Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,988 Members 44,858 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to change Recent Apps button to Menu button?

Tip us?
 
athanaso77
Old
#1  
athanaso77's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Area 51
Default How to change Recent Apps button to Menu button?

Has anyone tried to find a way to change the recent apps button to Menu button? I think that it is more convenient and the recent apps could pop up with long press of the button.
 
LordManhattan
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 5649
Posts: 15,002
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kepler-34b
No, because no one would want that (well, besides LG).

I guess you can root and use a navbar editor app and change it yourself.

Sent from my C6806_GPe using Tapatalk
 
Johnnynho
Old
(Last edited by Johnnynho; 12th March 2014 at 04:23 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 118
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanaso77 View Post
Has anyone tried to find a way to change the recent apps button to Menu button? I think that it is more convenient and the recent apps could pop up with long press of the button.
You need to be rooted.

1. Install Xposed Framework from here for Android 4.2 http://dl.xposed.info/latest.apk ,
Here for android 4.3/4.4 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=48484642 ,

2. Inside Xposed, install and enable GravityBox,

3. Open GravityBox, under Navigation Bar Tweaks, enable Master Switch,

4. Click back and search Navigation Key Actions,

5. Under Recent Key, you can change Single Tap action to "Show Menu",
Long Press action to "Recent apps",

6. Reboot, Done!
XDA
XDA2
XDA Exec
iPhone
iPhone4
Dell Streak 5
Galaxy Note
Galaxy Mega 6.3
Sony Z Ultra + Samsung Gear 2 Watch
The Following User Says Thank You to Johnnynho For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
athanaso77
Old
#4  
athanaso77's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Area 51
Thanks for the reply.

I have already tried that but with kitkat version of gravitybox cause I am on GPe rom but it does not work. Have you tried that with jb version and it works for you?
 
mathurmatt
Old
(Last edited by mathurmatt; 10th March 2014 at 12:29 PM.)
#5  
mathurmatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 173
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanaso77 View Post
Thanks for the reply.

I have already tried that but with kitkat version of gravitybox cause I am on GPe rom but it does not work. Have you tried that with jb version and it works for you?
Install softkeyZ APP go to install directory in sdcard then collection select the icon you want change and rename it to MENU or any key you want then select the key from the app ...........ALL DONE..........
 
athanaso77
Old
#6  
athanaso77's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Area 51
I am not sure I understood what you proposed to do.

Although I tried it but the only thing I managed to change is the icons only, not their function.
 
Johnnynho
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 118
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanaso77 View Post
Thanks for the reply.

I have already tried that but with kitkat version of gravitybox cause I am on GPe rom but it does not work. Have you tried that with jb version and it works for you?
I am on stock 4.3 and works perfectly. Not sure about GPe 4.4.

Other apps suchas softkeyz, UDN, GMD softkey, LMT launcher,... are all overlapping with keyboard when typing.

BTW, should press thanks button instead of saying it
XDA
XDA2
XDA Exec
iPhone
iPhone4
Dell Streak 5
Galaxy Note
Galaxy Mega 6.3
Sony Z Ultra + Samsung Gear 2 Watch
 
DorianNakamo
Old
(Last edited by DorianNakamo; 11th March 2014 at 10:26 AM.)
#8  
DorianNakamo's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014
GravityBox definitely works for remapping keys on a 4.3 rom ~ not sure about 4.4. I know xposed doesn't play nicely with ART, are you running dalvik or ART (if art that may be causing the issues).

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to DorianNakamo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
athanaso77
Old
(Last edited by athanaso77; 11th March 2014 at 11:42 PM.)
#9  
athanaso77's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 1,693
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Area 51
Yeap, my rom is ART compatible, so maybe this is the problem.

EDIT: Solution found in gravitybox forum... I had to enable master switch in Navigation bar tweaks!

Case closed!
The Following User Says Thank You to athanaso77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Johnnynho
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 118
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanaso77 View Post
Yeap, my rom is ART compatible, so maybe this is the problem.

EDIT: Solution found in gravitybox forum... I had to enable master switch in Navigation bar tweaks!

Case closed!
Good. I edited my post about that.

Gravitybox can even exchange the place of Back and Menu key. I came from Samsung phone and I am used to the Back key at the right side
XDA
XDA2
XDA Exec
iPhone
iPhone4
Dell Streak 5
Galaxy Note
Galaxy Mega 6.3
Sony Z Ultra + Samsung Gear 2 Watch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes