Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,401 Members 44,693 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

safestrap modules?

Tip us?
 
Raymondlikesroot
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default safestrap modules?

Hi guys,

I want to make sure that I understand this correctly; Are the safestrap patches ONLY used for fixing the wifi?
 
mrgobstopper
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot View Post
Hi guys,

I want to make sure that I understand this correctly; Are the safestrap patches ONLY used for fixing the wifi?
Are you talking about when you install a rom and the wifi will not turn on?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
decaturbob
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 810
Posts: 2,385
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot View Post
Hi guys,

I want to make sure that I understand this correctly; Are the safestrap patches ONLY used for fixing the wifi?
they are required period....broken wifi is one element they fix
so long Verizon and my awesome S4 , hello TMO G3
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Raymondlikesroot
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
they are required period....broken wifi is one element they fix
oh um... yeah but I installed foxhound and it seems fine . I just wanted to see if I needed modules or not because I heard modules are required, but the foxhound developer says that we don't need it for foxhound rom. And so if my wifi works, i then know that i don't need to flash. I just don't want some other problem to come up because i didn't flash the modules. Thanks!!!
 
Raymondlikesroot
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgobstopper View Post
Are you talking about when you install a rom and the wifi will not turn on?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
yeah i just want to confirm i didn't need to flash modules if my wifi works to begin with.
 
k1mu
Old
#6  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,544
Posts: 1,908
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymondlikesroot View Post
yeah i just want to confirm i didn't need to flash modules if my wifi works to begin with.
It is possible to include the modules in the custom ROM image. Not typical, because the modules have to match the kernel, but it is possible.
If WiFi is working, you're probably ok.

Also, if you flash over the stock slot (bad!) then you already have the stock modules and don't need to re-flash.
My Android devices:
vzw Samsung Galaxy S4 stock NC5 rooted
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1, also stock but rooted.

VZ Droid Incredible 2 rooted but otherwise stock.
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes