Post Reply

UK Firmware on a Canadian Network

16th March 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi all,

I have a GT-I9505 phone. I am in Canada on the Rogers network. I had an issue with their OTA update for 4.4.2 a week ago and was forced to use Odin to put a UK BTU 4.3 firmware onto the phone.

The GT-I9505, to my knowledge, is a UK phone (I actually called Samsung and they told me that model is a UK phone).

So my question is will I receive OTA updates through the Canadian network (Rogers) for the UK BTU firmware that I put on my phone.

The phone is unlocked.

Thanks.
16th March 2014, 07:43 PM   |  #2  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 556
 
1,807 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
You will receive UK OTA updates if u flashed BTU firmware and ur phone goes OK

*EDIT: For confirm it you can:
1. Conect it to Kies 3 and take a look your CSC (Code region). CSC are this 3 letters btw parenthesis. You have all codes HERE
2. If u doesnt root and nothing, u will receive the updates of this CSC. Hi5
Last edited by Joku1981; 16th March 2014 at 07:46 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Joku1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

You will receive UK OTA updates if u flashed BTU firmware and ur phone goes OK

So the Canadian network will allow me to download/install OTA BTU firmware even if I'm in Canada? And what do you mean "goes OK"?
16th March 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #4  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 556
 
1,807 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerospaceCU

So the Canadian network will allow me to download/install OTA BTU firmware even if I'm in Canada? And what do you mean "goes OK"?

1. Yes.
2. If ur phone dont have any issues
The Following User Says Thank You to Joku1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

1. Yes.
2. If ur phone dont have any issues

tyvm
17th March 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joku1981

You will receive UK OTA updates if u flashed BTU firmware and ur phone goes OK

*EDIT: For confirm it you can:
1. Conect it to Kies 3 and take a look your CSC (Code region). CSC are this 3 letters btw parenthesis. You have all codes HERE
2. If u doesnt root and nothing, u will receive the updates of this CSC. Hi5

I have (AUT) which is Switzerland. Based on SamMobile, Switzerland has 4.4.2 out already.

So what does this mean? Will I get OTA updates (through the updates settings on my phone) for Android firmware?

I'm still on 4.3 and my Canadian network that I'm on (Rogers) pushed out 4.4.2 last week. I'm not getting any updates...

Please advise. Thanks!
Last edited by aerospaceCU; 17th March 2014 at 04:21 AM.
17th March 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #7  
aayushkhajuria2842's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Udhampur
Thanks Meter: 58
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerospaceCU

I have (AUT) which is Switzerland. Based on SamMobile, Switzerland has 4.4.2 out already.

So what does this mean? Will I get OTA updates (through the updates settings on my phone) for Android firmware?

I'm still on 4.3 and my Canadian network that I'm on (Rogers) pushed out 4.4.2 last week. I'm not getting any updates...

Please advise. Thanks!

Same question ......u said u have aut so u should get updates for switserland

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
Last edited by aayushkhajuria2842; 17th March 2014 at 04:33 AM.
17th March 2014, 04:34 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by aayushkhajuria2842

Same question ......if u r on canadian network u will get otas for that canadian network only

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

That's weird though because I bought my phone online, its international and I know there is no GT-i9505 model in Canada. And I was getting OTA through that. So clearly whatever stock firmware I had at the time (which I don't know what it was) was receiving OTA updates.

Any thoughts?
17th March 2014, 04:37 AM   |  #9  
aayushkhajuria2842's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Udhampur
Thanks Meter: 58
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerospaceCU

That's weird though because I bought my phone online, its international and I know there is no GT-i9505 model in Canada. And I was getting OTA through that. So clearly whatever stock firmware I had at the time (which I don't know what it was) was receiving OTA updates.

Any thoughts?

I would suggest u flash 4.4.2 rom manually nd u may get ota updates after that

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to aayushkhajuria2842 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by aayushkhajuria2842

I would suggest u flash 4.4.2 rom manually nd u may get ota updates after that

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

I should get a switzerland one right?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank