Post Reply

I'm S-OFFed and SuperCID. Can I flash any rom now?

OP Bllooi

9th March 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 46
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hey,

Bit of a newb at this S-OFF stuff right now so could anyone care to explain?

Since im SuperCIDed, can I let's say flash a GPe Rom on my HTC one? How does it work? Can anyone explain?

Many thanks

Happy Flashing Sent from a proud owner of the HTC One.
9th March 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #2  
squabbi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 912
 
1,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi

Hey,

Bit of a newb at this S-OFF stuff right now so could anyone care to explain?

Since im SuperCIDed, can I let's say flash a GPe Rom on my HTC one? How does it work? Can anyone explain?

Many thanks

Happy Flashing Sent from a proud owner of the HTC One.

Do you mean you just want to flash a Rom? Or a full conversion to GPe?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
9th March 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 46
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by squabbi

Do you mean you just want to flash a Rom? Or a full conversion to GPe?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

As in just like a GPe ROM
9th March 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #4  
pardoned's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belfast
Thanks Meter: 511
 
1,982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi

Hey,

Bit of a newb at this S-OFF stuff right now so could anyone care to explain?

Since im SuperCIDed, can I let's say flash a GPe Rom on my HTC one? How does it work? Can anyone explain?

Many thanks

Happy Flashing Sent from a proud owner of the HTC One.

Yes. You can flash any ROM now - regardless of region. Doesn't matter if it's CM11, GPE, SENSE, AOKP etc.

The CID number determines what region the phone was bought in, and will only allow other ROMs or OTAs from that region to be flashed to the phone. Now that you've made your phone super cid it means you've no limits to what ROMs you can flash.

This is in layman's terms though, since I'm no developer. Hope I've made some kind of sense.

Sent from my CyanogenModded HTC One, using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to pardoned For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #5  
squabbi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 912
 
1,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi

As in just like a GPe ROM

Oh yeah that's very easy. I dint think you would of needed super cid but it's good to have.

Just flash a recovery from the boot loader and copy the GPe rom to your phone and flash!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to squabbi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 46
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by squabbi

Oh yeah that's very easy. I dint think you would of needed super cid but it's good to have.

Just flash a recovery from the boot loader and copy the GPe rom to your phone and flash!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Quote:
Originally Posted by pardoned

Yes. You can flash any ROM now - regardless of region. Doesn't matter if it's CM11, GPE, SENSE, AOKP etc.

The CID number determines what region the phone was bought in, and will only allow other ROMs or OTAs from that region to be flashed to the phone. Now that you've made your phone super cid it means you've no limits to what ROMs you can flash.

This is in layman's terms though, since I'm no developer. Hope I've made some kind of sense.

Sent from my CyanogenModded HTC One, using Tapatalk

Thanks for the awesome explanation guys really helped
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes