Post Reply

Going back to my HTC Vivid - help required to update

OP bfawks

13th March 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Hey -
I have an HTC One and I've smashed it up pretty bad. Until I can justify the money to replace the parts I am going back to my HTC Vivid (Raider here in Canada).

I unlocked the bootloader and flashed a custom ROM and used it for a few months before upgrading to my HTC. I came back here to find the most up to date ROM I could find and thought about going with the PAC-man ROM. I did everything I remember doing the first time but I seem to have gotten stuck and I'm not sure why.

Running Windows 8. I believe the drivers are not available and this may be a problem.

Also am not in USB Debugging mode and cannot get into the OS to enable it - I just get a whte HTC logo screen at boot - soft bricked.

In the bootloader it reads:

*** UNLOCKED ***
HOLIDAY PVT SHIP S-ON FL
HBOOT-1.85.0029
MICROP-0360
eMMC-boot
mAR 15 2012,17:16:42

Now, I recall having to flash the boot.img of the ROM I want to install but I don't seem to be connected to my device through the FASTBOOT USB - I think the HTC Drivers do not work on my Windows 8 PC. Maybe I recall doing this on another computer? I can't remember to be honest. I believe this game me trouble the first time...

What do I need to do to get the boot.img flash and in what order do I do it?

Factory Reset > Flash ROM > Flash boot.img > Flash GAPPS

Any help to get me back into a custom ROM would be helpful.

Thank you.
Last edited by bfawks; 13th March 2014 at 09:44 PM.
13th March 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Get the latest rom you're willing to use and the latest gapps.
Reboot to recovery
wipe cache,davlik cash (some say wipe all data that's fine too)
flash rom followed by gapps
reboot to bootloader
perform the fastboot flash boot boot.img from command line (make sure fastboot and boot.img are in that directory, get the boot.img from the rom, uncompress it)
this tread has the newer ways of doing stuff
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2437705
13th March 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuskow

Get the latest rom you're willing to use and the latest gapps.
Reboot to recovery
wipe cache,davlik cash (some say wipe all data that's fine too)
flash rom followed by gapps
reboot to bootloader
perform the fastboot flash boot boot.img from command line (make sure fastboot and boot.img are in that directory, get the boot.img from the rom, uncompress it)
this tread has the newer ways of doing stuff
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2437705

I did everything in the order you listed:

Reboot to recovery > Wipe cache > Wipe davlik cash > Wipe all data (factory reset) > Flash ROM > Flash GAPPS...

But when I get to GAPPS I get:

Installing files...
Cleaning up and setting metadata...
set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E:Error in /sdcard/gapps-kk-20140105-signed.zip
(Status 7)

Installation aborted


What gives?

Also, when I try and flash the boot.img I don't get a connected device - adb devices returns no results.
13th March 2014, 08:52 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
A lot of the things I'm reading also require USB debugging to be turned on -if I can't actually get into my phone (Stuck at the white HTC logo screen) how do I enable this to continue?
14th March 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #5  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 631
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfawks

I did everything in the order you listed:

Reboot to recovery > Wipe cache > Wipe davlik cash > Wipe all data (factory reset) > Flash ROM > Flash GAPPS...

But when I get to GAPPS I get:

Installing files...
Cleaning up and setting metadata...
set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E:Error in /sdcard/gapps-kk-20140105-signed.zip
(Status 7)

Installation aborted


What gives?

Also, when I try and flash the boot.img I don't get a connected device - adb devices returns no results.

The link for gapps in the thread is bad...

Search for banks gapps on goo.im

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rignfool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th March 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Yes indeed bad gapps link in the new pac man. I think it might be fixed by now.
I'm using the mini modular from albino's release.

Best way to flash boot.img is to do it from bootloader with fastboot. Lots of info on that if you look.
fastboot flash boot boot.img is the command line. Just gotta get fastboot and possibly some drivers.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes