Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,167 Members 44,655 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S-OFF still possible anymore with latest phones?

Tip us?
 
808phone
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jan 2014
BTW: I ended up using CM11. VERY GOOD!
 
xtacydima
Old
#32  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 125
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808phone View Post
BTW: I ended up using CM11. VERY GOOD!
I'm on stock with SU enabled I would luv to see more screenshots of CM11, can you provide some.
pm me please if you can't post them for any reason
 
808phone
Old
#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jan 2014
Hmmm I cannot figure out how to take screen shots. Power+Home and Power+Vol Down doesn't work.
It was really easy to install CM11.
I had to install CWM instead of TWRP as TWRP kept giving me an error no matter which one I tried.
Once I did that, it installed very easily. I don't miss sense that much so it's fine for me.
 
homeboy1956
Old
#34  
homeboy1956's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 345
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Herford
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtacydima View Post
I had a phone replacement done after my power button stopped working properly, and the latest phone comes with what appears to be the latest firmware and latest everything.

Is it possible to still get S-OFF anymore or did they disbale that all too well?

My phone info:
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.15.0000
RADIO-1.13.50.05.31
OpenDSP-v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC-boot
Dec 14 2012,17:10:57:-1

I tried to downgrade via different RUU's to lower firmware's but the HBOOT and Radio versions stay, only the software version downgrades.

I can easily always get back to Unlock Recovery, install Teamwin, and SuperSU for stock ROM afterwards.

I have tried all of the following with no success:
-Moonshine
-Rumrunner
-Revone method
-FacePalm method

I am sure I am doing all the steps right, got latest HTC driver, only via USB2.0, NO AV, no Firewall, and it just won't work. The furthest I got was with Rumrunner and after pouring first time and a few extra steps I got a WTF are you doing message.

So is it possible anymore, anything else I can try, or is it a dead cause?



Thanks for any help!!!

I did S-Off with rumrunner on both devices, ville and ville C2 and it works.
then go back to stock flashing ICS-Tmobile RUU in fastboot. Flash TWRP 2.3.1 and any Custom rom. Give adb shell rootrights and run
rumrunner and it should work.

Dirk
 
l3ft3r1s
Old
#35  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 77
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens
Quote:
Originally Posted by homeboy1956 View Post
I did S-Off with rumrunner on both devices, ville and ville C2 and it works.
then go back to stock flashing ICS-Tmobile RUU in fastboot. Flash TWRP 2.3.1 and any Custom rom. Give adb shell rootrights and run
rumrunner and it should work.

Dirk
That's good news, thanks HBOOT 2.15, right?
Would you mind giving the appropriate adb shell rootrights commands, for us dummies?
 
Flashalot
Old
#36  
Flashalot's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2246
Posts: 2,292
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3ft3r1s View Post
That's good news, thanks HBOOT 2.15, right?
Would you mind giving the appropriate adb shell rootrights commands, for us dummies?
Adb shell
Su

that's the command's

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Flashalot For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
homeboy1956
Old
#37  
homeboy1956's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 345
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Herford
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashalot View Post
Adb shell
Su

that's the command's

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
Thanks
 
808phone
Old
#38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jan 2014
The only negative for me with CM11 is battery standby time. With the phone locked I seem to be burning battery. I had wifi on but phone locked and it was going a percent for each 12.8 minutes. This comes out to around 22 hours standby. Not good.
 
808phone
Old
(Last edited by 808phone; 11th March 2014 at 11:43 PM.)
#39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jan 2014
Hold on. Installed CM11 M4 (monthly stable) and now things may be changing a lot!

update: M4 fixed it. Now getting 5 days of standby with wifi on and phone sleeping. GREAT!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more

Motorola Droid X Receives Almost Fully Functional KitKat Port

While we are all wondering when Google will decide to officially release … more