Post Reply

[Q] Bought the SM-N900 for use in the US, did I mess up?

OP vicmora5

14th March 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #1  
vicmora5's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Basically Ive had the phone for over a month now and the connection issues have been constant. The carrier I use is Straight Talk. I got a new SIM card. Ive tried every APN setting it seems. And I cannot get any help. Did I plainly just mess up and by the wrong version of the phone I needed?
14th March 2014, 06:49 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag HCMC
Thanks Meter: 32
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicmora5

Basically Ive had the phone for over a month now and the connection issues have been constant. The carrier I use is Straight Talk. I got a new SIM card. Ive tried every APN setting it seems. And I cannot get any help. Did I plainly just mess up and by the wrong version of the phone I needed?

Yeah. Maybe it isnt support 4g

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th March 2014, 06:54 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag RAWALPINDI
Thanks Meter: 541
 
2,942 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Should have gone for 9005.
The Following User Says Thank You to sohebq For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th March 2014, 07:30 AM   |  #4  
vicmora5's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
When It is on GSM only mode I only get EDGE speed, and when I switch to either WCDMA/GSM or WDCMA only mode, I do get H+ but its not reliable and I frequently end up in emergency calls only mode and am frequently resending messages. What model should I get for the best results with Straight Talk does anyone know?
14th March 2014, 10:27 AM   |  #5  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto, ON (Hong Kong S.A.R.)
Thanks Meter: 1,473
 
2,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicmora5

When It is on GSM only mode I only get EDGE speed, and when I switch to either WCDMA/GSM or WDCMA only mode, I do get H+ but its not reliable and I frequently end up in emergency calls only mode and am frequently resending messages. What model should I get for the best results with Straight Talk does anyone know?

You need the N900A (AT&T) or the N900T (T-Mobile). GSM Mode means 2.5G (EDGE) only. WCDMA Mode means H+ (3G) only.

You can also try the N9005 if you're into tinkering and whatnot.


Your current phone most likely does not support the recommended 'fast' bands that are on US Carriers.
The Following User Says Thank You to nicholaschum For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th March 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #6  
vicmora5's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholaschum

You need the N900A (AT&T) or the N900T (T-Mobile). GSM Mode means 2.5G (EDGE) only. WCDMA Mode means H+ (3G) only.

You can also try the N9005 if you're into tinkering and whatnot.


Your current phone most likely does not support the recommended 'fast' bands that are on US Carriers.

Do you know which one would be the best one to get? I'm into rooting and flashing Roms, so based on that Im guessing the N9005, but arent there different carrier models of that phone as well /: basically I dont want to make the same mistake

Thanks for you help
14th March 2014, 08:04 PM   |  #7  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto, ON (Hong Kong S.A.R.)
Thanks Meter: 1,473
 
2,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicmora5

Do you know which one would be the best one to get? I'm into rooting and flashing Roms, so based on that Im guessing the N9005, but arent there different carrier models of that phone as well /: basically I dont want to make the same mistake

Thanks for you help

N9005 is most used internationally so more devs support this device. But the N900T also works too.

Not the N900A if you care about ROMs.
The Following User Says Thank You to nicholaschum For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #8  
vicmora5's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholaschum

N9005 is most used internationally so more devs support this device. But the N900T also works too.

Not the N900A if you care about ROMs.

Okay then I'll pass on the N900A. Are there specific carrier branded N9005s? or are they all the same and unlocked. Sorry for all the questions. Also I barely figured out how to "thank" you >.<-
17th March 2014, 09:44 AM   |  #9  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto, ON (Hong Kong S.A.R.)
Thanks Meter: 1,473
 
2,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicmora5

Okay then I'll pass on the N900A. Are there specific carrier branded N9005s? or are they all the same and unlocked. Sorry for all the questions. Also I barely figured out how to "thank" you >.<-

Yeah there are, and there are specific models of N9005 too with a different partition structure (Hong Kong 16GB)

You're going to have to find an N9005 not from Hong Kong just in case, even though they also sell the international 32gb version as well, and that is already unlocked SIM wise and region wise.
17th March 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #10  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 577
 
4,467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Also, if you come from the states, make sure the bands are supported by your phone. People have bought the n9005 from America to find the LTE bands don't work in Europe..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank