Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more

Has ART Made a Noticeable Jump in App Performance?

We’ve received mixed reports about switching to ART but it seems that the … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge Drop Test

The Samsung Galaxy S6 and Galaxy S6 Edge are already proving to be amongst the head turners of 2015. … more

Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] "Download too large for operator network"

12th February 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #1  
skoop99's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 3
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
Folks,

Is there any way of stopping the KFHDX nannying me?

I have an unlimited data plan, and want to be able to download anything I want WHEN I want.

However when I try to download large files (especially audio books), the KFHDX comes up with the error in the title.

I find this very annoying, and was wondering if there is a way of overriding this settings somewhere?

I've been through all the menu's but I can't find it!
19th February 2014, 12:48 PM   |  #3  
skoop99's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 3
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
Come on - nobody have any idea? I'm losing faith in the power of XDA, here!
20th February 2014, 09:50 AM   |  #4  
skoop99's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 3
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
Right. After a lot of Google-ing, I found this:

https://android.googlesource.com/pla...es/strings.xml

Can someone who understands this confirm that it is the CARRIER (EE in my case) that specifies the download limit, and not the device?

A string further down mentions the option of having a button present that overrides the restriction, and starts the download anyway. That button is obviously not present on the KFHDX, so I guess Amazon decided that we really don't want to use 4G to download stuff... :-S

What files would need to be tweaked to enable this?
27th February 2014, 08:46 AM   |  #5  
skoop99's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 3
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
200+ views, no answers? Hm.
12th March 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #6  
skoop99's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 3
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
I hear crickets & is that a tumbleweed I see?


Sent from my KFTHWA using Tapatalk
15th March 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #7  
Hanzo.Hasashi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minas Tirith
Thanks Meter: 237
 
1,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Hey there, it's really annoying and frustrating if so many people see your thread and don't answer! I know, cause I had some threads myself where i didn't get any response. So I am just stepping by to say hello and tell you that I have no idea how to help you
From what I understand though,it's an operator thing. What do the officials (your operator and Amazon) say about this?

~Kindlefired~

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
download, large files, lte, wifi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes