Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S4 Not Detecting PC Connection

OP Moebius01

12th March 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Ok, so I found a few older threads on this, but no tips in them seem to work in my case. I can't seem to get my S4 to see the PC/USB connection and prompt to select Media Device or the like. The USB icon never even appears in the notification bar. The PC recognizes connection (USB tone sounds) and shows device ready to use, but phone never gives the option. Doesn't seem to matter if USB Debugging is checked or not, or anything else that I can find so far. Here's the things I can generally eliminate:

2 different USB cables worked on wife's S4 on two different PCs. Neither cable or PC worked with my S4
Tried reinstalling Samsung USB drivers just to be sure
Cold booted phone
Tried unchecking and re-checking USB debugging (also tried with it unchecked)

So when we take in working fine on wife's S4, I'd generally guess that we can eliminate cable and PC from the potential problem list. Phone is currently on stock rom, but rooted. Outside of that and freezing VZ Support, Knox, and VZ Tones, no other modifications to the OS. At this point, I'm pretty stumped. Any suggestions on other steps to try?
12th March 2014, 05:18 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
The problem is your USB settings in the hidden dialers. Look for tutorials on how to enable them, and once found, type *#0808#, and a list of usb otions will come up. Pick any with MTP and they'll work again.
The Following User Says Thank You to aidankiller4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th March 2014, 08:17 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Worked perfect. Thanks muchly!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidankiller4

The problem is your USB settings in the hidden dialers. Look for tutorials on how to enable them, and once found, type *#0808#, and a list of usb otions will come up. Pick any with MTP and they'll work again.

15th March 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #4  
Im_Gumby's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids, MI
Thanks Meter: 20
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Not to threadjack, but...
On a related issue, win update tried to update my samsung ADP, etc drivers and failed. Ever since, I cannot connect to the PC. The PC doesn't even notice that the phone is connected. I tried the above fix to no avail (it is set to MTP) I uninstalled and reinstalled kies, tried troubleshooting the usb connection, ect...

Please help.
18th March 2014, 02:00 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Im_Gumby

On a related issue, win update tried to update my samsung ADP, etc drivers and failed. Ever since, I cannot connect to the PC. The PC doesn't even notice that the phone is connected. I tried the above fix to no avail (it is set to MTP) I uninstalled and reinstalled kies, tried troubleshooting the usb connection, ect...

Please help.

Try installing/reinstalling Kies, it comes bundled with all the samsung drivers you'll need
18th March 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #6  
Im_Gumby's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids, MI
Thanks Meter: 20
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Tried that. Twice. To no avail.

But it is no longer a problem. I installed eclipse rom and it now works again.

Who knows what went wrong...
12th April 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #7  
Im_Gumby's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids, MI
Thanks Meter: 20
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
And now it's not working again. Reinstalled (dirty) the ROM without any change. Thoughts?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes