Ampere Charging Meter

Do you have problems with your charger or experience terribly slow charging? Check out this helpful tool made by XDA … more

Must Have App Review: AROMA File Manager

Here at XDA we spend a lot of time in our recoveries. Some of our tweaks, hacks, and mods require … more

New Forums Created for Windows 10 Development

Microsoft, looking to be a player in the game of giants with their recent announcement of … more

T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to install d2att roms on d2can?

OP Ketros

8th March 2014, 03:35 AM   |  #21  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmppe3

Using which method, #1 or #2? I did #1 and installed TWRP. RP via Goo Manager (IIRC). But that gave me the d2can version. I don't think you need to bother checking, though, just use ODIN to flash the new recovery (TWRP 2.6.3.1) from the link I gave you earlier. After backing up etc etc.

I used method 2 but I don't know if I used the link provided or a Canadian twrp to back up my phone should I use the twrp backup or a third party backup. Will anything overwrite if I flash Twrp even though I have twrp installed, also should I flash the .tar or .img

Should I change the build.prop before I install the new twrp?
Last edited by Ketros; 8th March 2014 at 06:30 AM.
9th March 2014, 05:20 AM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketros

I used method 2 but I don't know if I used the link provided or a Canadian twrp to back up my phone should I use the twrp backup or a third party backup. Will anything overwrite if I flash Twrp even though I have twrp installed, also should I flash the .tar or .img

Should I change the build.prop before I install the new twrp?

I'm not an expert so anything you do is at your own risk! But to the best of my knowledge, you should be fine doing a TWRP backup (it is called a Nandroid backup - a complete system image, basically, which is what most 3rd party apps do through the recovery anyway). Nothing will overwrite other than the recovery, of course. Flash the TAR. Find specific instructions on the forum to make sure you do it right.
10th March 2014, 08:23 PM   |  #23  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmppe3

I'm not an expert so anything you do is at your own risk! But to the best of my knowledge, you should be fine doing a TWRP backup (it is called a Nandroid backup - a complete system image, basically, which is what most 3rd party apps do through the recovery anyway). Nothing will overwrite other than the recovery, of course. Flash the TAR. Find specific instructions on the forum to make sure you do it right.

By flashing the tar delete my nandroid because I need Something to go back to if something goes wrong
10th March 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #24  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmppe3

Nothing will overwrite other than the recovery, of course.

Read what I said above. Look, if you are going down this road please don't be so worried. Noting is going to be 100% for certain. It will most likely be fine, but just take precautions. Make a backup to an SD card. Copy it to your computer. There - if it somehow gets wiped, you have a backup on your computer. Worst case scenario - you buy a new phone. Pain in the ass, sure, but not the end of the world.

It looks from the thread that you have been pondering this for months. You need to just do some reading on whatever you're unsure about and go for it. If you're still uncomfortable trying it, then stay where you are.
12th March 2014, 06:53 PM   |  #25  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmppe3

Read what I said above. Look, if you are going down this road please don't be so worried. Noting is going to be 100% for certain. It will most likely be fine, but just take precautions. Make a backup to an SD card. Copy it to your computer. There - if it somehow gets wiped, you have a backup on your computer. Worst case scenario - you buy a new phone. Pain in the ass, sure, but not the end of the world.

It looks from the thread that you have been pondering this for months. You need to just do some reading on whatever you're unsure about and go for it. If you're still uncomfortable trying it, then stay where you are.

I did it. It's all good now thanks! By the way I was reading about roms and custom recoveries and I saw that I need an unlocked bootloader so because I have a custom recovery am I unlocked?
Last edited by Ketros; 13th March 2014 at 01:04 AM.
13th March 2014, 10:15 PM   |  #26  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I got aokp 4.4 first I changed the build. Prop in Rom toolbox then rebooted my phone I installed the d2att twrp through Goo Manager then installed the newest nightly of aokp and gapps then in the file sorter I flashed aokp then gapps, I also wiped the caches and wiped the phone now it works

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
root, samsung galaxy s3
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes