Post Reply

[Q] [!] High RAM usage on stock rom XT1033

OP jared.leto

10th March 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hello,
I got my MOTO G a few days back and the thing that irritates me the most is the high RAM usage (just a mere 330 MB left) when I switch it on.
I was wondering if anyone of you have experienced the same on the stock ROM (KitKat)?
If yes, then what did you do to have greater amount of RAM resources at your disposal? (Except flashing a new ROM or rooting the device, not so much into android modding)

Also, which apps would be safe to disable? Please share your views and solutions to this problem.

Regards.
Last edited by jared.leto; 10th March 2014 at 03:48 AM.
10th March 2014, 07:04 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jared.leto

Also, which apps would be safe to disable? Please share your views and solutions to this problem.
Regards.

That it's not a problem - a lot of that usage will be cached processes which Android can chuck out of memory as soon as it's needed for something else. And being cached in the background means those apps will be ever so slightly more responsive when they are launched

List of stuff you can disable?

Anything Google/Motorola which is user facing that you don't use ( I've got Google+, Hangouts, Chrome, Calculator, Play Books, Play Games, Play Movies and TV, Play Music, Email, Migrate, Assist and Help disabled on mine).
The Following User Says Thank You to neu - smurph For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th March 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neu - smurph

That it's not a problem - a lot of that usage will be cached processes which Android can chuck out of memory as soon as it's needed for something else. And being cached in the background means those apps will be ever so slightly more responsive when they are launched

List of stuff you can disable?

Anything Google/Motorola which is user facing that you don't use ( I've got Google+, Hangouts, Chrome, Calculator, Play Books, Play Games, Play Movies and TV, Play Music, Email, Migrate, Assist and Help disabled on mine).

To my knowledge, Android is indeed taking good care of its memory. Trying to keep the memory as full as possible. This is an other approach than Windows does.

Btw, apps that I disabled so far: CQATest, Google+, Help, Galery, Drive, Cloudprinter, Motorola assist, Google Play Books, Google Play Music, Motorola DriveActivator, Gmail, Motorola Migrate, Chrome, Google Text to Speech, Motorola Checkin, Translate, Google Play Games, Market feedback agent, Picasa uploader, Streetview, Audio effects, Spooler, Face unlock, HTML viewer, HP Printer Service-plugin and all the live wallpapers.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mickeyvdb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th March 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #4  
harishke's Avatar
Member
Flag new delhi
Thanks Meter: 11
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
use titanium backup and remove all gapps and motoapps,use cache cleaner you should have enough ram.I removed and having 550-600 free ram
Last edited by harishke; 10th March 2014 at 02:29 PM. Reason: screenshot
10th March 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #5  
kleytonhunter's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by harishke

use titanium backup and remove all gapps and motoapps,use cache cleaner you should have enough ram.I removed and having 550-600 free ram

sorry but,is your device rooted?
10th March 2014, 04:00 PM   |  #6  
adildroid29's Avatar
Member
Flag Soppeng City
Thanks Meter: 1
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
My Stock room is management Ram no problem...

Sent from MotoG
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1394463639617.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	2623378  
10th March 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
came across these posts :::

&
SATISFIED.

Thankyou everyone.
Last edited by jared.leto; 10th March 2014 at 05:04 PM.
10th March 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #8  
harishke's Avatar
Member
Flag new delhi
Thanks Meter: 11
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleytonhunter

sorry but,is your device rooted?

yes its rooted

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank