Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,614 Members 44,193 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Constantly losing cell service

Tip us?
 
MiuKing
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Constantly losing cell service

This problem suddenly came out of nowhere.

I've had the same rom (paranoid android 3.99 RC2) running on my phone for 6 months and everything works perfectly until one day as I'm driving home the GPS goes wonky.

I restart my phone and then boom, no cell service on my phone.

I tried to:

wipe cache, dalvik

shutdown and reboot multiple times,

install a fresh copy of the rom,

tried other roms,

made sure i wiped system and storage when flashing new rom,

and tried to insert, reinsert sim card multiple times.

Strangely enough when this problem happens, the home button laso seems to act like its unlocking the device...

What do you guys think?

I'm thinking maybe I got some water on my device and ended up having it seep into the home button and the back of the device.
 
Bajanman
Old
#2  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,948
Posts: 5,665
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Sounds like a modem issue, might just need updating to the latest for you device...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ

 
dicksteele
Old
#3  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,268
Posts: 2,141
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
This problem suddenly came out of nowhere.

I've had the same rom (paranoid android 3.99 RC2) running on my phone for 6 months and everything works perfectly until one day as I'm driving home the GPS goes wonky.

I restart my phone and then boom, no cell service on my phone.

I tried to:

wipe cache, dalvik

shutdown and reboot multiple times,

install a fresh copy of the rom,

tried other roms,

made sure i wiped system and storage when flashing new rom,

and tried to insert, reinsert sim card multiple times.

Strangely enough when this problem happens, the home button laso seems to act like its unlocking the device...

What do you guys think?

I'm thinking maybe I got some water on my device and ended up having it seep into the home button and the back of the device.
Agree with the updating modem?

Have you popped open the phone and checked the water indicators ? Check for water invasion, that would answer whether it's a factor or not.
"I suppose you could say that everyone has an El Guapo. For some, shyness may be an El Guapo. For others, lack of education may be an El Guapo. But for us, El Guapo is a large ugly man who wants to kill us!" But as sure as my name is Lucky Day, the people of Santa Poco can conquer their own personal El Guapo, who also happens to be *the actual* El Guapo! 3 Amigos
 
MiuKing
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Agree with the updating modem?

Have you popped open the phone and checked the water indicators ? Check for water invasion, that would answer whether it's a factor or not.

I flashed to the stock rom and unrooted, which flashed the UCALJ2 Modem. It's working fine now on Paranoid 3.60.

I downgraded to that one since I never had any troubles with that rom, I kinda liked that version anyway,

but if I get any issues I will post here again.
 
dicksteele
Old
#5  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,268
Posts: 2,141
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
I flashed to the stock rom and unrooted, which flashed the UCALJ2 Modem. It's working fine now on Paranoid 3.60.

I downgraded to that one since I never had any troubles with that rom, I kinda liked that version anyway,

but if I get any issues I will post here again.
Good deal.. I didn't mean to have a ? after Agree with flashing modem......

BTW, Baja has a great thread here....
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1987541

It has just the flashable modem zip's in there also.
"I suppose you could say that everyone has an El Guapo. For some, shyness may be an El Guapo. For others, lack of education may be an El Guapo. But for us, El Guapo is a large ugly man who wants to kill us!" But as sure as my name is Lucky Day, the people of Santa Poco can conquer their own personal El Guapo, who also happens to be *the actual* El Guapo! 3 Amigos
The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MiuKing
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Good deal.. I didn't mean to have a ? after Agree with flashing modem......

BTW, Baja has a great thread here....
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1987541

It has just the flashable modem zip's in there also.
That thread doesn't get updated often these days,

I317UCAMH3 , is the latest right?
 
dicksteele
Old
#7  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,268
Posts: 2,141
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
That thread doesn't get updated often these days,

I317UCAMH3 , is the latest right?
That part is. MK6 is latest from ATT 4.3 OTA

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
"I suppose you could say that everyone has an El Guapo. For some, shyness may be an El Guapo. For others, lack of education may be an El Guapo. But for us, El Guapo is a large ugly man who wants to kill us!" But as sure as my name is Lucky Day, the people of Santa Poco can conquer their own personal El Guapo, who also happens to be *the actual* El Guapo! 3 Amigos
 
Bajanman
Old
#8  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,948
Posts: 5,665
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
That thread doesn't get updated often these days,

I317UCAMH3 , is the latest right?
That's possibly because I have a lot going on. And I try my best to have it UPDATED with the latest stuff.
You wanna know when the last time I updated, then look at the top of the OP page. Updated yesterday btw
Modems are updated to the latest one....





Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
That part is. MK6 is latest from ATT 4.3 OTA

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
+1:thumbup:
Sometimes we all ASSUME

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ


The Following User Says Thank You to Bajanman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more