Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,243 Members 52,927 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Working (for me) BT Tethering

Tip us?
 
Bushrod
Old
(Last edited by Bushrod; 11th March 2014 at 08:42 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 143
Join Date: May 2006
Tutorial Working (for me) BT Tethering

This is based on this post in the Galaxy Gear General forum:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=2

I have a Sprint Galaxy S3, rooted stock MK3 with the hotspot mod flashed.

TS is running EnSec Patch & Imperium Operative Installer 20140221, option 2.

This is all from memory, but should be mostly accurate.

1) Enabled Xposed module and restart TS.
2) Installed HackConnectivityService.apk (found in referenced message). Enabled and TS restarted.
3) On phone, installed FoxFi (Sprint/AT&T only)
4) On TS, installed PdaNet(Tablet)
5) On phone, start FoxFi and run through configuation. Don't remember what I did here, but I don't think it was anything unusual.
6) On TS, go to Hack ConnectivityService app. Make sure the hack is activated and choose WiFi. Mobile may also work but I haven't played with that option too much.
7) Start PdaNet(Tablet). Choose configure. Start scanning.
8) Back on phone, Activate Bluetooth Mode. It ask if you want to be visible for 120 seconds. Choose Yes.
9) Back on TS, you should be able to pair with the phone's FoxFi. Click on bottom grey button. It may say Connect, but I can't tell because the screen is too small!
10) You should get a connected screen.

That's the general idea.

Without the Hack Connectivity Service in place, I could only browse the web. By choosing "WiFi" in enables Play Store access and GMail syncing, etc.

Other than the usual TS being unable to maintain a stable BT connection for any period of time, I have only found one other problem. GMail won't automatically sync for me over this connection. I can open GMail and manually check for new and it works fine. Maybe a Tasker script would help.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Bushrod For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lokifish Marz
Old
#2  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3270
Posts: 3,135
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Olympus Mons, Mars

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks. Going to look into this and see if it can't be baked into a patch without the $8 FoxFi part.
Ubuntop- U4A/Webtop hybrid for all Tegra2 Motorola phones (Fully integrated Ubuntu Desktop)
Live ROM (One "ROM" over 12 phones) (Featured on XDA Portal and multiple other sites around the world and as base by many devs)
Imperium Initiative Photon (used as base by many Photon devs)
Imperium Initiative LS970 (used as base by many LS970 devs)
Imperium Agent LS970 (LS970 version of Live ROM)
Evo Desktop PC (Featured on XDA Portal and multiple other sites around the world)
(Nexus Q)uantum Singularity Project (Media Center, File Server, Website Server, LinuxonAndroid in little black ball of joy)
Umeox x201 EnSec Enhanced Security Patch and Live ROM Installer (used by multiple devs world wide on over 6 different models/versions of x201's)
Every Android device I've owned since the Hero- Media Center, File Server, Website Server
The Following User Says Thank You to Lokifish Marz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jdommer
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
I had an old PDANet license and yup, sure enough this method works. Though it disconnects pretty quickly. Maybe I can figure a tasker script to re-enable it...
 
mortis2600
Old
#4  
mortis2600's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 57
Join Date: Nov 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
the PDAnet app is too big for the screen and the connect button doesn't show for me.

Any ideas for fixes?
- mortis2600 -

Phone: Moto X
Tablet: Nexus 7 (2013)
Watch: Omate TrueSmart 2.0
Media: Chromecast, G-Box MX2 Midnight
 
kuronosan
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 1,526
Join Date: Nov 2008
Dpi mod through xposed.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Click here to donate.
 
Lokifish Marz
Old
#6  
Lokifish Marz's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3270
Posts: 3,135
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Olympus Mons, Mars

 
DONATE TO ME
Unless you constantly push data (even then that sometimes fails) it drops. Same for the 5 or 6 other host/client apps I've tried so far.
Ubuntop- U4A/Webtop hybrid for all Tegra2 Motorola phones (Fully integrated Ubuntu Desktop)
Live ROM (One "ROM" over 12 phones) (Featured on XDA Portal and multiple other sites around the world and as base by many devs)
Imperium Initiative Photon (used as base by many Photon devs)
Imperium Initiative LS970 (used as base by many LS970 devs)
Imperium Agent LS970 (LS970 version of Live ROM)
Evo Desktop PC (Featured on XDA Portal and multiple other sites around the world)
(Nexus Q)uantum Singularity Project (Media Center, File Server, Website Server, LinuxonAndroid in little black ball of joy)
Umeox x201 EnSec Enhanced Security Patch and Live ROM Installer (used by multiple devs world wide on over 6 different models/versions of x201's)
Every Android device I've owned since the Hero- Media Center, File Server, Website Server
 
Bushrod
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 143
Join Date: May 2006
Maybe have the Omaster and Ocompanion running at the same time?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
 
Bushrod
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 143
Join Date: May 2006
30 minutes so far but I can't get Gmail to sync.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
 
nbarm2
Old
(Last edited by nbarm2; 13th March 2014 at 06:37 AM.) Reason: Added link
#9  
nbarm2's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thumbs up Using EasyTether BT Tethering Works on TS

I followed the post that you linked http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=2 and I was able to get internet access using bluetooth on the TS from my SIII on T-Mobile network. I installed the EasyTether Tablet and the HackConnectivity module on the TS and EasyTether Lite on my phone.
 
jdommer
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbarm2 View Post
I followed the post that you linked http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...50&postcount=2 and I was able to get internet access using bluetooth on the TS from my SIII on T-Mobile network. I installed the EasyTether Tablet and the HackConnectivity module on the TS and EasyTether Lite on my phone.
Does it work for any length of time, or does it drop and not reconnect like the PDANet/Foxfi one?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes