samsung logo. I could get into recovery and Download easily. I am not rooted, all stock.

I finally saw something about SD cards, pulled my card and it rebooted. Then I restarted again, no problems.

Put he card back in and stuck at boot Logo, regular as clockwork.

so some questions:

1) Can I just pull the data off and put on a new card and everything will work fine on it? I had moved a lot of programs to the SD card.

2) Should I move the data to the device and onto the new card? I'm worried about symbolic links and such. I don't know if pulling off to a windows machine would screw up permissions and what not. Maybe that doen't matter on the card since it is FAT32 anyhow?

3) This card "works" fine once the system is up and it is inserted, anyway to fix that do you think?

Try downloading sd booster, and select your internal memory at boot up

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
6th March 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #3  
les_garten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 181
 
940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubenskelly1992

Try downloading sd booster, and select your internal memory at boot up

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I'm not following ya here, can you elaborate on why this would work?

EDIT: Just noticed it needs ROOT to run
6th March 2014, 10:30 PM   |  #4  
les_garten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 181
 
940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Well, I'm in a much different place now.

I rooted and installed TWRP.

The SD Booster didn't help.

No matter what I did, there was one gig of data that was on the card that the OS didn't "see" properly.

This data was the data put there by the OS when I went thru and did a lot of "Move to SD Card" actions. I could see the files in Windows but not in Android by any of the Rooted FileManagers.

So I went into TWRP and wiped that disk and Formatted it. Now the system will boot with the card in and I did a Nandroid backup in TWRP to make sure it was working OK and booted with Data on it.
7th March 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 130
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by les_garten

Well, I'm in a much different place now.

I rooted and installed TWRP.

The SD Booster didn't help.

No matter what I did, there was one gig of data that was on the card that the OS didn't "see" properly.

This data was the data put there by the OS when I went thru and did a lot of "Move to SD Card" actions. I could see the files in Windows but not in Android by any of the Rooted FileManagers.

So I went into TWRP and wiped that disk and Formatted it. Now the system will boot with the card in and I did a Nandroid backup in TWRP to make sure it was working OK and booted with Data on it.

I had the same problem, my n understanding is when it boots up for some reason the tablet looks for its system files on the wrong memory , I.e the sd card . It doesn't find it but keeps trying therefore stuck on a loop. I downloaded sd boosted, put the cache up and selected the option for the internal memory to be used at boot





Quote:
Originally Posted by les_garten

I'm not following ya here, can you elaborate on why this would work?

EDIT: Just noticed it needs ROOT to run



Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:45 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by les_garten

Well, I'm in a much different place now.

I rooted and installed TWRP.

The SD Booster didn't help.

No matter what I did, there was one gig of data that was on the card that the OS didn't "see" properly.

This data was the data put there by the OS when I went thru and did a lot of "Move to SD Card" actions. I could see the files in Windows but not in Android by any of the Rooted FileManagers.

So I went into TWRP and wiped that disk and Formatted it. Now the system will boot with the card in and I did a Nandroid backup in TWRP to make sure it was working OK and booted with Data on it.



Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th March 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 130
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Just in case here instruction, I set both memory's to 512mbu

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394160682005.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	66.2 KB
ID:	2617653  
7th March 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #7  
les_garten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 181
 
940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubenskelly1992

Just in case here instruction, I set both memory's to 512mbu

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yeah, I had tried that with no luck. I think it may have been moving a lot to the SD card thru the manage apps aplet.
7th March 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #8  
kkretch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag near Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 419
 
898 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by les_garten

Yeah, I had tried that with no luck. I think it may have been moving a lot to the SD card thru the manage apps aplet.

What size is this card and what file system format did you use? Can you also tell us what class the card is also.
7th March 2014, 05:27 AM   |  #9  
les_garten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 181
 
940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkretch

What size is this card and what file system format did you use? Can you also tell us what class the card is also.

it is 64gb and class 10.

I just formatted it in TWRP
7th March 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 130
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I'd say check if it's the same with a different sd card, think generally SanDisk or samsung are the best to use

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes