XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S-OFF still possible anymore with latest phones?

OP xtacydima

5th March 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
BTW: I ended up using CM11. VERY GOOD!
8th March 2014, 07:11 AM   |  #32  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808phone

BTW: I ended up using CM11. VERY GOOD!

I'm on stock with SU enabled I would luv to see more screenshots of CM11, can you provide some.
pm me please if you can't post them for any reason
10th March 2014, 07:27 AM   |  #33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hmmm I cannot figure out how to take screen shots. Power+Home and Power+Vol Down doesn't work.
It was really easy to install CM11.
I had to install CWM instead of TWRP as TWRP kept giving me an error no matter which one I tried.
Once I did that, it installed very easily. I don't miss sense that much so it's fine for me.
10th March 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #34  
homeboy1956's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Herford
Thanks Meter: 191
 
416 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtacydima

I had a phone replacement done after my power button stopped working properly, and the latest phone comes with what appears to be the latest firmware and latest everything.

Is it possible to still get S-OFF anymore or did they disbale that all too well?

My phone info:
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.15.0000
RADIO-1.13.50.05.31
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Dec 14 2012,17:10:57:-1

I tried to downgrade via different RUU's to lower firmware's but the HBOOT and Radio versions stay, only the software version downgrades.

I can easily always get back to Unlock Recovery, install Teamwin, and SuperSU for stock ROM afterwards.

I have tried all of the following with no success:
-Moonshine
-Rumrunner
-Revone method
-FacePalm method

I am sure I am doing all the steps right, got latest HTC driver, only via USB2.0, NO AV, no Firewall, and it just won't work. The furthest I got was with Rumrunner and after pouring first time and a few extra steps I got a WTF are you doing message.

So is it possible anymore, anything else I can try, or is it a dead cause?



Thanks for any help!!!


I did S-Off with rumrunner on both devices, ville and ville C2 and it works.
then go back to stock flashing ICS-Tmobile RUU in fastboot. Flash TWRP 2.3.1 and any Custom rom. Give adb shell rootrights and run
rumrunner and it should work.

Dirk
10th March 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #35  
Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 15
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeboy1956

I did S-Off with rumrunner on both devices, ville and ville C2 and it works.
then go back to stock flashing ICS-Tmobile RUU in fastboot. Flash TWRP 2.3.1 and any Custom rom. Give adb shell rootrights and run
rumrunner and it should work.

Dirk

That's good news, thanks HBOOT 2.15, right?
Would you mind giving the appropriate adb shell rootrights commands, for us dummies?
10th March 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #36  
Flashalot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 2,427
 
2,382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3ft3r1s

That's good news, thanks HBOOT 2.15, right?
Would you mind giving the appropriate adb shell rootrights commands, for us dummies?

Adb shell
Su

that's the command's

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Flashalot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th March 2014, 11:25 PM   |  #37  
homeboy1956's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Herford
Thanks Meter: 191
 
416 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashalot

Adb shell
Su

that's the command's

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Thanks
11th March 2014, 03:55 AM   |  #38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
The only negative for me with CM11 is battery standby time. With the phone locked I seem to be burning battery. I had wifi on but phone locked and it was going a percent for each 12.8 minutes. This comes out to around 22 hours standby. Not good.
11th March 2014, 07:28 PM   |  #39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hold on. Installed CM11 M4 (monthly stable) and now things may be changing a lot!

update: M4 fixed it. Now getting 5 days of standby with wifi on and phone sleeping. GREAT!
Last edited by 808phone; 12th March 2014 at 12:43 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes