FORUMS

ZenFone 2 Lolliflash and ZenPower Giveaway!

We recently did an in-depth review of the Asus Zenfone 2 but one of the things people may … more

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

[Q] S3 using 20GB of System Memory! What is going on?

221 posts
Thanks Meter: 42
 
By uscpsycho, Senior Member on 12th March 2014, 08:05 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have a 32GB S3 with only 5.73GB of available space. Looking in my storage settings the reason is System Memory is gigantic at 19.95GB.

How can system memory take up so much space? I mean most S3 phones are only 16GB total.

Something is obviously amiss but not sure how to get to the bottom of this. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

TIA
 
 
12th March 2014, 11:55 PM |#2  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 34,494
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superorb

How is that different from installing from a file manager?

Are you rooted?

13th March 2014, 08:58 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
[QUOTE=bilgerryan;51039734]Are you rooted?

Yes but everything is fully stock.
13th March 2014, 08:58 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan

Are you rooted?

Yes but everything is fully stock.

Oops, sorry for double post.
13th March 2014, 10:17 PM |#5  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 34,494
 
Donate to Me
More
That's definitely not right, if I was in that situation I would try to make a backup in recovery (if system is actually 20GB I doubt you'll have enough space) and then I would wipe everything (system, data, cache, and dalvik) thoroughly in recovery and reinstall the ROM to see if this issue persists.

13th March 2014, 10:39 PM |#6  
meyerweb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 791
 
More
If you go to Storage, in settings, and tap on the various categories shown there (Used Space, Miscellaneous files) you can dig down and maybe see what is taking up so much space. Give the phone a minute or so to calculate the space each time you go to a new page.
13th March 2014, 11:09 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan

That's definitely not right, if I was in that situation I would try to make a backup in recovery (if system is actually 20GB I doubt you'll have enough space) and then I would wipe everything (system, data, cache, and dalvik) thoroughly in recovery and reinstall the ROM to see if this issue persists.

I am fully stock so I can't make a backup in stock recovery. And I am stock ROM so there is nothing to reinstall.
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyerweb

If you go to Storage, in settings, and tap on the various categories shown there (Used Space, Miscellaneous files) you can dig down and maybe see what is taking up so much space. Give the phone a minute or so to calculate the space each time you go to a new page.

That's what I did, that is how I know the System Memory is taking 20GB. That is where I can see that. Clicking on the System Memory category does not give you any further breakdown.

See the attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-13-15-10-08.png
Views:	101
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	2629207  
Last edited by uscpsycho; 13th March 2014 at 11:12 PM.
14th March 2014, 06:35 PM |#8  
poit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Colorado
Thanks Meter: 570
 
More
You might want to try an app like SD Maid. It has an option to find large files, and it can clean up all the cruft that collects over time.
The Following User Says Thank You to poit For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2014, 06:14 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poit

You might want to try an app like SD Maid. It has an option to find large files, and it can clean up all the cruft that collects over time.

I'll give it a go but this phone isn't even two weeks old.

I'm totally baffled here.
15th March 2014, 06:16 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poit

You might want to try an app like SD Maid. It has an option to find large files, and it can clean up all the cruft that collects over time.

That was quick and easy. I just ran it and there are no egregious offenders, as I expected.

This 20GB of system memory usage on a new & stock phone is ridiculous...
16th March 2014, 12:55 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Archdale NC
Thanks Meter: 152
 
More
Before I installed a new rom and kernel, I was showing like 13gigs of memory use. What I did was formatted my system, data, and storage, and I ended up with 9 gigs of available storage after installing everything. Of course everything is backed up so I had nothing to worry about.

sent from my Wicked GS3
The Following User Says Thank You to schlepprock For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes