Post Reply

[DEV] Camera driver for 3.x kernel with ION support

7th March 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #81  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMeToo

I have posted in milaq's thread that I've installed the 0306 update. The camera is working but ...

1. As Dorregaray posted above, "please provide the logcat from taking picture."

2. It's strange you observe the full launch of the native camera app. I continue to observe "can't connect to the camera" for the native cam app.

In Settings > Apps >Camera, what version number to you observe? Mine is:
"com.netco.camera version 1.0"

I've assumed this "native app" is the camera app provided by CyanogenMod in the CM11-3.0kernel build. At least I did not install on my own. Or is it possible the camera app is a custom add-on app by Milaq?

In Settings > Apps >Camera, Cache shows 12.00KB. When I click clear cache button, I observe no response.
Last edited by woodytrain; 7th March 2014 at 04:41 AM.
7th March 2014, 07:42 AM   |  #82  
OP Senior Member
Flag Katowice
Thanks Meter: 1,059
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moody66

Could this article she'd some light onto the camera issues? Specifically the battery issue. http://www.ibtimes.com/google-workin...-chips-1559771

No, we're using older camera api and have no mm-qcamera-daemon. The mm-qcamera-daemon is used for V4L2 version of camera hal. IMHO this is very weird app - it seems to connect to the camera kernel driver at startup and keeps the connection for all the time even you're not using camera. This may lead to some issues similar to the one I have in my camerahal and draining the battery. Fortunately for Touchpad it has been fixed.
The Following User Says Thank You to _Dorregaray_ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th March 2014, 07:46 AM   |  #83  
OP Senior Member
Flag Katowice
Thanks Meter: 1,059
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodytrain

Thanks. See attached:

Thanks. It seems that the native_jpeg_encode function failed:
Code:
03-06 16:39:52.313 I/mm-still(  147): jpege_set_destination: invalid outpt buffer
03-06 16:39:52.323 E/QualcommCameraHardware(  147): native_jpeg_encode: jpeg_encoder_encode failed.
03-06 16:39:52.323 E/QualcommCameraHardware(  147): jpeg encoding failed
03-06 16:39:52.323 I/QualcommCameraHardware(  147): Unregister MAIN_IMG
edit: it seems that milaq is using wrong camera blobs.

so if you're able to download the following libs:
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libgemini.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...ib/libmmipl.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libmmjpeg.so
and then upload to the /system/lib on the device replacing the original ones you should have camera taking pictures
Last edited by _Dorregaray_; 7th March 2014 at 02:03 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to _Dorregaray_ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th March 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #84  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodytrain

In Settings > Apps >Camera, what version number to you observe? Mine is:
"com.netco.camera version 1.0"

I've assumed this "native app" is the camera app provided by CyanogenMod in the CM11-3.0kernel build. At least I did not install on my own. Or is it possible the camera app is a custom add-on app by Milaq?

In Settings > Apps >Camera, Cache shows 12.00KB. When I click clear cache button, I observe no response.

Mine is the app that came with the ROM update, so it's 'native' and it's version 2.0.002, Cash is 12.00KB.

---------- Post added at 08:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dorregaray_

edit: it seems that milaq is using wrong camera blobs.

so if you're able to download the following libs:
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libgemini.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...ib/libmmipl.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libmmjpeg.so
and then upload to the /system/lib on the device replacing the original ones you should have camera taking pictures

I replaced the files in milaq's ROM with the above and now I too get the 'Can't connect to the Camera' error. I would have posted the catalogs but I don't remember how to find them. I know the OP (I think it was him) posted once how to do it but I didn't really pay attention to the post and now I can't find where I saw it.
7th March 2014, 05:37 PM   |  #85  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dorregaray_

Thanks. It seems that the native_jpeg_encode function failed:

Code:
03-06 16:39:52.313 I/mm-still(  147): jpege_set_destination: invalid outpt buffer
03-06 16:39:52.323 E/QualcommCameraHardware(  147): native_jpeg_encode: jpeg_encoder_encode failed.
03-06 16:39:52.323 E/QualcommCameraHardware(  147): jpeg encoding failed
03-06 16:39:52.323 I/QualcommCameraHardware(  147): Unregister MAIN_IMG
edit: it seems that milaq is using wrong camera blobs.

so if you're able to download the following libs:
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libgemini.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...ib/libmmipl.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libmmjpeg.so
and then upload to the /system/lib on the device replacing the original ones you should have camera taking pictures

Works! Thanks.

Make sure you set permissions and reboot.

Sent from my TouchPad using Tapatalk
8th March 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #86  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMeToo

Mine is the app that came with the ROM update, so it's 'native' and it's version 2.0.002, Cash is 12.00KB.

Thanks. Strange I have an old 'native' camera version. I just uninstalled it and hope the next nightly I flash will install a newer version. And will scan through my various apps directories to see what may be lurking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustMeToo

I would have posted the catalogs but I don't remember how to find them.

It's "catlog". Google Play Store has a free 'Catlog' app that works well.

---------- Post added at 04:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:22 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dorregaray_

edit: it seems that milaq is using wrong camera blobs.

so if you're able to download the following libs:
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libgemini.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...ib/libmmipl.so
https://github.com/TheMuppets/propri...b/libmmjpeg.so
and then upload to the /system/lib on the device replacing the original ones you should have camera taking pictures

Will do tomorrow. A kind thanks for the continued support in solving camera issues!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in TouchPad Development by ThreadRank