Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

New to G Pro not sure about a few things

OP optimusv45

9th March 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #1  
optimusv45's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntington, WV
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Coming from att optimus g. I see a lot of mentions of baseband , what is it ? Are e988 roms be used on e980 ?
9th March 2014, 06:35 PM   |  #2  
Nigglenuts's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 104
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimusv45

Coming from att optimus g. I see a lot of mentions of baseband , what is it ? Are e988 roms be used on e980 ?

You can use the e988 ROMs on an e980 with no issues. As for the baseband, you might have to flash the BM9615a baseband, or suffer from no deep sleep

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Nigglenuts For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th March 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #3  
optimusv45's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntington, WV
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigglenuts

You can use the e988 ROMs on an e980 with no issues. As for the baseband, you might have to flash the BM9615a baseband, or suffer from no deep sleep

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app

What is baseband ? Is it like radio and modem ?
9th March 2014, 07:16 PM   |  #4  
Nigglenuts's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 104
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimusv45

What is baseband ? Is it like radio and modem ?

Yes, its a modem.

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
9th March 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #5  
optimusv45's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntington, WV
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigglenuts

Yes, its a modem.

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app

Usually someone would create a thread to include all the available radios/modem/baseband...(why call different names when all the same) do we have a thread like that here ?

Edit: found att radio from houstonns thread
Last edited by optimusv45; 9th March 2014 at 09:09 PM.
9th March 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #6  
optimusv45's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntington, WV
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I saw a guide for lg flash tool but can't find it now anymore. Can someone that knows where its at give me a link to it ?

Edit : found it , nevermind
9th March 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #7  
Nigglenuts's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 104
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by optimusv45

I saw a guide for lg flash tool but can't find it now anymore. Can someone that knows where its at give me a link to it ?

Edit : found it , nevermind

You can just flash a zip. Why use the flash tool?

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
9th March 2014, 11:44 PM   |  #8  
optimusv45's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntington, WV
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigglenuts

You can just flash a zip. Why use the flash tool?

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app

Again I'm new to the device so don't know everything and all variants in one forum is very confusing. I guess when you don't have a working recovery or wanna go back to 100% stock
10th March 2014, 01:36 AM   |  #9  
Neroga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Cloud, Florida
Thanks Meter: 565
 
1,282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Use this recovery, here. Been using it since it's release and have had no flashing problems.
https://db.tt/bQeSgkEJ
Flash it in whatever recovery you're using then reboot into recovery and you're good to go.

Sent from my Carbon LG-E980
10th March 2014, 02:01 AM   |  #10  
optimusv45's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Huntington, WV
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neroga

Use this recovery, here. Been using it since it's release and have had no flashing problems.
https://db.tt/bQeSgkEJ
Flash it in whatever recovery you're using then reboot into recovery and you're good to go.

Sent from my Carbon LG-E980

I know with the optimus g, there are kitkat recovery and prior to kitkat recovery (excuse my lack of fancy terms)... Kitkat ones can't flash 4.3 and below roms, non-kitkat recoveries can't flash kitkat. Is it the same situation with G Pro ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes