Post Reply

[Q] Cannot resolve hosts in Terminal

OP gorei23

6th March 2014, 01:32 PM   |  #1  
gorei23's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 49
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I can't seem to find a solution for this, but Internet access from within the Android shell was working for a few days, but now it just won't.
Ping google.com gives an unkown host error.

nslookup google.com is the same.

nslookup google.com 8.8.8.8 Does work, spits out 7 lines of DNS... stuff.

I tried looking for /etc/resolv.conf but there's not one there. Internet access outside the shell works fine.

Is there a fix for this? I'm running stock GB27 completely untouched other than root and Agat's kernel.
7th March 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #2  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 28,134
 
15,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorei23

I can't seem to find a solution for this, but Internet access from within the Android shell was working for a few days, but now it just won't.
Ping google.com gives an unkown host error.

nslookup google.com is the same.

nslookup google.com 8.8.8.8 Does work, spits out 7 lines of DNS... stuff.

I tried looking for /etc/resolv.conf but there's not one there. Internet access outside the shell works fine.

Is there a fix for this? I'm running stock GB27 completely untouched other than root and Agat's kernel.

You can create a resolv.conf if there isn't one, though I don't know if that would fix your problem. Also I notice the you wrote nslookup, shouldn't it be dnslookup?

Last edited by bilgerryan; 7th March 2014 at 12:08 PM.
7th March 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #3  
gorei23's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 49
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan

You can create a resolv.conf if there isn't one, though I don't know if that would fix your problem. Also I notice the you wrote nslookup, shouldn't it be dnslookup?


Sorry, typo.
What's the syntax for the resolv.conf?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes