Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,051 Members 53,807 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help bootloop !!

Tip us?
 
max785
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Help bootloop !!

Hi ,

Today I rooted my htc one x. Everything was fine until I tried to install a new rom. After installing the rom with cwm the phone started to bootloop.

I used my restore and it worked. After that, I upgraded my version of cwm to the newest and tried to reinstalling the rom. I ended up in a bootloop again. But now after restoring my phone , I see htc quietly brilliant splash screen and after that I see this build is for developement purpose only ... in red. The screen goes black and the phone reboot. At the second reboot I see htc quietly brilliant and the screen goes black. I need to hold power button and volume down to make the phone restart.

Can someone help me ...
 
bmg002
Old
#2  
bmg002's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 453
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by max785 View Post
Hi ,

Today I rooted my htc one x. Everything was fine until I tried to install a new rom. After installing the rom with cwm the phone started to bootloop.

I used my restore and it worked. After that, I upgraded my version of cwm to the newest and tried to reinstalling the rom. I ended up in a bootloop again. But now after restoring my phone , I see htc quietly brilliant splash screen and after that I see this build is for developement purpose only ... in red. The screen goes black and the phone reboot. At the second reboot I see htc quietly brilliant and the screen goes black. I need to hold power button and volume down to make the phone restart.

Can someone help me ...
Try doing a full wipe and reinstall your rom. Make sure your cwm recovery is the latest version or cm11 will likely hilltop.
Full wipe is required when changing roms.
Also check the forum for install instructions and follow them the letter

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda app-developers app
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Three hams will fill him, three hams will thrill him, Why don't you feed him, three hams!
- Thundercleese (in Brak's head)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
max785
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmg002 View Post
Try doing a full wipe and reinstall your rom. Make sure your cwm recovery is the latest version or cm11 will likely hilltop.
Full wipe is required when changing roms.
Also check the forum for install instructions and follow them the letter

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda app-developers app
Full wipe in cwm ?

Yes but now i don't have access to sd card to put a new rom ...
 
timmaaa
Old
#4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5289
Posts: 11,407
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Read the Evita FAQ thread in my signature, the answer to your problem lies within.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita | CandyKat | Torched KK
S-off | 2.18 | TWRP 2.7.1.0
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
bmg002
Old
#5  
bmg002's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 453
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by max785 View Post
Full wipe in cwm ?

Yes but now i don't have access to sd card to put a new rom ...
sounds like an outdated recovery OR improperly formatted SD card. I usually use TWRP, but I imagine CWM has something like a "mount" option? Can you go in there and double check that external SD card is selected? If it is, and you are on the latest recovery, I recommend reformatting the SD card to FAT32 (just in case the partition type is wrong... exFAT I think is flaky support and NTFS is not supported... not sure where ext3/ext4 sits with recovery... never tried).
failing that, your SD card may be too big. if it is 64 GB or larger, it may not be supported on your phone in recovery.
I haven't used CWM in a long time as TWRP seemed to work for me and I liked the touch interface. Mind you CWM has had a touch interface for a while,but the ROMs by pmtr3 stated that TWRP was required and I didn't want to question a dev on that, so I switched and haven't looked back.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Three hams will fill him, three hams will thrill him, Why don't you feed him, three hams!
- Thundercleese (in Brak's head)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes