An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge – XDA TV

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more
Post Reply

Moto G and Three Uk to act as home broadband?

11th March 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
My sister's family live in the countryside and ADSL there is extremely slow (0.5Mb.)

I tested my 3G speed there with my Nexus 5 and managed to get a speed of 7.5Mb, and thought that they may be able to use a cheap android phone in conjunction with a Moto G to act as a wireless hotspot for the home.

I know Three's One Plan allows tethering through a phone, but not through a 3G router, or MiFi.

Was wondering wether if it would be better to have a router connect to the Moto G's hotspot, and then for devices to connect to the router as it may send out a better wifi signal around the home?

Would be interested in other's thoughts.

Thanks
11th March 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #2  
Atomix86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Doesn't work like that, the devices need to connect directly to the phone. I did this myself for over a year with a note 2 and it was dire, if one person is doing something even remotely demanding, you can forget about anyone else getting any pages loaded.

Sent from my Google Nexus G -
The Following User Says Thank You to Atomix86 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2014, 11:34 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Hi, thank for your reply.

Was performance really that bad.

As I say, their current connection is dreadful so surely could only be better?

Also whats stopping using a router/wireless bridge connect with the Moto G as the hotspot, then the router/wirelessbridge being the point all devices connect to?

Im just interested in why... not being funny with you
23rd March 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #4  
Atomix86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Sorry for the slow reply, I didn't even check this thread (yup I'm a moron lol). I've never tried the method of using a bridge so I can't comment, as for the performance, it will certainly be better for a single person using it (or even a few if it's simple browsing/Facebook games/low res 360p YouTube etc), but if anyone tries HD streaming, or online gaming, or downloading a file, they will get a so-so experience and anyone else won't get a look in.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda app-developers app
23rd March 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #5  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 68
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomix86

Doesn't work like that, the devices need to connect directly to the phone. I did this myself for over a year with a note 2 and it was dire, if one person is doing something even remotely demanding, you can forget about anyone else getting any pages loaded.

Sent from my Google Nexus G -

It should be fine with a router connected to the Moto G's hotspot as a client and eveything else in the house will connect to the router, will get ofcourse better coverage at the house and you can place the Moto G somewhere where it will pick best signal from the mobile network.
23rd March 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #6  
Atomix86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy

It should be fine with a router connected to the Moto G's hotspot as a client and eveything else in the house will connect to the router, will get ofcourse better coverage at the house and you can place the Moto G somewhere where it will pick best signal from the mobile network.

Perhaps, but that won't increase the speed for anyone, just adds another link to the chain.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda app-developers app
23rd March 2014, 10:03 PM   |  #7  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 68
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomix86

Perhaps, but that won't increase the speed for anyone, just adds another link to the chain.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda app-developers app

Well, we ain't taking about speed boost here, it's about providing the entire house with a little bit better internet than they currently have.
23rd March 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I tether all the time on three I get fast speed between 12 am & 3pm then speed drops because I have high usage last month I used 100gig

Sent from my MotoG using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th March 2014, 02:13 PM   |  #9  
Atomix86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
1,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy

Well, we ain't taking about speed boost here, it's about providing the entire house with a little bit better internet than they currently have.

You've missed the point of my post. Whether all the devices in the house connect directly to the phone, or through a bridged router, nothing will change at all. It is simply adding an unnecessary link to the chain.
25th March 2014, 03:11 PM   |  #10  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 68
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomix86

You've missed the point of my post. Whether all the devices in the house connect directly to the phone, or through a bridged router, nothing will change at all. It is simply adding an unnecessary link to the chain.

Dunno what I`ve missed, but you seems to have missed the point of the whole thread .....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank