Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,216 Members 53,460 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Constantly losing cell service

Tip us?
 
MiuKing
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Constantly losing cell service

This problem suddenly came out of nowhere.

I've had the same rom (paranoid android 3.99 RC2) running on my phone for 6 months and everything works perfectly until one day as I'm driving home the GPS goes wonky.

I restart my phone and then boom, no cell service on my phone.

I tried to:

wipe cache, dalvik

shutdown and reboot multiple times,

install a fresh copy of the rom,

tried other roms,

made sure i wiped system and storage when flashing new rom,

and tried to insert, reinsert sim card multiple times.

Strangely enough when this problem happens, the home button laso seems to act like its unlocking the device...

What do you guys think?

I'm thinking maybe I got some water on my device and ended up having it seep into the home button and the back of the device.
 
Bajanman
Old
#2  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,097
Posts: 5,818
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Sounds like a modem issue, might just need updating to the latest for you device...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ

 
dicksteele
Old
#3  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,317
Posts: 2,224
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
This problem suddenly came out of nowhere.

I've had the same rom (paranoid android 3.99 RC2) running on my phone for 6 months and everything works perfectly until one day as I'm driving home the GPS goes wonky.

I restart my phone and then boom, no cell service on my phone.

I tried to:

wipe cache, dalvik

shutdown and reboot multiple times,

install a fresh copy of the rom,

tried other roms,

made sure i wiped system and storage when flashing new rom,

and tried to insert, reinsert sim card multiple times.

Strangely enough when this problem happens, the home button laso seems to act like its unlocking the device...

What do you guys think?

I'm thinking maybe I got some water on my device and ended up having it seep into the home button and the back of the device.
Agree with the updating modem?

Have you popped open the phone and checked the water indicators ? Check for water invasion, that would answer whether it's a factor or not.
"Spandex, it's a privilege. Not a right."
 
MiuKing
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Agree with the updating modem?

Have you popped open the phone and checked the water indicators ? Check for water invasion, that would answer whether it's a factor or not.

I flashed to the stock rom and unrooted, which flashed the UCALJ2 Modem. It's working fine now on Paranoid 3.60.

I downgraded to that one since I never had any troubles with that rom, I kinda liked that version anyway,

but if I get any issues I will post here again.
 
dicksteele
Old
#5  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,317
Posts: 2,224
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
I flashed to the stock rom and unrooted, which flashed the UCALJ2 Modem. It's working fine now on Paranoid 3.60.

I downgraded to that one since I never had any troubles with that rom, I kinda liked that version anyway,

but if I get any issues I will post here again.
Good deal.. I didn't mean to have a ? after Agree with flashing modem......

BTW, Baja has a great thread here....
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1987541

It has just the flashable modem zip's in there also.
"Spandex, it's a privilege. Not a right."
The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MiuKing
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Good deal.. I didn't mean to have a ? after Agree with flashing modem......

BTW, Baja has a great thread here....
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1987541

It has just the flashable modem zip's in there also.
That thread doesn't get updated often these days,

I317UCAMH3 , is the latest right?
 
dicksteele
Old
#7  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,317
Posts: 2,224
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
That thread doesn't get updated often these days,

I317UCAMH3 , is the latest right?
That part is. MK6 is latest from ATT 4.3 OTA

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
"Spandex, it's a privilege. Not a right."
 
Bajanman
Old
#8  
Bajanman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,097
Posts: 5,818
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles Ca.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiuKing View Post
That thread doesn't get updated often these days,

I317UCAMH3 , is the latest right?
That's possibly because I have a lot going on. And I try my best to have it UPDATED with the latest stuff.
You wanna know when the last time I updated, then look at the top of the OP page. Updated yesterday btw
Modems are updated to the latest one....





Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
That part is. MK6 is latest from ATT 4.3 OTA

Sent from my GT-N7105 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
+1:thumbup:
Sometimes we all ASSUME

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
I CAN'T PROMISE to fix all your problems but I CAN PROMISEyou won't face them alone.


Rom
[4.4.2]DN5v2
FAQ


The Following User Says Thank You to Bajanman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more