CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more

Customized Ultra Stamina for Xperia

XDA Senior Member androidexpert35 has provided us a customized Ultra Stamine Mode from the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] I am Seeking Urgent Advice About My HTC ONE

13th March 2014, 07:08 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi I have a HTC ONE MODEL: HTCPN072. It is a sprint phone I just baught on the web. The problem I have is that the cellphone cannot connect when ever i put in a Jamaican SIM Card in it. When ever I put in a GSM sim card it is saying 'Invalid SIM CARD. 4G service are unavailable as the sim/UICC is invalid'' I dont know if u can Help me please because this phone is a brand new one!
Can this phone be used in Jamaica? on 2G and 3G networks?
How do I know if it is a GSM OR CDMA mobile phone?
Last edited by rohan1992; 13th March 2014 at 07:13 PM. Reason: words spelt wron
13th March 2014, 08:36 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan1992

Hi I have a HTC ONE MODEL: HTCPN072. It is a sprint phone I just baught on the web. The problem I have is that the cellphone cannot connect when ever i put in a Jamaican SIM Card in it. When ever I put in a GSM sim card it is saying 'Invalid SIM CARD. 4G service are unavailable as the sim/UICC is invalid'' I dont know if u can Help me please because this phone is a brand new one!
Can this phone be used in Jamaica? on 2G and 3G networks?
How do I know if it is a GSM OR CDMA mobile phone?

Is the phone sim unlocked? I don't know how it works with Sprint but that would be the case with GSM providers
13th March 2014, 09:03 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
If it's Sprint, it's CDMA.AT&T and T-Mobile are the only GSM providers in the US. However, it should work there if you get the SIM unlocked. The SIM unlock code is formulated based on the IMEI, so there are three ways to get it:

From Sprint. Probably the simplest, but tricky if you're not the phone's original owner.

Pay a site or unlocking service with the algorithm that decodes it from the IMEI. Usually runs around $10-$20.

Try the steps in this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2586704

You can also try this app, but it only works on rooted phones running the original ROM:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockhelperfree

Good luck.
14th March 2014, 02:35 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
How do i go about unlocking the Sim? I cant get the unlock box where I put in the code to come up!
14th March 2014, 07:25 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 106
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan1992

How do i go about unlocking the Sim? I cant get the unlock box where I put in the code to come up!

Bro, A CDMA PHONE CANNOT BE UNLOCKED. IT WON'T EVEN WORK ON ANOTHER CDMA CARRIER LIKE VERIZON. ONLY SPRINT SIMs WILL WORK.
Make sure u buy a GSM phone if u plan 2 use it on another carrier.
14th March 2014, 08:08 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
But the phone uses GSM! It picks up the network here but I just cant get the unlock box
14th March 2014, 10:02 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 106
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan1992

But the phone uses GSM! It picks up the network here but I just cant get the unlock box

Then it simply isn't a Sprint handset. CDMA phones can only work on that particular network. The phone is custom-made just for that network

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes