Would the LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to tether with rooted stock 4.2.2?

13th March 2014, 03:25 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Flag DeSoto, IA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Before I rooted I used foxfi, but now that I've rooted and installed a custom rim (stock android 4.2.2) it no longer works for me. Know of any apps that will let me do this? I'm on Verizon and do not have a family share plan.
13th March 2014, 04:42 AM |#2  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 271
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Schneider

Before I rooted I used foxfi, but now that I've rooted and installed a custom rim (stock android 4.2.2) it no longer works for me. Know of any apps that will let me do this? I'm on Verizon and do not have a family share plan.

If you want to stay on 4.2.2 use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2475739

I recommend upgrading to KitKat 4.4.2 here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2648446

In both cases Native tether app has been modded to work, and it works well without "Family Share Plan".

Be careful hot to go over your data limit.

They both have the option to stay mostly stock, however once you start playing with Venom Tweaks etc. it's hard to go back (IMHO).

As always, my friend, enjoy...
13th March 2014, 06:33 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag DeSoto, IA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
If I use the native tethering app, won't I get charged extra for tethering services? I would like to use the Kit Kat RIM but after so many HTC phones i just really like the stock android look.

Sent from my DLX using xda app-developers app
13th March 2014, 08:05 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
But what if we have a rooted stock rom that we like and don't want to change? How do we mod the existing ROM to enable the wifi tethering?
14th March 2014, 01:49 AM |#5  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 271
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Schneider

If I use the native tethering app, won't I get charged extra for tethering services? I would like to use the Kit Kat RIM but after so many HTC phones i just really like the stock android look.

Sent from my DLX using xda app-developers app

No you wont get charged for using it. You will get charged if you go over your data limit.

Also, you can choose to "De-Sense" both of those ROMs in the Aroma installer.
14th March 2014, 02:01 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Flag DeSoto, IA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamark

No you wont get charged for using it. You will get charged if you go over your data limit.

Also, you can choose to "De-Sense" both of those ROMs in the Aroma installer.


You just sold me on those ROMs in that one sentence. Thank you so much.
14th March 2014, 02:09 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Flag DeSoto, IA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamark

No you wont get charged for using it. You will get charged if you go over your data limit.

Also, you can choose to "De-Sense" both of those ROMs in the Aroma installer.

It appears the link to the Kit Kat rom does not work, and there is no working mirror to get it from, know of any other source for it?
14th March 2014, 02:42 AM |#8  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 271
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Schneider

It appears the link to the Kit Kat rom does not work, and there is no working mirror to get it from, know of any other source for it?

Give me a few minutes to upload it to my Dropbox.

Then I can give you a link.

In the meantime, read the download instructions. Not to sound like an ass, but so many people are having issues because they don't READ the OP.

You must use the linked TWRP 2.6 Beta recovery to install.

Full wipe of Cache, Dalvic Cache, Data and System for a trouble free experience.
14th March 2014, 02:47 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Flag DeSoto, IA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamark

Give me a few minutes to upload it to my Dropbox.

Then I can give you a link.

In the meantime, read the download instructions. Not to sound like an ass, but so many people are having issues because they don't READ the OP.

You must use the linked TWRP 2.6 Beta recovery to install.

Full wipe of Cache, Dalvic Cache, Data and System for a trouble free experience.

Thank you, I am installing TWRP right now. I am very new to root things if you cannot already tell. Im getting along thanks to all you here at XDA.
14th March 2014, 02:56 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Flag DeSoto, IA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamark

Give me a few minutes to upload it to my Dropbox.

Then I can give you a link.

In the meantime, read the download instructions. Not to sound like an ass, but so many people are having issues because they don't READ the OP.

You must use the linked TWRP 2.6 Beta recovery to install.

Full wipe of Cache, Dalvic Cache, Data and System for a trouble free experience.

Ok, Im sorry but I have one more dumb question. Do I need to install a separate package for google apps? Like with my other mod I got the gapps package.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes