Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,452 Members 42,555 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] LG LS980 big problem - bricked? D801 firmware

Tip us?
 
fimfadimpa
Old
(Last edited by fimfadimpa; 16th March 2014 at 02:13 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2009
Exclamation [Q] LG LS980 big problem - bricked? D801 firmware

Hi,
I have a big problem with LG G2 from Sprint (LS 980). I've bought on eBay for using in Europe. When I bought it, one of very few optionw to use it for GSM carriers was flashing Justin's ROM - it is stock T-Mobile ROM modified for Spint G2. Everything worked well except NFC.

After some time new (and permament) method for unlocking Sprint G2 arrived, so I wanted to do it that way. I've made factory reset on my LS980 (with D801 T-Mobile ROM from Justin), but I didn't know, that I had to go to recovery (Vol - plus Power) for wull wipe and didn't do that. My phone is now in bootloop (T-Mobile animation goes still around ) and phone doesn't boot up. I don't know how to get it back to stock.

What works:
Download Mode (Vol + and Power), Unknown Mode (All three keys together) - there are options ON, OFF and Cancel (Answer Call and something with alarm)

What doesn't works:
Fastboot, recovery, boot

I've tried to get into recovery many times, but with no luck. I've also followed many instructions how to get it back to stock. As the main manual I took this topic:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448960

Sure that with Sprint LS980 flash files.

It is basically same as this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Everything went pretty well until flashing part. LG Flash Tools don't want to flash my phone because of model number mismatch ...I have LS980, but it thinks that I have D801 (T-Mobile version).

It there anyway from this mess?

Thanks for every suggestion.
The Following User Says Thank You to fimfadimpa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
maxkanick
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2013
have u Try this


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2680910



Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
 
fimfadimpa
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2009
Not a bad idea, but Verizon and Sprint models don't use KDZ files if I'm right.

THX anyway
 
maxkanick
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2013
And i have some ides
You may use dll from other kdz and flash with your tot file
If you have luck will be ok
If is not i may say it is about you

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
 
fimfadimpa
Old
(Last edited by fimfadimpa; 16th March 2014 at 12:36 PM.)
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2009
And if I don't have luck, I will completely brick my phone

From which KDZ file should I obtain .dll file? Sprint version doesn't use KDZ files ...and using .dll file from KDZ for other version is not a good idea I think...
 
stillblaze01
Old
#6  
stillblaze01's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 35
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas,Tx
Default dont give up

Quote:
Originally Posted by fimfadimpa View Post
And if I don't have luck, I will completely brick my phone

From which KDZ file should I obtain .dll file? Sprint version doesn't use KDZ files ...and using .dll file from KDZ for other version is not a good idea I think...
That happened to me the whole bootloop thing .just keep trying to get into recoveryit took me a couple of days of messing with it and then It fanally went in flashed another rom and I am up and running. good luck
 
maxkanick
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2013
I have reshearch and found dll from kdz is a free dll and i found your model number LS980 on My d802 kdz dll

First you should try reset by your recovery mode

If no luck and try using dll frm VS980 kdz first or use dll from d802 kdz

And if you have vs980 kdz dll please send it to me
i will check your model number on it



Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 02:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:06 PM ----------

You can fount vs980 kdz here

http://storagecow.eu/index.php?dir=X...FKDZ+Method%2F


Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app
 
fimfadimpa
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2009
...dude. I have LS980 model and D801 ROM in it...So T-Mobile software (modified) in Sprint LG G2. Not D802, which is international, or VS980, which is for Verizon.

And I'm not able to get into recovery, I've tried it maybe 1000 times

I'm also pretty sure, that information about correct and same .dll and TOT or KDZ files written in "Back to stock" topics is written there for very good reasons
 
maxkanick
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fimfadimpa View Post
...dude. I have LS980 model and D801 ROM in it...So T-Mobile software (modified) in Sprint LG G2. Not D802, which is international, or VS980, which is for Verizon.

And I'm not able to get into recovery, I've tried it maybe 1000 times

I'm also pretty sure, that information about correct and same .dll and TOT or KDZ files written in "Back to stock" topics is written there for very good reasons
You have luck
To day I can flash lg D820( N5 ) tot firmware in to my LG D802 using my dll from d802 kdz format
It is a free dll
Try to flash your lS980 tot with d802 kdz dll
Good luck
 
fimfadimpa
Old
(Last edited by fimfadimpa; 17th March 2014 at 03:47 PM.)
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2009
As I expected...LG Flash Tool won't let you do this, because it will find out that model number in DLL and TOT file is different ...I've just tested it.

KDZ extractor is also useful, because TOT files don't contain .dll

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes