FORUMS

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

[Q] I am Seeking Urgent Advice About My HTC ONE

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By rohan1992, Junior Member on 13th March 2014, 07:08 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi I have a HTC ONE MODEL: HTCPN072. It is a sprint phone I just baught on the web. The problem I have is that the cellphone cannot connect when ever i put in a Jamaican SIM Card in it. When ever I put in a GSM sim card it is saying 'Invalid SIM CARD. 4G service are unavailable as the sim/UICC is invalid'' I dont know if u can Help me please because this phone is a brand new one!
Can this phone be used in Jamaica? on 2G and 3G networks?
How do I know if it is a GSM OR CDMA mobile phone?
Last edited by rohan1992; 13th March 2014 at 07:13 PM. Reason: words spelt wron
 
 
13th March 2014, 08:36 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan1992

Hi I have a HTC ONE MODEL: HTCPN072. It is a sprint phone I just baught on the web. The problem I have is that the cellphone cannot connect when ever i put in a Jamaican SIM Card in it. When ever I put in a GSM sim card it is saying 'Invalid SIM CARD. 4G service are unavailable as the sim/UICC is invalid'' I dont know if u can Help me please because this phone is a brand new one!
Can this phone be used in Jamaica? on 2G and 3G networks?
How do I know if it is a GSM OR CDMA mobile phone?

Is the phone sim unlocked? I don't know how it works with Sprint but that would be the case with GSM providers
13th March 2014, 09:03 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
If it's Sprint, it's CDMA.AT&T and T-Mobile are the only GSM providers in the US. However, it should work there if you get the SIM unlocked. The SIM unlock code is formulated based on the IMEI, so there are three ways to get it:

From Sprint. Probably the simplest, but tricky if you're not the phone's original owner.

Pay a site or unlocking service with the algorithm that decodes it from the IMEI. Usually runs around $10-$20.

Try the steps in this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2586704

You can also try this app, but it only works on rooted phones running the original ROM:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lockhelperfree

Good luck.
14th March 2014, 02:35 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
How do i go about unlocking the Sim? I cant get the unlock box where I put in the code to come up!
14th March 2014, 07:25 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan1992

How do i go about unlocking the Sim? I cant get the unlock box where I put in the code to come up!

Bro, A CDMA PHONE CANNOT BE UNLOCKED. IT WON'T EVEN WORK ON ANOTHER CDMA CARRIER LIKE VERIZON. ONLY SPRINT SIMs WILL WORK.
Make sure u buy a GSM phone if u plan 2 use it on another carrier.
14th March 2014, 08:08 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
But the phone uses GSM! It picks up the network here but I just cant get the unlock box
14th March 2014, 10:02 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan1992

But the phone uses GSM! It picks up the network here but I just cant get the unlock box

Then it simply isn't a Sprint handset. CDMA phones can only work on that particular network. The phone is custom-made just for that network
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes