Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,888 Members 36,340 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I'm S-OFFed and SuperCID. Can I flash any rom now?

Tip us?
 
Bllooi
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 220
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Default I'm S-OFFed and SuperCID. Can I flash any rom now?

Hey,

Bit of a newb at this S-OFF stuff right now so could anyone care to explain?

Since im SuperCIDed, can I let's say flash a GPe Rom on my HTC one? How does it work? Can anyone explain?

Many thanks

Happy Flashing Sent from a proud owner of the HTC One.
Devices : HTC One (Current), Galaxy S4, Galaxy Camera, HTC One X+, HTC Sensation, IPhone 3GS
ROM: ROM: Bouncing from ROM to ROM.
Kernal: STi V19
shenweilooi@gmail.com
Add Me As A Friend On Steam! CLICK HERE [/COLOR]
HIT ME UP WITH A THANKS
 
squabbi
Old
#2  
squabbi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 879
Posts: 1,058
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi View Post
Hey,

Bit of a newb at this S-OFF stuff right now so could anyone care to explain?

Since im SuperCIDed, can I let's say flash a GPe Rom on my HTC one? How does it work? Can anyone explain?

Many thanks

Happy Flashing Sent from a proud owner of the HTC One.
Do you mean you just want to flash a Rom? Or a full conversion to GPe?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Check out my YouTube channel! http://www.youtube.com/maowdroid


Devices:
HTC One Mate 16GB Refurbished - Stock Telstra
 
Bllooi
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 220
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by squabbi View Post
Do you mean you just want to flash a Rom? Or a full conversion to GPe?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
As in just like a GPe ROM
Devices : HTC One (Current), Galaxy S4, Galaxy Camera, HTC One X+, HTC Sensation, IPhone 3GS
ROM: ROM: Bouncing from ROM to ROM.
Kernal: STi V19
shenweilooi@gmail.com
Add Me As A Friend On Steam! CLICK HERE [/COLOR]
HIT ME UP WITH A THANKS
 
pardoned
Old
#4  
pardoned's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 510
Posts: 1,982
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi View Post
Hey,

Bit of a newb at this S-OFF stuff right now so could anyone care to explain?

Since im SuperCIDed, can I let's say flash a GPe Rom on my HTC one? How does it work? Can anyone explain?

Many thanks

Happy Flashing Sent from a proud owner of the HTC One.
Yes. You can flash any ROM now - regardless of region. Doesn't matter if it's CM11, GPE, SENSE, AOKP etc.

The CID number determines what region the phone was bought in, and will only allow other ROMs or OTAs from that region to be flashed to the phone. Now that you've made your phone super cid it means you've no limits to what ROMs you can flash.

This is in layman's terms though, since I'm no developer. Hope I've made some kind of sense.

Sent from my CyanogenModded HTC One, using Tapatalk
HTC One M8, completely stock for once.

 
Timeline of phones:
HTC One M7, Nexus 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC Sensation, HTC Desire HD, HTC Desire, iPhone 3G, Nokia N95 8GB, Sony Ericsson K800i, some other Sony Ericsson walkman phone, Nokia 3310, Nokia 6110


Dont forget to hit "Thanks" if I helped at all. It's appreciated!
The Following User Says Thank You to pardoned For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
squabbi
Old
#5  
squabbi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 879
Posts: 1,058
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bllooi View Post
As in just like a GPe ROM
Oh yeah that's very easy. I dint think you would of needed super cid but it's good to have.

Just flash a recovery from the boot loader and copy the GPe rom to your phone and flash!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Check out my YouTube channel! http://www.youtube.com/maowdroid


Devices:
HTC One Mate 16GB Refurbished - Stock Telstra
The Following User Says Thank You to squabbi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Bllooi
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 220
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by squabbi View Post
Oh yeah that's very easy. I dint think you would of needed super cid but it's good to have.

Just flash a recovery from the boot loader and copy the GPe rom to your phone and flash!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by pardoned View Post
Yes. You can flash any ROM now - regardless of region. Doesn't matter if it's CM11, GPE, SENSE, AOKP etc.

The CID number determines what region the phone was bought in, and will only allow other ROMs or OTAs from that region to be flashed to the phone. Now that you've made your phone super cid it means you've no limits to what ROMs you can flash.

This is in layman's terms though, since I'm no developer. Hope I've made some kind of sense.

Sent from my CyanogenModded HTC One, using Tapatalk
Thanks for the awesome explanation guys really helped
Devices : HTC One (Current), Galaxy S4, Galaxy Camera, HTC One X+, HTC Sensation, IPhone 3GS
ROM: ROM: Bouncing from ROM to ROM.
Kernal: STi V19
shenweilooi@gmail.com
Add Me As A Friend On Steam! CLICK HERE [/COLOR]
HIT ME UP WITH A THANKS
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule Is Up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more