Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,372 Members 39,207 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Mount /system rw using terminal.

Tip us?
 
cmlusco
Old
#1  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Mount /system rw using terminal.

I have been trying for hours now to remount the /system partition rw using terminal emulator with no luck. I can do it just fine using root explorer, but thats not what im after. Im trying to make it so that system is mounted rw on boot. But every command i have known to work in the past, and every one i found thru googling has not worked. The command finishes with no errors, but /system is still ro. I even went as far as to unpack the boot img and change /system to be rw on mount. But again when i boot up /system is still ro. Its like something is protecting it or remounting it ro again. By editing the boot.img i was able to mount the root directory (/) rw on boot, but doing the same edit to the /system mount point seems to have no effect. Anyone know what im missing here? I am s-off, unlocked, i have an insecure boot.img, i have root, i dont know how much more insecure my phone could be. If root explorer and other apps are able to do it, there has to be a way to do it thru a shell.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
brymaster5000
Old
(Last edited by brymaster5000; 11th March 2014 at 06:06 PM.)
#2  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1373
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco View Post
I have been trying for hours now to remount the /system partition rw using terminal emulator with no luck. I can do it just fine using root explorer, but thats not what im after. Im trying to make it so that system is mounted rw on boot. But every command i have known to work in the past, and every one i found thru googling has not worked. The command finishes with no errors, but /system is still ro. I even went as far as to unpack the boot img and change /system to be rw on mount. But again when i boot up /system is still ro. Its like something is protecting it or remounting it ro again. By editing the boot.img i was able to mount the root directory (/) rw on boot, but doing the same edit to the /system mount point seems to have no effect. Anyone know what im missing here? I am s-off, unlocked, i have an insecure boot.img, i have root, i dont know how much more insecure my phone could be. If root explorer and other apps are able to do it, there has to be a way to do it thru a shell.
Try this:

Create an executable script - like this one:
Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
# Make system rw
chmod 666 /system;
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p35", "/system");
Save it in your storage location as systemmount (or whatever).
  • Open terminal, type su.
  • Type:cd /sdcard/
  • Type: systemmount

Exit and see if that works. I have not tested it.

Like my work? Consider donating to my new phone fund...


Device:
HTC One vzw

https://github.com/brymaster5000
AndroidFileHost

Android-Edge
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cmlusco
Old
#3  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks but no luck
Code:
exec /system/bin/sh '/storage/emulated/legacy/Download/scripts/00remount' 
/Download/scripts/00remount'                        <
Unable to chmod /system: Read-only file system
/storage/emulated/legacy/Download/scripts/00remount[4]: syntax error: '"ext4",' unexpected
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
brymaster5000
Old
#4  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1373
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Put the mount first before chmod. Delete ext4 and emmc

Sent from my Lunar Ecliptic One.

Like my work? Consider donating to my new phone fund...


Device:
HTC One vzw

https://github.com/brymaster5000
AndroidFileHost

Android-Edge
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cmlusco
Old
#5  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks, but i figured it out. It turns out the command i had used in the first place was correct. (mount -o remount,rw /system). After i ran the command i would check with root explorer to see if it worked, and it always showed it did not. But when you check it the correct way, the way i shoukd have been in the first place, by typing 'mount' in terminal it shows it did indeed get remounted rw. So its an issue with root explorer, not with the command i was using.

Incidently if you do the command 'mount' without su permission, it shows sysyem as ro, but if you do it under an su prompt it shows it as rw.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brymaster5000
Old
#6  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1373
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco View Post
Thanks, but i figured it out. It turns out the command i had used in the first place was correct. (mount -o remount,rw /system). After i ran the command i would check with root explorer to see if it worked, and it always showed it did not. But when you check it the correct way, the way i shoukd have been in the first place, by typing 'mount' in terminal it shows it did indeed get remounted rw. So its an issue with root explorer, not with the command i was using.

Incidently if you do the command 'mount' without su permission, it shows sysyem as ro, but if you do it under an su prompt it shows it as rw.
Nice work.

Sent from my Lunar Ecliptic One.

Like my work? Consider donating to my new phone fund...


Device:
HTC One vzw

https://github.com/brymaster5000
AndroidFileHost

Android-Edge
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes